We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke's Head

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Dukes Head Slugs Lane | Somerleyton, Lowestoft NR32 5QR, England
+44 1502 730281
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 18:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 246: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have limited mobility so access/egress is difficult. I wouldn't have got in in my wheelchair or my waking frame - the car park is loose shingle and the ramp up to the back door is steep - then there is a deep threshold to cross. The service is slow and unprofessional, the food OK but a little overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Reuben D
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I had dinner here last week and were very impressed with both the choice on the menu and the execution of the dishes. We started with beetroot mousse, feta, walnuts, pickled golden beets, blood orange and tarragon dressing + crisp belly pork. Continued with salmon, confit chorizo, crushed potato cake, purple sprouting broccoli and celeriac + risotto... More 

Helpful?
Thank christinebeehive
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Christine Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback following a visit to the Duke's Head. It's pleasing to read that this was the best meal and experience you have ever had with us, the team will be very pleased to hear your comments. I hope you will be back to see us again in... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After pulling up the pub which was not busy staff kept passing us by !! until a young lady arrived and was served immediately !! When I asked what was going on I was stared at and ignored. The service was none existent, the attitude was disgraceful , !!!! The food I must admit looked terrible so I think he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Mark Thank you for your comments following a visit to the Duke's head, please can you contact me directly on ewen@somerleyton.co.uk so I can contact you personally? Kind Regards Ewen More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst out walking last summer, we came across the Duke's Head, called in for a drink and promised ourselves we would go back there for a meal. This we did a couple of weeks ago and we were not disappointed. Staff polite and friendly, service great and food superb! Prices are what you would expect to pay for this cuisine.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita T
Fritton A, Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Rita Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your visit to us last year and a couple of weeks ago, its great to see you had another fantastic experience with us. I hope we will be seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards Ewen More 

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We tried to eat here on a Saturday but they were fully booked, which we took as a good sign. We returned on Tuesday, 28 March, when the pub was nearly empty. The specials sounded fancy and were. I had a small seabass, 2 tiny sweet potato and lime crabcakes (delicious), a little roasted beetroot, undercooked leek, a little broccoli... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monica L
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Monica Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for us, please accept my apologies that you couldn't get a table on Saturday, the pub can get very busy so I would always recommend booking in advance. Its a shame to read you found the portions on the small side, we get a amazing amount of comments... More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here on Sunday the food was delicious we had the lamb and my parents had the chicken. We had a problem with the service and a couple of other issues. The manager gave us all our desserts on the house plus our drinks which I didn't think was necessary. So although the food was fantastic and service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scn1305
Fritton A, General Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback following your visit to us. Its very pleasing to read that you found the food to of an excellent standard. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the issues with service you encountered, the team at the Dukes Head pride themselves on delivering consistently good service so... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a real gem of a pub with 4 real ales on, well kept. A standard pub menu including good children's options and an extended specials menu which was difficult to chose from. I had Duo of Lamb which was great, my wife had Salmon which was also very good. Very much enjoyed our visit would definitely recommend. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Dave A
Fritton A, Manager at Duke's Head, responded to this review

Hi Dave Thank you very much for your kind review of the Duke's Head, its fantastic to see you and your family enjoyed your visit so much. I hope we will see you back again very soon. Kind regartds Ewen More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fabulous meal on Mother's Day so went back this weekend. Even better, great food, service. Has to be the best local pub for food.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tellawson
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The dukes head is a regular for us whether it be a lunch with family or a get together with friends. In the summer there is a lovely beer garden ,with small children's play area,and in the winter there's a cosy log fire awaiting . The DH has 2 bars,reflecting back to its days when all traditional pubs had the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank spanner70
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came to eat on Mother's Day with my family and what surprise. Not only was the food great but the staff were fantastic, drinks were quick and the meals arrived in a reasonable time. I did read the reviews before attending and thought the worst but we ate our words and was very surprised. Will definitely be returning and recommending... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank John P

Travellers who viewed Duke's Head also viewed

 
Lowestoft, Suffolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Duke's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$63 - US$63
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dukes Head Slugs Lane | Somerleyton, Lowestoft NR32 5QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Lowestoft
  • Phone Number: +44 1502 730281

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Duke's Head and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Ipswich Suffolk
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Duke's Head staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?