We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince of Wales

Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England
+44 1989 564316
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good18%
  • Average13%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“pork” (4 reviews)
“burger” (6 reviews)
“ice cream” (3 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 190 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Came out for a meal last night to be met with a room full of smoke the chef non stop swearing,I ordered the mega mixed grill and when it eventually came after nearly an hour the lamb chop that was on the plate was off,...More

2  Thank Bonesaw77
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We quite regularly come to the Price as we live locally and have had some very good meals, unfortunately today this was not the case. We came today with some family who haven't been before, there were 7 of us. We placed our order at...More

Thank SilverStars2013
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I would have given the Prince a 5 star for quality of service, environment and value for money of food (it's good pub grub not a gastropub). However, on the various times we have been there the smoke from the kitchen has been such that...More

Thank les_tocknell
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your dining experience at The Prince of Wales, Ross-on-Wye. We are aware of the issue with the extraction and the senior management team are currently sorting the problem so it should be back to normal shortly. We...More

Reviewed 1 December 2013

This pub/ restaurant, is defiantly the best value for money and the food is fantastic. The staff are also very friendly. I must however mention that they don't take cards, so please arm your self with cash. However they do have a cash machine on...More

Thank Ian D
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for your positive review and feedback regarding your dining experience at The Prince. I'm pleased to read you enjoy frequenting our pub and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Prince very soon!

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Visited here last Saturday following a recommendation from owner of Raglan House were we were staying for the weekend. The value was very good, starters £2, meals £4, £6 or £8 we had £8 16oz steak and £8 8oz steak and scampi. The meat was...More

Thank Scoucerbabe
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review of The Prince of Wales and for recommending us so highly on here. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your steaks and that we were able...More

Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a lovely pub, helpful friendly staff and excellent value food. There were 3 of us and we chose a 2 6 and 8 pds meal, all of which were excellent and we have paid alot more in other places and not had such good...More

Thank Enjoy33
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review of The Prince of Wales in Ross and for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I will pass on your kind words to the team. I'm pleased to hear we were able to cater for you all and we...More

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Food ok for the price you pay, came quickly and all team members were friendly. Abit cold temperature and atmosphere wise.More

Thank SallyP260772
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your dining experience at The Prince. I am disappointed to read you were not completely satisfied with your meal and would like to apologise on behalf of The Number Works Pub Company for failing to provide the...More

Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We use this pub quite regularly and will often walk into town, do some shopping, then come back to the prince to eat. However, once or twice we have been more recently and have had experiences of staff being rude. I ordered a drink at...More

1  Thank Lauren1712
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am very sorry if you felt we did not provide you with the high level of service you expected from us and would like to reassure you that your experience is not the usual and certainly is...More

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Desptite some poor reviews, this is a value for money pub/restaurant serving good food in a nice environment. Based on a 4 price bracket menu, £2,£4,£6 & £8 there is something for everyone. The £2 bean chilli went down almost as well as my very...More

Thank John U
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your dining experience at The Prince. I am pleased your enjoyed your meals and we hope to see you at The Prince again very soon!

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We visited PoW , had to find our own table through the smoke emanating from the kitchen. When we finally ordered , there was a huge queue and only 1 person taking orders. As a previous visitor to other numbers company pubs, we requested a...More

1  Thank Grumps09
Mat S, Public Relations Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience at The Prince of Wales. As a company we appreciate any sort of constructive criticism with regards to our customers dining experience. We are aware of the issue with the extractor fans and our management team...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Chasedale Hotel
17 reviews
.22 km away
The Royal Hotel
1,241 reviews
.48 km away
The King's Head Hotel
459 reviews
.50 km away
The Chase Hotel
543 reviews
.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
No 3 Restaurant
549 reviews
.48 km away
Avellino Italian restaurant
337 reviews
.49 km away
Caffe Eleganza
247 reviews
.54 km away
Pots and Pieces
403 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Mary The Virgin Church
35 reviews
.40 km away
Wilton Castle
48 reviews
1.13 km away
The Thomas Blake Memorial Gardens
15 reviews
.46 km away
Pots and Pieces
115 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Prince of Wales staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$16
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 564316
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing