We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Palm Court at The Grand

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Leas | at The Grand, Folkestone CT20 2XL, England
+44 1303 222222
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 07:00 - 18:00
Mon - Thu 07:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 07:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 255: English reviews
Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was ok, all a bit tired and a bit boring. Shame because the views are stunning and the building is one of Folkestones loveliest. Money needs to be spent on areas of the building. I think even the staff would be happier then.

Helpful?
Thank SallieKent
Dover
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Good greeting and window table requested, ready for us. Tables had bottled water, leaflets, offers filling the tables. Moved by us to sit on radiator. Set lunch menu chosen. Starters served promptly. Main - Roast beef - one thick slice arrived already fully plated up with veg and dull roast potatoes. On reflection seeing other meals - wish we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on a Groupon voucher for high tea. Waitress was really sweet and friendly but that is the only good thing I can say about the experience. A meagre amount of sandwiches, dry scones and the cakes were just plain horrible. I would have been really upset if I had paid full price for this. I dont even think it... More 

Helpful?
Thank denles
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

To celebrate my birthday with my friends we visited the Grand for the afternoon tea on Saturday. What a great disappointment, especially as I was looking forward to visiting such a ‘grand’ building. We found the scones were dry and tasteless and the sandwiches boring. There was no garnish such as tomatoes or lettuce on the cake stand - one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn W
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this review

Dear Lyn W, I am very sorry that you felt your birthday celebration was a disappointment; I have re-visited these comments with our Head Chef, although I can assure you that everything that arrives on our high tea selection is made in-house and is certainly not brought in and I do not feel that the price per head is unfair... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Ok ... So how to make reviewing tea more fun (sorry - not for the benefit of folk that just want to know what the tea was like - but for my benefit - to make reviewing less dull. Occasionally!) For folk wanting to know whether to visit or not .... YES! It's a room with a view (better if... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel C
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this review

Dear Rachel C, Thank you for this charming review and I am glad you had a wonderful time. I will pass on these kind words to everybody here at The Grand and we look forward to your next visit in the near future. Kind Regards Robert Philpot Food and Beverage Manager More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I joined some elderly relatives for the 'Grand Pensioner's Lunch' with a 'live pianist'. I thought it was very disappointing. A choice of two starters, cabbage soup or pâté. I had the pâté, it wasn't very nice and sat on salad leaves that were going brown. The main course was roast turkey, beef or lamb. My main course reminded me... More 

Helpful?
Thank riverresident
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this review

Dear riverresident, I am sorry that our Pensioners lunch promotion which provided two courses and coffee for just £9.75 (which has now concluded) was not for you. I am surprised however to read your comments as the feedback on the day in question was uniformly positive from all other diners. In the interest of accuracy having looked back through the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Wonderful atmosphere great pianist which added perfectly to the ambience. Food was superb and a great waiter. Plenty of choice.

Helpful?
Thank 40trudi
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this review

Dear 40trudi, Thank you for your pleasant review, I am very happy you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Robert Philpot Food and Beverage Manager More 

Dymchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We have just had a wonderful tea at the Palm Court and can't thank Rita enough for her kind and attentive service - thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon P
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this review

Dear Brandon P, Thank you for this charming review and for your kind words for our ever popular Rita, I will be sure to pass them on and my team and I hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Robert Philpot Food and Beverage Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

Went early evening with my wife. Had a drink beforehand downstairs in the Keppels Bar which is also excellent. My wife has a temporary mobility problem and when we were ready to go up to the restaurant the Head Waiter came down and escorted us up in a private lift; that's what I call service! Because we were very early... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this review

Dear Michael D Thank you for this lovely review, I am very happy you enjoyed your time here with us and got to sample the wonderful ambiance of our Palm Court restaurant; I will pass on your kind words to the team and our Head Chef. We look forward to your return. Kind Regards Robert Philpot Food and Beverage Manager More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

Popped in for a coffee which wasn't too bad. Service was ok. Nothing to get excited about, it was only a coffee.

Helpful?
Thank N B
Robert_GrandManager, General Manager at The Palm Court at The Grand, responded to this review

Dear N B Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Robert Philpot Food and Beverage Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Palm Court at The Grand also viewed

 

Been to The Palm Court at The Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 18:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:00
Saturday
07:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Leas | at The Grand, Folkestone CT20 2XL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Folkestone
  • Phone Number: +44 1303 222222

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Palm Court at The Grand and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Folkestone, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Palm Court at The Grand staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?