We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The John Barleycorn

) #8 of 118 Restaurants in Harlow €€ - €€€ , British,
Threshers Bush | Turn Right Out of Green Lane, Harlow CM17 0NS, England
+44 1279 422675
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (20 reviews)
“steak” (24 reviews)
“potatoes” (13 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Threshers Bush | Turn Right Out of Green Lane, Harlow CM17 0NS, England
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The best, absolutely fabulous Roast beef and trimmings cooked to perfection and Steak and Ale pie just amazing.

Thank Jacqui S
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you Jacqui for your great review.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Fabulous Sunday roast with the best ever roasties and the Steak & Ale pie superb, will definitely be back.

Thank smiffy2810
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We sat outside next to their big fish pond and it really was stunning with the running water, fish and flowers, all perfectly maintained. Plenty of outdoor seating all table with umbrellas. We had the prawn and Cray fish sandwich but was bit disappointed that...More

Thank 4ofususually
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks fro your review. We can always bring out more of the Marie Rose sauce out in a pot as we have had customers saying there is too much in the sandwich. The menu on line is a sample menu and changes are made to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped into the John Barleycorn for a drink and were welcomed by a lady who I assume to be the landlady who asked if we had a table booked. We didn't have a reservation but the staff managed to locate a table for us....More

Thank Kevin B
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking time to review us. We do where ever possible try and accommodate people if they have not booked. We are glad you had a good time.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This has really gone down hill. Over priced under cooked food as i felt like I was eating a cheap frozen meal that had been warmed up as the center was still cold but the outside of the dish was warm? I mention this to...More

1  Thank tyronem1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My brother in law visited us and my mother in law decided to treat us all to dinner. The John Barleycorn is where we always go with her, it being her favourite restaurant. She has been going there fir years. She needs a wheelchair when...More

1  Thank David A
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We apologise about the lack or permanent Wheelchair access but because we are a Grade 2 listed building we were not allowed the pleasure of this by the local planning office. Hence the need for a ramp that is readily available for any body needing...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Shocking experience. Arrived and left within an hour having both eaten adequately cooked skate, horrendously thrown together salad - everything from the salad box - who serves red onion on a mixed salad? - and undercooked new potatoes. Oh and we had to wait 35...More

Thank JoRChurchLangley_UK
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

With regards to your recent Shocking Visit to us!!!!! We have checked with several local restaurants to us and all serve Red Onion on their mixed salads as White Onions are too strong and therefore used in cooking. However if your preference is not too...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for lunch, service excellent, food excellent. The Onion Rings were like we've had in America, what I call proper ! And the Chips were like my home-made ones, possibly better ! Really enjoyed our lunch and will definately visit again. Thank You xxxx

Thank KATE W
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you Kate :) We look forward to another visit from you.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to come here to celebrate our parents golden wedding anniversary. We were a party of 11 aged from 13 - 70. Our table was booked for 7.30 even though it was not busy, we found the service to be incredibly slow. When our...More

1  Thank Vanessa P
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear of your recent experience seeing as you have had many good meals here with us. Could you please give me the date you visited us by phone please so we can look into this matter for you. It would have...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very expensive but very good food Al a cart Very fine steak You can tell the difference as had cloth napkins Rather than paper Food very hot Wonderful service £74 for two people 2mains 2 sweet One coffee 3 drinks

Thank Chris C
Barleycorn321, Manager at The John Barleycorn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for celebrating your wedding anniversary with us. Very glad you had a very pleasant evening. See you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fox Inn
85 reviews
2.45 km away
The Chequers
263 reviews
3.89 km away
White Hart Inn
91 reviews
4.03 km away
Mayfield Farm Bakery Tea Room
305 reviews
3.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Saint Nicholas Church
58 reviews
4.37 km away
Car Limits
125 reviews
5.15 km away
Pets' Corner
203 reviews
5.46 km away
Ashlyn's Farm Shop
58 reviews
4.90 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Katie S
What time is your Sunday Roasts on until?
18 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Barleycorn321 | Property representative |
Hi we serve our Sunday Roasts till early evening. Please call us to book a table.
0
Votes
valentinMallorca
Please could you tell me if this pub is suitable for someone in a wheelchair
7 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Barleycorn321 | Property representative |
Yes we are wheelchair friendly
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Threshers Bush | Turn Right Out of Green Lane, Harlow CM17 0NS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Harlow
  • Phone Number: +44 1279 422675
Description
We are a friendly country pub doing fine food. Great garden dining. Book early to avoid disappointment.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing