We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The George Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
+44 1380 850403
Website
Today
18:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have not been to The George for many years. What a fantastic surprise when I walked through the front door - very tastefully decorated entrance and dining area. It was amazing! Helen, the owner, was very welcoming and was extremely friendly throughout our visit. We did not have starters so there was a short wait for our main course... More 

Helpful?
Thank gwendakelley
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Dear customer thank you for taking time to post. we are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch visit to the George Inn. please remember to use your voucher for a free bottle of wine in January/February we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon Regards Helen More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had lunch here, and the pasta and pesto was an inch of oil in the bowl, no flavour just tasted of slimy oil, the Sunday lunch beef was overcooked and tough. Vegetables were OK. The Thai green curry was nice, quite spicy but I like that. Brown rice could have been offered. The aubergine dish was not nice, again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saldj62
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jones It is such a pitty you feel the need to post such comments after a personally detailed vegan menu was supplied to you and your guests.This was offered post a prior telephone call to The George the night prior requesting something different for your Vegan diet. all ingredients were shopped for that evening from a local farm... More 

Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the first time I have visited the George for a Long while, and I was most impressed!!! The food was exceptional! I am currently on a carb free diet, but this was no issue here, plenty of choice and when I asked for celery instead of biscuits with my cheeseboard, they were happy to oblige. Enough time was... More 

Helpful?
Thank gill3119
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Gill Thank you for taking the time to wright a review, we much appreciate the feed back. so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed our food as this is our passion. Olivia is lovely as you point out and still learning the ropes, I am sure she will be one of our shining stars soon enough.... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a group of three couples we decided to visit the George after not going there for quite a few years. The staff were very welcoming and we decided to arrive before our booked time to enjoy a drink in the bar first. We went through to our table, the decor was lovely. We all enjoyed three courses, the menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunseaholidayaddict
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Dear Customer Thank you so very much for a lovely review. we really do appreciate all comment and time taken to write. We have been open just 8 months and we are very much still building a reputation and trying to get our name out there. Please do like us on face book and tell all to give us a... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sometimes it is hard to find good pub grub in the UK. But this place is more than pub grub. It is exceptional. We were only in Devizes for 5 days and we went back twice. We had the pheasant and the pork belly. The service was excellent and the atmosphere - well just beautiful. Thank you for a memborable... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

John One of the kindest review we have had. so, so very much appreciated. I hope that you will visit us again soon as it is a pleasure to welcome you. Kind regards and many thanks Helen & team George More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Last week I bought my 2nd Fish/Chip takeaway. I was really disappointed with it as it was nothing like my 1st meal. The chips were not hand cut and tasty as the first meal and the fish was not great either. I was so pleased with my first Fish/Chips as it was seasoned well and as I said the chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeancollom
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for your review. We respond to all postings as we feel it is important to take the time as customers have taken the time post their views. Apologies if you have been waiting for a response, this is the first email response pending we have received. it is disappointing to here your comments as we are... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This was the 2nd time we've visited and it is a friendly fresh and charming pub with good quality food and in a nice setting. Portions weren't quite big enough for my traditional dad but the rest of really enjoyed. Easy parking. I'll happily go back.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Despite the fact that the entrance area reminded me of a station waiting room (luckily I wasn't going there for a drink but a meal) we quickly were led through to the two dining areas which are obviously where the money and attention have been spent - new tenants were delightful, service and food were excellent but for the life... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashlone
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ashlone thank you for your post, feedback from customers is vital and much appreciated. The bar area renovations are restricted by the lands down estate the owners of this beautiful 17th century coaching inn. we are very pleased that you like the food and the service we provided, as a fully tied tenant to Wadworths brewery, the money is... More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Had a wonderful, tasty and very filling lunch. The food was beautifully presented and the staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank mable2
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Mable2 how kind of you to post, we really appreciate you taking the time. do come back an visit us real soon. Kind regards Helen and Team George More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I took a group of 45 people there for Lunch it was outstanding and everyone loved it. This was my 2nd visit with a group as a coach driver this is highly recommended place for lunch. Thank our to Helen and the team.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Mark your a star; so pleased your group enjoyed their visit and we will look forward to welcoming you and your tour group soon. Kind regards Helen and Team George More 

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Bromham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Kington St Michael, Chippenham
 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Tuesday
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Chippenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1380 850403
Description
The George Inn is a lovely little pub/restaurant nestled in Sandy Lane amonst the most beautiful little thatched cottages. The Pub has views across the Bowood Estate from the recently refurbished dining room with log fires there is always a warm welcome from the New Owners. the cuisine is classic European with a modern twist.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The George Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Bath, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?