We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

fox and hounds

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Grantham Road, Grantham NG33 4AB, England
+44 1476 564121
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
morpeth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were staying with friends in the village and decided to eat at the local village pub. When we arrived the place was freezing cold and we were told the boiler was broken? Quite frankly the food was awful and it was cold, probably due to cold plates. When we mentioned it to the waiter he kindly gave us desserts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear Ellen Thank you for your review Its true we did have some heating problems on the day you visited and I am glad to say everything is back to normal now, Unfortunately in business these things do happen and I am sorry your night wasn't as good as expected. I am concerned about the food comment as my Colleague... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Food was nice. Venue was really cold, needs some heating. We were almost the first order on a Sunday and a lot of stuff was off the menu as they had run out etc. Basic stuff like onion rings. Service was good ish.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear Daniel E Thank you for your review Its Nice you thought our food was quite Good and I have to agree with you it was a cold day yesterday I think the winter months this year are extremely cold, But must apologise for the items not on the menu, As our menu uses different items on various dishes sometimes... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

visited the Fox and Hounds on Sunday heard it was under new management so we thought we would try it again to be honest we tried it a few months earlier and it was not up to much. When we arrived we was acknowledged as soon as we entered which was nice because it was busy we had the lasagna... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear Martin C We are delighted you had a great time and we excelled your expectations we hope to see you again soon yours sincerely Joseph Walker More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

went there tonight with the family ,and i decided to have the scampi and chips and peas !! well to be honest i wish i had:nt bothered first fist there was no tartar sauce,did asked but was told they had run out,wish they had told me that when i had ordered !!!(yes i know that just me ) but they... More 

Helpful?
Thank brisca53
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear brisca53 Please accept my sincere apologies. we understand the tartar is an integral part of the scampi meal and we are upset that you didn't enjoy your experience. I guarantee the suppliers have had a stern talking to and this problem wont happen again. as for the chips we do now have two types - Plain and seasoned we... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First visit , wasn't sure what to expect , however we were not disappointed... Friendly staff , great food , good service ,,, we live a fair distance away but will definitely come back to visit when we are next in the area . Keep up good work

Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth F
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear Gwyneth F Thank you for your review, its nice to see you had a great time at the Fox & Hounds its also nice to see you travel a great distance to get here which means more to us with you going out of your way we look forward to seeing you again soon Joe Walker manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food good and was hot very pleasant evening friendly staff and nothing was too much i will definitely come back again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for your review its nice to see you had a great works night out we hope to see you again in the near future Joe walker Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited again as we do when we travel to and from Skegness for seaside visits. The new menu has a good range of food so something for everyone and at great value, all the staff are polite the new manager is doing a great job keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear Joanne W Its so nice of you to say these nice things, and after taking over the Fox & Hounds only a month ago, I will pass on your comments to the front of house and back of house Kitchen team We all strive to excel in the Fox and hounds here in old somerby NG334AB its always nice... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came after hearing this restaurant had changed hands for my brothers birthday. Service was excellent and food was delicious with nice big portions. We had a fab time and could not recommend enough! Thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahalwayswright
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear Sarahalwayswright Thank you so much for your lovely review, Its nice to see we have improved over a short amount of time. The portion sizes like you said are larger than before, which means you get more for your money. I hope your brother had a great time and hope to see you soon Best wishes Joseph Walker Manager... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in after being told that was under new management and we weren't disappointed at all Great food (proper food as I would like to call it) piping hot all round fantastic value for money Will defiantly be going back . Well done keep up the good work

Helpful?
Thank godsonmandy
FoxandHounds334, General Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear Godsonmandy Thank you so much for your review. Proper food, Exactly Its so nice to hear you say those words, The Fox & Hounds doesn't pretend to be anything else. Good Wholesome Food at Very reasonable prices with great service without the pretence. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Joseph walker Manager More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Good food and good value.Our third visit lately. Food arrived promptly, was well cooked and hot. Beer reasonable price. Friendly, helpful staff. New manager running the pub from about the begining of October.

Helpful?
Thank twotravellers_10
FoxandHounds334, Manager at fox and hounds, responded to this review

Dear "Two Travellers_10 Thank you so much for the review, Since taking over Mid October My team have really taken time out to care for customers, With new Key members of staff we are now driving the business forward and your review is the proof of the pudding. Thank You again Joseph Walker Manager More 

Travellers who viewed fox and hounds also viewed

 
Ropsley, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to fox and hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Grantham Road, Grantham NG33 4AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Grantham
  • Phone Number: +44 1476 564121

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from fox and hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?