We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
+44 1233 840011
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
“lasagna” (9 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

As a group of six we regularly visit country pubs around Ashford.The swan was definitely the best we’ve been to. Very friendly and great landlady.Atmosphere was very good and nothing too much trouble.The food was excellent all freshly cooked and home made and service very...More

Thank denchar2016
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review!! We are extremely proud of our pub and staff and reviews like yours mean so much. Many thanks Ann &Ray

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was all supermarket bought, nothing home made as advertised. Unattentive staff and a "chef" constantly walking into the bar chatting. Extremely slow service and very poor food.More

Thank kenningtonresident
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning I was amazed to receive your review If everything about your visit was so appalling then why did you not raise your issues? I can assure you all of our ingredients are freshly sourced and cooked on the premises as for slow service...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here for the Halloween celebrations - the pub was lively with a real buzz. The new Landlord and Landlady are delightful Ann and Ray - Ann made me an amazing gin and tonic ( rhubarg and ginger gin with fry ginger ale ) it...More

Thank kentcritique
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review!!! Glad you enjoyed your visit and gin😄 Look forward to you visiting again to try our fabulous food Ann &Ray

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted by quite possibly one of the friendliest waiting staff we have ever met. She was all smiles, with a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude. The lady owner was very cordial too. We only had drinks there, but it was a joy...More

1  Thank sarah s
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review Hopefully you can join us for dinner very soon. Ann &Ray

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped into this pub for lunch on Saturday and it was a lovely traditional pub and very welcoming. Food was very nice and perfect setting. Staff were friendly and the waitress recommended when I was trying to choose between two options. Highly recommend this place

Thank Dancing-Suz
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review We value your opinion highly and look forward to seeing you again Ann &Ray

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Drove past this pub a week ago on the way somewhere else and thought this pub looked a lovely place for dinner. With this in mind, we reserved a table over the phone, and were greeted by Ann as we walked in. We were very...More

Thank JackWenbourne1994
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again Ann &Ray

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled across this pub whilst out walking and after hearing bad reviews of a different pub nearby that we were intending to go and eat at we decided to come back and try The Swan Inn. Lovely setting with ample parking and a warm welcome...More

2  Thank Darren C
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback we have taken it onboard and would like to invite you to have Sunday lunch with us free of charge to compensate for your visit Ann &Ray

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for Sunday lunch before heading to the spa at the Ashford International Hotel. The welcome from all the staff was brilliant, very friendly and helpful at all times. Food was reasonably priced, the menu was limited (due to it being a Sunday) and I...More

Thank 179natashaa
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your lunch. We only do Sunday lunch as it’s become so successful our chef concentrates on getting it perfect for our guests and we take pride in this. Please try another day as I’m sure you...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch today with my parents and baby for my dads birthday. Gorgeous pub in a lovely setting- outside looks amazing for when the weather is nice and they have a pony and donkey too. Inside it’s lovely and clean and the food was...More

Thank Kim4180
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review So pleased you had a great birthday celebration Next time have desserts to take away!!! Thanks Ann

Reviewed 7 October 2018

Stumbled across this fantastic little boozer while house hunting and so glad we did! Although we hadn't booked and they were very busy they managed to squeeze us in after a short wait in the lovely garden ( with a pint in the autumn sunshine...More

Thank Jamie0166
annsmith316, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you so much!! Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Ashford
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
642 reviews
2.51 km away
Premier Inn Ashford North
758 reviews
2.74 km away
The Dering Arms
94 reviews
3.33 km away
Ashford International Hotel
1,696 reviews
6.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Hop Pickers
100 reviews
2.54 km away
Rose and Crown
355 reviews
3.55 km away
The Bowl Inn
135 reviews
5.57 km away
The Black Horse Restaurant
415 reviews
1.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hothfield Heathlands Nature Reserve
21 reviews
2.79 km away
St Peter & St Paul Church
10 reviews
3.65 km away
The Rose & Crown
19 reviews
4.08 km away
Godinton House & Gardens
252 reviews
4.32 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
elaineahdesign
23 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nibber58 | Reviewed this property |
The pub has been closed since the beginning of August, following a police incident. I have lived in Little Chart for 30 years, this is the first time it has EVER been shut since we moved here,quite why Enterprise Inns do not... More
1
Vote
John M
3 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Roy O | Property representative |
Hi John, Yes you can bring your dog with you. Kind Regards Jan Gajdos The Swan Inn
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$21
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Ashford
  • Phone Number: +44 1233 840011
  • E-mail
Description
A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards. We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website. We are closed on Mondays. We serve food every day 12:00pm to 9:00pm . On Sundays we provide Sunday Lunch with a selection of Starters & Desserts from 12:00pm to 7:00pm We have a lovely childrens menu and a fabulous play area. Bring the children to meet Eric and Ernie our resident Donkey and Pony.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing