We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Restaurant

18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
+44 1202 588933
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (10 reviews)
“steak” (35 reviews)
“cheese souffle” (13 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 676 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Our starters interesting in theory but apart from mine they were fairly nondescript and ordinary. My friend had wilted spinach mushroom and poached egg on sour dough toast. This was the best. Husband had cheese souffle - too much like scrambled egg for his taste...More

Thank 186262Lisa
Reviewed 5 days ago

Well what a treat and value for money,top class presentation and service all fresh and tasty!!! great value.

Thank tonyellingworth
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

I agree with you; fresh and tasty!! Thanks for your review. See you back soon. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Menu is imaginative with excellent ingredients; overall, value for money. We dine here on a weekly basis.and the menu is changed regularly. Wine list is extensive and there are different themed evenings. Try their twice-baked cheese soufflé!

Thank ellabear33
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 1 week ago

There are meals to suit all pockets ranging from two courses for £10 to Chateaubriand for two at £55. Whatever you choose, the service is excellent and the food locally sourced and delicious

Thank mlyn
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Beautiful feedback! Thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don't know many places where you can get a proper roasted ham hock on the bone . This one at The King's Arms is a real masterpiece . Roasted with honey and wholegrain mustard is so tender that is falling off the bone. Served...More

Thank Artur K
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great Review, Thank you! The Ham Hock dish, Honey and mustard roast with braised cabbage is phenomenal! See you back soon in our Restaurant. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In a town with so many excellent places to have traditional fish & chips, this is the one place NOT to go. The “beer batter” was just solidified grease - almost transparent and completely tasteless - YUK. Definitely won’t be returning.More

Thank LeoTag1234
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LeoTag, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit following your meal. I am sorry that you found the Fish and Chips 'the worst' in Christchurch. I have chatted with my restaurant manager and nothing was brought to her attention....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Totally agree with comment made by Gillontherun as I was part of the same group. My meal was average not of the quality expected. Definitely not value for money and not a pleasant experience in the dining area as felt it was like a canteen....More

1  Thank Densy1952
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Denise; Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your visit to the hotel for our Christmas party in our function room. I am very sorry that what we offer is not what you like or expect and are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and a group of friends went to a Christmas meal and disco yesterday evening and the evening was terrible disappointment. We were packed like sardines with lots of other groups, in the upstairs room which has a low ceiling and was very noisy. The...More

Thank Gillontherun
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gill; Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your visit to the hotel for our Christmas party in our function room. I am very sorry that what we offer is not what you like or expect and are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were impressed with The King’s Arms Restaurant here in Christchurch. The building is a lovely Georgian coachhouse, which is also a hotel, bar and restaurant - with modern interior, stylish bar and elegant surroundings. The restaurant overlooks ancient ruins of the castle and bowling...More

Thank Pascalart
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review and it is fantastic to read that you had an enjoyable visit with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Nicolas.

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Went to xmas party with dinner. Too many people crowded into restaurant area. food mediocre and poorly cooked. No coffee available even to purchase at end of meal. Staff worked hard but not enough of them very disappointed. NMore

Thank Mike B
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mike; Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your visit to the hotel for our Christmas party in our function room. I am very sorry that what we offer is not what you like or expect and are...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Christchurch
The Kings Arms
793 reviews
.01 km away
Travelodge Christchurch
406 reviews
.29 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
760 reviews
.65 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
562 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Loch & Quay
616 reviews
.11 km away
James and White
469 reviews
.11 km away
Koh Thai Christchurch
273 reviews
.05 km away
Soho
313 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Christchurch Priory Church
720 reviews
.35 km away
Christchurch Quay
118 reviews
.24 km away
Red House Museum & Gardens
110 reviews
.30 km away
Christchurch Castle
80 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MICHAEL C
28 November 2015|
Answer
Response from incabodc | Reviewed this property |
Leave Bournemouth onA338 Ringwood road at Christchurch turn go left and follow airport sign go past airport straight across traffic lights at next island turn left next island left again 300yards on the left
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$41
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly Jacks Restaurant at The Kings Hotel)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 588933
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Kings Arms
Description
Alex Aitken from Le Poussin, Limewood and The Jetty, is now in charge of the food and menus at The Kings Restaurant.The Restaurant serves the very best local and seasonal food – with sophisticated simplicity and a unique and charming English setting, overlooking the Kings Arms Bowling Green and historical castle ruins.The Kings Restaurant is honoured to introduce the new 'Josper Grill', a technique that imparts a distinctive charcoal flavour to all the local and handpicked ingredients placed upon its coals. The delicious menu makes use of the very best local ingredients either caught, grown or prepared close to Christchurch from the New Forest and the waters of the South Coast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing