We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Refreshment Room

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Refreshment Room
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$21
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
18
13
4
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
18
13
4
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paninis home made cakes ham sandwich monsal trail dale walkers cycle mug
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

This is a really great place to stop for hot drinks and a warming snack after a long walk on a cold day. The service was very nice, and I’m surprised to read in earlier reviews that some people had thought the service was rude....It was very welcome to find that the cafe was very warm and the radiators were hot; it meant I could get my wet gear dry! Obviously seating is quite limited at the present time, though there are lots of picnic benches outside where it would be nice to sit on a warm day. I had a delicious soup and sandwich, though the paninis caused me a bit of food envy!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Looking for somewhere to have a quick bite today. Pouring with rain and many places closed, we phoned ahead to The Refreshment Room. Very polite from the word go. Table was reserved. Arrived in the pouring rain. Felt very safe from Covid point of view,...lots of safety precautions in place. Staff were very friendly from the outset. We had a simple lunch - warming soup and scrambled eggs on toast. Very tasty coffee too. So glad to see this place up and running. Last time I visited for a cycle down the Monsal Trail, it was a closed up building with an ice cream van in the carpark. Lovely to see it made into so much more. Will definitely visit again, hopefully in the sunshine next time!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 October 2020 via mobile

I would advise to perhaps stop for a hot drink etc somewhere else. A staff member was not very accommodating on the verge of being very extremely rude not just to us but other customers too ( shocking )

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 October 2020

This cafe is situated in the old station nearer the Buxton end of the Monsal Trail although there is also a cafe on site. Good lunch options and very nice.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

Visited today. (23rd October) We were a party of 6. The children had kids meals, sausage chips and beans, excellent value for money and clean plates too! I had the goats cheese panini, it was absolutely delicious ! My husband had a Derbyshire beef burger...that looked amazing! He assured me it tasted as good as it looked. Staff were extremely helpful and polite, even guiding us on a great walk around Chee dale, the lady that recommended the walk was extremely knowledgeable of the local area so we were really quite grateful. All in all a lovely experience. Oh and the homemade cakes were tasty too. Can’t wait to visit again. Thank you.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our Cafe and look forward to welcoming you back soon. 😊

Reviewed 18 October 2020

Visited today with my wife. Was really busy but the staff was really polite and informed us of the delay. The food was lovely and the prices was fair. Will certainly be returning.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Visited around 13:00 on a Sunday, it was really quite busy to be fair and there were queues when ordering and collecting food but that’s where things all fell down. Granted, things were running differently due to COVID, it took a very long time for...basic orders to come through and mistakes were being made, leading to some missing items and further delays. The ordering system needs some improvement, and led to lots of people waiting around for a long time in confusion over where their food was. Orders and money was taken at a door, with no receipt/proof of what you ordered, and you were then asked to wait by another door for it to be brought out - where there were easily 10-15+ people waiting around. Ideally, they should’ve taken down names, or given a number to each customer so they knew who’s was who’s order and call them out. Instead they just shouted out the orders to everyone waiting outside and it was a bit of a free for all with people guessing at which was theirs, especially as only some items on the orders were ready while others were still being made. Inevitably some people’s orders went missing or weren’t right, and some items were sold out / unavailable even after paying for them. Nonetheless the staff were working hard and had a tough job on their hands, they did their best they just weren’t quite ready for how busy it was. Just organise a better system and it’ll work out better for everybody next time, it won’t take too much effort to do.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Hi Jonny, we're really sorry to hear that you had problems with your order when you visited us on Sunday. Staff should be using a number system for takeaway orders, so that customers know when their order is ready for collection. We will be talking...More

Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Visited on the 18th of October. Wasn’t really expecting anything special as it’s a stop off point for people enjoying the Monsal Trail - the outside area was busy - but not what I would describe as packed or overly busy. Ordered 2 drinks, a...cheese and onion toasty and a Cornish pasty. After 20 minutes asked if there was a problem with the food - was told they were backed up in the kitchen - it would be another 10 minutes. My wife stood in front of the food collection point to make sure when the order was called she was there to collect it. Several other customers were asking where there food was. After 30 minutes, my wife was assured the food was coming so we co continued to wait. After 40 minutes we asked again. The girl checked with the kitchen who informed her the food had been made and given out. What a complete mess - god know who took the food or what they were expecting. We asked for a refund and left. The place is staffed with young people who are not organised - I wouldn’t bother unless you want a drink/ice-cream.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Hi Daniel, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We will be having a chat with all staff involved on this Sunday shift and ensuring that they understand and use the number system that we have in place for takeaway orders....More

Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

Stopped off for some light refreshments. I would probably like to give it 3.5 stars. It is nothing special but ideal. Although we had simple snacks, tea and cakes; everything was nice. My main problem was the staff who served us, sorry I mean order...us around. This is not March lockdown, and i think most people have a reasonable idea regarding social distancing but to have it rammed down our throats like we were school children by someone half our age to myself who is a key worker was bordering on rude; especially as she seemed to only wear her mask when it suited her and not at all times as in my opinion she should. In fact most of the staff didn’t wear masks. If they all concentrated on serving the customers in a professional manner without the power trip, maybe they would notice their own personal Covid 19 rules. Also, you should never serve food before cutlery is on the table. I hate giving bad reviews and this could be a 5 star place. A little staff training may be in order.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Hi Rick, thank you for your review. I apologise if you felt like our staff were ordering you around and I will ensure that the supervisor speaks to all staff about this. Our risk assessments currently state that staff must wear face masks when dealing...More

Reviewed 28 September 2020 via mobile

For all I know, you may hate your job but to the young lady who works there, at least try and smile and be polite and courteous, it actually costs nothing and makes all the difference. It may have made the horrible coffee in paper...cups a little more palatable.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
tealover78, Owner at The Refreshment Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Hi, we’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit to our cafe. We have to use disposable cups at the moment due to the Covid-19 pandemic, but they are compostable. We will have a chat with the staff about customer service and hope that if you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Monsal Head Hotel
552 reviews
4.99 km away
Premier Inn Buxton hotel
842 reviews
7.75 km away
The Barrel Inn
246 reviews
7.79 km away
Buxton Crescent
31 reviews
8.00 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Anglers Rest
382 reviews
.45 km away
High Nellys
225 reviews
2.79 km away
Red Lion at Litton
590 reviews
3.18 km away
Packhorse Inn
706 reviews
5.44 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Cathedral of the Peak
150 reviews
2.91 km away
The Church Inn
128 reviews
3.77 km away
St Hugh's Church
5 reviews
6.37 km away
Thornbridge Hall Gardens
179 reviews
6.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Refreshment Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Refreshment Room

  • Yes, The Refreshment Room is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

  • The Refreshment Room is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5