We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

€€ - €€€, British,
Golborne Road | Winwick, Warrington WA2 8LF, England
+44 1925 631416
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sea bass” (15 reviews)
“lasagne” (12 reviews)
“pudding” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Golborne Road | Winwick, Warrington WA2 8LF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Just back from a lovely meal at The Swan in Winwick. The fillet steak though thick was beautifully cooked (medium rare) and all served by a lovely waitress Jayne. Very friendly, efficient and professional. The staff at this Chef and Brewer are a credit to...More

Thank Sue F
Reviewed 2 days ago

We use The Swan around 6 times per year for family get together's. its in a great location for meeting up. It has a very good well priced varied menu that is changed by the sasons. W have always found the staff to be very...More

Thank Bulldogg9
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great cosy pub.went for a family meal.food was great and good value for money.great service to.we had a young lady called Amy.very polite and efficient. Will definitely be going back

Thank Fishcake21
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We have eaten here a few times over the years and always used to view this place as good quality food .... not this time. First of all they had no roast beef available on the Sunday roast at only 4pm. Service was slow and...More

Thank Sarah S
Ellie T, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Sarah Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am saddened to hear that your visit was not as you wished. The level of service you received fell way below out usual standards and for this we apologise. We...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We decided to stop at the Swan for a roast dinner. We entered the pub which was fairly busy. Service was noticeably slow. It took awhile for anyone to greet us. We waited to ask if we could have a table and were eventually acknowledged...More

Thank luvfoodantravel
Ellie T, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am saddened to hear that your visit was not as you wished. The level of service you received fell way below out usual standards and for this we apologise. We have used...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went and ordered a couple of drinks very expensive we planned to drink our drinks then decided if we wanted to eat well when I explained that to a staff member we where shot with dirty looks don’t botherMore

Thank Khadi B
Ellie T, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Khadi Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I am saddened to hear that your visit was not as you wished. The level of service you received fell way below out usual standards and for this we apologise. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Often visit pubs in the area to meet friends for a catch up, I live 1.5 hours away and this is a convenient area to meet them. My first visit to the swan and i was greeted by the General manager and the assistant manager...More

Thank Michelle E
Ellie T, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Michelle Thank you so much for your kind words on your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Swan yesterday & Thank you for taking the time to speak to us before you left, it was lovely to hear...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent and personal service as usual. I have visited this restaurant on several occasions over the last few years. Excellent food.More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Z5580FZmikew
Ellie T, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you so much for your kind words on your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the Swan & birthday celebrations. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time visit . Well priced lunch deal , excellent food , great to be served at the table , by really friendly and efficient staff . Will be back for sure Dave and Lisa MatherMore

Thank Dave M
Ellie T, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dave & Lisa Thank you so much for your kind words on your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your first visit to the Swan. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food really scrumptious and delicious, everything freshly cooked to order and the meat not just pre cooked to sit there and dry out! Will have this again no doubt!!!More

Thank MargaretBarnes70
Ellie T, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Margaret Thank you so much for your kind words on your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Swan. I will pass on your feedback to our kitchen manager & the rest of the team and we look forward...More

PreviousNext
123456114
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Warrington
Premier Inn Warrington North East Hotel
297 reviews
.05 km away
Premier Inn Warrington (A49/M62,J9) Hotel
256 reviews
1.06 km away
Premier Inn Warrington Central North Hotel
506 reviews
2.65 km away
The Gullivers Hotel
571 reviews
3.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Millstone
166 reviews
2.71 km away
Red Bank Farm Shop and Butchery
22 reviews
1.97 km away
Fiddle i'th bag
170 reviews
1.92 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Firkin
61 reviews
3.33 km away
Trebaron Garden Centre
152 reviews
3.03 km away
Earlestown Saturday Flea & Craft Market
24 reviews
4.14 km away
Gulliver's World - Warrington
2,350 reviews
2.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
susfar_10
30 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ellie T | Property representative |
good evening. unfortunately we are fully booked for Christmas day
0
Votes
Warrywarry2014
15 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ellie T | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your question. Chef and Brewer menu has recently been changed. this decision was made to try and be a little different. we have had lots of positive feedback from this. I am sorry you don't quite like it... More
0
Votes
Makothebanker09
31 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ellie T | Property representative |
hello sorry no we don't allow dogs in. we have a few chef and brewers in the area that do. Griffin bold heath ring on bells daresbury
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$31
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Golborne Road | Winwick, Warrington WA2 8LF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Warrington
  • Phone Number: +44 1925 631416
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing