We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Original Pasty House

Bedford House Bedford Square | Bedford House, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
+44 1822 616003
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good29%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pastries” (117 reviews)
“pastie” (4 reviews)
Open Now
07:30 - 18:30 Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bedford House Bedford Square | Bedford House, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I loved everything about the pasty house except the price. For me it was a little bit to expensive but other than that everything was good. The service was perfect all the staff were well presented and the food’ was fantastic. Good variety for everyone...More

Thank Paradise68599355825
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Didn't know that a traditional steak pasty should only have one piece of steak in it would be better with the label "potatoe pasty may contain meat". Shame as I walked past two other bakers to get hear as they used to be goodMore

Thank Manhoot
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon, I am terribly sorry to read you had this bad experience. This is something that we try and ensure doesn't happen but on this occasion it appears we have let you down. Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback,...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018

Lunch here often. Great range of foods. Ham salad is fab. So many different pasty's to choose from. Limited seating but worth queuing and waiting.More

Thank lucythomas96
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lucy, So pleased to hear your a regular visitor to us. We locally source our ham from the local butchers, I am so pleased to see you enjoy it. Thank you for giving us a review, we appreciate it. We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Visit here a lot and always top class service, delicious food and good value for money. Good that they do cocktail pasties for little ones as well. Their wraps are also top notch with a choice of crisps or salad. Never had a bad experience

Thank jsh1988
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What fantastic comments! I am so pleased to read you enjoy the wraps and have had great experiences with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. Look forward to having you back again soon.

Reviewed 10 August 2018

Whether quiet (rarely) or busy, customer service is excellent. Nothing is too much trouble and you are well looked after even if waiting for a table. Food is always good and the staff always kind, willing, and friendly. Highly recommended.More

Thank Andrew R
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Andrew, Wow, what amazing comments to read about our staff and service. We focus on trying to give our customers the best experience so it is lovely to read you have had these experiences personally! Thank you for reviewing us here and we really...More

Reviewed 8 August 2018

We have had light lunch in this place and we liked it. The food was tasty, the service was good (We have not had long time to wait...), and the price is reasonable.More

Thank CONAN JEAN P
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Jean, I am really pleased to read you had a nice experience with us back in August. We do put a big emphasis on service and value in our shop, so it is lovely to read you recognised this. Thank you for taking the...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

but so worth going to. Have been here a few times and always enjoyed it great pasties as well as a large assortment of other tasty foods to tempt you.

Thank René Andre B
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Rene, Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am so pleased you enjoy the pasties. We hope to tempt you into a nice homemade cake too next time! We hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

I make it to Tavistock once a month and always like to treat myself to a lovely lunch at the pasty house. The service is always great, super friendly staff and the pasties are delicious! Also, in this weather I couldn’t recommend the milkshakes, made...More

Thank JessicaMarr88
Nigel E, General Manager at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi Kate, What fantastic remarks to read! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we truly appreciate it and we hope to see you again the next time you are back in Tavistock.

Reviewed 9 July 2018

I have worked in tavistock for 20 years, and I have to say the pasty house was always a treat... This last year I have been so disappointed pretty much every time I order.. today I ordered a ham salad sandwich, normally amazing, yet today...More

Thank SharonH1334
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Sharon Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to the Pasty House today. Our ham comes from Howells our local butcher and our sandwiches are known to be very generous in their portion sizes. I apologise if todays sandwich was not...More

Reviewed 4 July 2018

I guess I shouldn’t have expected too much from a pasty shop not in Cornwall, but was a bit disappointed in these. We had the medium steak and a steak and ale. The pastry was doughy and too thick on the crusts, the steak and...More

Thank 132emilyk101
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Emily As The Original Pasty House we do pride ourselves on our awarding winning pasties, so I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your pasties. I hope you return to Tavistock and try our pasties again I am sure you will...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Tavistock
The Queen's Head Hotel
216 reviews
.10 km away
The Bedford Hotel
587 reviews
.12 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
299 reviews
.48 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
441 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cornish Arms
1,176 reviews
.15 km away
Taylors
907 reviews
.05 km away
Robertson's
331 reviews
.09 km away
Bob's East End Cafe
179 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tavistock Pannier Market
474 reviews
.08 km away
Tavistock Farmers Market
97 reviews
.07 km away
The Wharf
145 reviews
.33 km away
Stannary Brewing Company
29 reviews
.74 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Original Pasty House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:30
Monday
07:30 - 18:30
Tuesday
07:30 - 18:30
Wednesday
07:30 - 18:30
Thursday
07:30 - 18:30
Friday
07:30 - 18:30
Saturday
07:30 - 18:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bedford House Bedford Square | Bedford House, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Tavistock
  • Phone Number: +44 1822 616003
  • E-mail
Description
The Original Pasty House is a cafe & takeaway restaurant in Tavistock Devon, offering friendly eat in table service and fast takeaway. We serve a great selection of traditional West Country pasties, freshly made baguettes & sandwiches, toasted wraps & paninis, homemade cakes and oven baked jacket potatoes as well as fair-trade barista coffee, fruit smoothies and ice cream milkshakes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing