We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Taverners

€€ - €€€, British,
High Street, Godshill PO38 3HZ, England
+44 1983 840707
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good21%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (24 reviews)
“lemon meringue” (23 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Godshill PO38 3HZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Was recommended this PH and wish we had been told about it earlier. Had three meals and each was superb. Excellent food and service. The real ales were also well kept. Cannot recommend this pub enough. Staff were friendly and polite. If you are on...More

Thank Adrian G
Reviewed 5 days ago

Lots of choice, good atmosphere, friendly staff and the food was excellent. Was recommend book as it was full on a Friday night.

Thank Beachbuzz
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here twice whilst on our 5 day break to IOW at the end of September. Each visit was outstanding. There is a very nice atmosphere, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The food is excellent...More

Thank dmjohnson2
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been coming here for 4 consecutive years (every trip to the IOW) and as yet amongst the many meals we have had the pleasure of eating here, we have never once been let down. The entire experience is excellent; staff, food and ambiance....More

Thank Lucy B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Turned up without a reservation. Only the rear bar in operation, with about 3 tables taken but, rather bizarrely, 2 others were reserved that remained empty throughout the entire lunch service. Lukewarm welcome from staff who were busily talking amongst themselves. Orders are taken at...More

Thank Nic H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been a while since coming here and glad we made the right choice. My other half had the pulled pork burger and he found it really tasty and filling. The sausages and bubble and squeak were lovely! Loved the bits of bacon in it. Couldn't...More

Thank Izzy B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite not booking, we were squeezed in and then treated as if we were the only guests. Super service, superior food.

Thank Misheck
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always find re-visiting any establishment gives me the ‘chief tester and taster’ an opportunity to see if my visit was as good as my last. I re-visited The Taverners in Godshill village in July 2017 to meet friends and I wasn’t disappointed with the...More

Thank Mr Harry B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We'd heard such great things about Sunday lunch at Taverners, that we booked to go with friends. When we booked, they said 1.30 might be too late to guarantee a Sunday roast, so we booked and turned up for 1.00. The first disappointment was that...More

Thank Rosie D
TavernersGodshill, Owner at The Taverners, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rosie Sorry you were disappointed to of missed out on the roast. It does sell out very fast. We only ever do roast rib of Island beef served pink with Yorkshire puddings & roast potatoes, due to the size of the ribs we can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely friendly welcome, shown to our table and given menus. We ordered and when then the food arrived it looked good, all the courses, and it tasted fantastic. The staff were very good and very attentive to our needs. We would recommend this restaurant/pub...More

Thank ann e
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Chocolate Island
300 reviews
.06 km away
The Essex
590 reviews
.06 km away
The Griffin
548 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Godshill Model Village
1,472 reviews
.04 km away
The Hoy Monument
13 reviews
.50 km away
Godshill Church
169 reviews
.14 km away
Godshill Cider Company
46 reviews
.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mrs Christine D
18 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Katherine M | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I don't know as I am able to eat gluten. I think they had some dishes but I would call and make sure.
0
Votes
tilly102
15 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mel J | Reviewed this property |
Yes. We took 2 dogs in with us for an evening meal.
0
Votes
amindofherown
22 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Wittsy | Reviewed this property |
Yes, 100 percent dogs are allowed. We go there 2-3 times a month for dinner and our dog comes with us every time. She particularly enjoys the dog treats on offer!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Godshill PO38 3HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Godshill
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 840707
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing