We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverview Restaurant

€€ - €€€British, , Vegetarian Friendly
Bridgehead | The Atholl, Dunkeld, Scotland
+44 1350 727219
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“celeriac mash” (2 reviews)
“cod” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bridgehead | The Atholl, Dunkeld, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Restuarant is perfect for those that like excellent food and of course situated in a wonderful area of Scotland Enjoy!!

1  Thank jefurkit
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is part of the historic hotel at the bridge. The food is good. Prices reasonable. Friendly staff.More

Thank HarmenMM
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello HammenMM, Thank you so much for your kind review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your meal . Please visit again when you are next in Dunkeld. Any changes to our menu and events will be posted on our Facebook page and...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Our party of five friends had dinner here on Saturday night and we were certainly not disappointed. Everything was beautifully presented and perfectly cooked. The menu selection is really diverse and interesting, plus the addition of a completely separate vegan menu was very welcome -...More

Thank WaltMc
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello WaltMc, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely review for the RiverView, Dunked. It is so nice to hear we are keeping up to the expectations of our guests. It was a delight to have you here and to...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Unfortunately not the best lunch. Waited in the bar area for 10 mins felt invisible. A customer then went to get a member of staff. We were seated and i didn't think our order was difficult one macaroni one battered haddock no chips just salad....More

Thank 147rachel
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello 147rachel, We have taken some time to look into this review as we pride ourselves on offering great customer service. No excuse on the table not being ready, this has been noted and staff alerted to this review. Getting the wrong fish, we only...More

Reviewed 24 June 2017

We had a nice table by the window, view of the river on a windy Saturday in Dunkeld. Service was good, people friendly, furnishings nice. We had the steak and ale pie, and the beef hamburger. The pie was wonderful, the side veggies were perfect,...More

Thank JDH20
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hello JDH20, Nice to hear you enjoyed our restaurant but lets talk about the burger situation… I could be short and a bit cheeky and say "should of had the veggie burger” but that’s not what we are about and since you took the time...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent food. Great atmosphere. Terrific hostesses. Everything was made on sight with freash ingredients and crafted with love. I even had dessert, usually never do, fearful of what I might be missing. The town is small yet charming and has a few attractions. People are...More

1  Thank QuOdin
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hello Quodin, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. It is good to hear you enjoyed your meal and that everything was to your satisfaction. Your kind words have been shared...More

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Staying in hotel over New Year. Dinner in restaurant on the 31st. Haggis bon bons. starters, mains venison with celeriac mash.and steak, & cheese board and a wee Irish coffee. Friendly service from all staff. The meal was great. We will be back for another...More

Thank dundeetravellermrshc
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Hello ScotlandTigger999, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We work hard to offer a great Christmas and New Year package for all our guests. Our RiverView restaurant is an award winning restaurant and our standards do not stop after new...More

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here over the new year period. Fantastic meal served here on the 31st. Haggis bon bons. Venison for mains with celeriac mash. Then Scottish cheeses and a wee gealic coffee. Friendly service and all with a smile on their faces. The meal we had...More

1  Thank Scott C
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Our restaurant is rather special and we do our best to offer a variety of dishes with daily specials as well as our Atholl favourites. I wanted to let you know about our...More

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Having read good reviews about the Riverside Restaurant I was disappointed that its lunchtime menu is that of the Meeting Place which is more suitable for a weekday than Sunday lunch. Not a roast dinner in sight! The service was appalling. Almost an hour's wait...More

Thank Donnajer
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Hello Donnajer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We have taken your comments seriously and have looked into how we can improve on these issues. We don't often get requests for a Sunday roast but please know if this...More

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We eat here regularly, mostly in the bistro but sometimes in the restaurant. When we saw a 5 course tasting menu advertised for £29 a head we just had to book a table. The staff were very friendly and attentive as usual, thank you Gill,...More

1  Thank Kirsty G
christines89, Owner at Riverview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Hello Kirsty G, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is nice to hear that your expectations were met. Your kind words have been shared with all the staff. We will continue to offer the tasting menu,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Howie's Bistro
515 reviews
.05 km away
Chattan Tea Room
46 reviews
1.05 km away
Palmerston's Cafe
284 reviews
.03 km away
Birnam Arts and Conference Centre
75 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Birnam Inn
57 reviews
.82 km away
Dunkeld Cathedral
439 reviews
.26 km away
Paddle Surf Scotland
7 reviews
1.17 km away
Birnam Oak
31 reviews
.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Riverview Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$33
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridgehead | The Atholl, Dunkeld, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Dunkeld
  • Phone Number: +44 1350 727219
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing