We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Prince of Wales

Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ross on Wye HR9 5AP Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England (Formerly prince of wales)
+44 1989 564316
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Prompt service of food, children's beans were cold on plate upon arrival so waitress kindly brought us more. Food okay.

Helpful?
Thank MarkandSamWestwood
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2016

Carvery veg selection on Sunday afternoon was limited . There were no greens , or peas or broccoli . Only mashed up carrots ,swede and cauliflower.You could hear the staff complaining and arguing in the kitchen , it was all very unprofessional. Our meals took ages to come and we had finished the carvery meals before the others came. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank david m
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Held my fathers wake here on weds and had the catering done by the owners. Have to say excellent food and great service. Highly recommend for any occasion.

Helpful?
Thank Daveopy
South Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2016

I have been visiting the area for quite a while and always ate at The Prince of Wales as it was a Number Works Pub and such good value and decent food. Imagine my disappointment when my husband and I went here after arriving from the South Coast Friday only to find it is just an ordinary pub now with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your 'disappointing' review. As I believe it was myself who spoke to you Sunday afternoon and gave you an apology and an explanation as to why we stop the Carvery at 3.00pm. I believe you were eating a roast dinner at the time??!!! I believe I explained we had done over 120 carveries that day and are... More 

Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2016

Visited yesterday lunch. A friendly and warm welcome by the manageress. I had the steak pie which was very tasty, plenty of meat and crusty pastry. Husband had the wrapped chicken which again was very tasty. Will visit again when in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank jannick10
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!! More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2016

My husband took me out for lunch on valentines day - his first time eating at the Prince of Wales. We had the best carvery i have ever had and my husband has been recommending it every since. A choice of 3 meats and an array of veggies. The chefs are so friendly and we have always found the bar... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jojomorris18
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your time with us here. And look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2016

We went to Ross on Wye for the day and found the Prince of Wales pub where we decided to have lunch,they were serving a carvery which we had and enjoyed very much. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable lunchtime, we will certainly be going back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank poohbear992016
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you had a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Came a few weeks back, for a meal with my mum before I headed off for work, and for the price, the service was what you'd expect. Cheap and affordable good quality food, that tasted amazing. Waiter(grace I think was her name) was amazing, so polite and friendly! She offered us our food, and said she hoped we enjoyed it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodejones1
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Thank you for your reecent review. I'm glad Grace treated you with friendliness and politeness. Please accept my apologies for the wait you had at the bar, we will address this issue. Once again thank you very much. More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2016

I have to say this is the worst place I have visited in, the staff are so poorly trained and unhelpful, the girl I think called Gemma did not know what they sold and then said we were asking the wrong person about drinks, I think as a waitress that is your job, we then got the drinks plonked on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Localboy23
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

I'm very concerned and sorry to hear of your experience here at The Prince of Wales. When taking over the premises under employment law we had to keep on the existing staff and management team and they were keen to impress. (Although we don't have a Gemma working here) The way you have been treated and the way they have... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Carvery on Sunday advertised as all day but turned up to pub at 2pm where lots of spaces, ordered drinks then tried to order carvery as per sign on wall. Told we couldn't have it as not booked. Couple next to us eating & it looked good to be fair but useless if not available

Helpful?
Thank Sally B
GreenersCarvery, Owner at The Prince of Wales, responded to this review

Apologies for your experience! Hands up, the Carvery is a learning curve for us and we ordered what we thought was required. We had done over 100 booked meals between 12pm and 1pm on the Sunday of your visit. (We strongly advise booking) Every week we order more meat to try to keep up with demand and every week our... More 

Travellers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Television
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ross on Wye HR9 5AP Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5AP, England (Formerly prince of wales)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: +44 1989 564316

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Prince of Wales staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?