We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
226
40
21
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
226
40
21
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones ginger cake cream and jam toasted sandwich national trust lovely garden porlock weir friendly welcome home made bossington rooms path cottage nt somerset exmoor dog
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 October 2020

I enjoyed a warming pastie and cup of tea in the pouring rain towards the end of my Minehead - Porlock Weir leg of the SW Coastal Path. Really friendly service. I do hope to return in sunnier weather to try some of the cakes...which looked delicious!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

We only had a cup of tea here which was OK although I have definitely had tea with more flavour, my purpose in writing this review is because of my serious concerns over Covid precautions. On arrival everything is fine, I was really bemused to...see another customer cleaning the chairs and tables before he left; there was an A4 piece of paper taped to the table, I saw it mentioned sticking to government guidelines etc. However not until we were nearly ready to leave did I read the last part, please would customers use the the sanitiser to clean the tables and chairs. A side table had bowls for customers to put their used crockery, on this table was a bundle of cleaning cloths and a couple of bottles of sanitising spray a single hand sanitiser and dozens of wasps, not very enticing. I reluctantly used all of these. I really think this is a very unsatisfactory way of ensuring proper cleaning. As a new customer how does one know the table has been cleaned adequately if at all? Multiple people are handling cloths and spray all day. We visited a NT tearoom earlier in the day their set up was absolutely superb, staff cleaning tables between each customer. I seriously believe this set up needs reviewing.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?5  
Reviewed 8 September 2020

We had amazing food in the lovely garden of the tearoom on 4th September. It was beautiful and the service was good. We would love to visit again. The Coopers.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 September 2020

We had very high expectations for our visit to Kitnors, as it came highly recommended. We did visit towards the end of the day on a busy bank holiday weekend, for ice cream only (as a precursor to a subsequent cream tea visit). We chose...not to visit a second time; the ambience was poor; Covid precautions very invasive; and garden is looking a little too overgrown.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
kitno, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2020

Hi and thanks for you feedback. With the Covid precautions, you say invasive, someone else say we aren't doing enough... we are meeting the govt requirements and doing what we can to keep everyone safe and avoid any cross contamination. And you didn't like the...More

Reviewed 31 August 2020

In a delightful setting, this tearoom offered a friendly welcome, well-spaced tables in a lovely garden with plenty of shade on a sunny day, and tea with a good choice of delicious cakes. Minor gripe- why do tea rooms, particularly this one, close so early?...Our main concern though, was that they still expect all customers to clear their own tables and wipe them with a well-used cloth, while in every other tearoom we have visited, the clearing and wiping is done by staff, so that the cloth is not handled by lots of people and the quality of the cleaning can be checked by the owner.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?5  
Reviewed 30 August 2020

I called in after seeing establishment in the Eat Out to help out gov U.K. I did not notice at the time but my bank statement shows full payment on the 17th of this month. Did not notice it at the time so did not...query The food was good. Just a little concerned about having to clean up our own tables. Not sure everyone has been COVID trained and must be a risk of cross infectionMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 16 August 2020

This place has really thought about it’s safe COVID operating procedure and operates it effectively while retaining friendly professional service. We ate in the garden. Good spacing of customers, separate entry and exit, separation of staff and customers (orders that take time to cook are...brought to a collection table. Staff one side customers the other) hand sanitisers and wipes available. The staff were friendly and the food was deliciousMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 August 2020

I visited Kitnors last week when I walking in The National Trust Bossington Estate and came across this quaint and pretty typical English tearoom with a sweet garden and even sweeter food, I had a sublime coffee and homemade scone with jam and cream, so...perfect in every way. I noted they also cater very well to all sorts of dietary requirements. I really could not fault this lovely place, everyone was so friendly, the sun was shining and all was well.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 August 2020

I visit Kitnors regularly , it is a lovely little treat to sit in the garden with my dog and have probably the best coffee in Somerset , Tony is passionate and knowledgeable about coffee and takes great pride in what he provides and rightly...so, Kitnors is a fabulous local tea room and their cream teas are outstanding, portions are more than generous and service is always efficient and friendly. Kitnors is a great asset to Bossington and I am only saddened to see the slew of recent horrible reviews all of which just cannot possibly be true , I cannot imagine what a bore it must be to deal with this type of customer. Keep up the good work Kitnors.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 August 2020

We visited the other day and I have literally joined tripadvisor to post a review to create some fairness. A customer went absolutely mental at a young girl because his plastic chair broke. It broke because he sat down on it so hard a back...leg bent under the force. I said to my partner that's going to be a negative tripadvisor review, so it was no suprise when I came on here to see not one but 2 by the same guy. The people working there did apologise at the time, and made him another drink, They have apologised on here as well, so it's all coming across as being a littel vindictive now. I can also see people on here moaning about the amount of cream they got with there Scone Jam and Cream. That wasn't the case for us, we had plenty and had some left over. We did have a one scone cream tea, and you could add scones, jam, cream, etc as seperate items. If you order the extra scone you wont get extra cream or jam just like you wont get extra fries if you just order an extra burger. I cant see why that is difficult to grasp, but I suppose people want something for nothing, and when they don't get it...TAKE TO THE INTERNET.... We love coming here, the food is awesome, it's a lovely place and we'll keep coming back. Thank you Kitnors we appreciate your hard work even though other people have different expectations.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
kitno, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2020

Thank you for a lovely review, it is nice to receive something positive in a time when it seems our hard work and effort is not really being appreciated. As much as we love lovely comments. The negative ones all have their place. And in...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Oaks Hotel
33 reviews
1.50 km away
Lorna Doone Hotel
276 reviews
1.60 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
406 reviews
5.91 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
319 reviews
7.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Restaurant at Cross Lane House
83 reviews
1.31 km away
Piggy In The Middle
406 reviews
1.58 km away
The Royal Oak
436 reviews
1.60 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Exmoor Experience
145 reviews
.34 km away
Allerford Museum
24 reviews
1.17 km away
South West Coast Path - Bossington Landscape
67 reviews
.88 km away
Discovery Safaris
40 reviews
1.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mutley3
19 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Zincbod | Reviewed this property |
More dog friendly than person friendly as they will send you over the road and 30m away to use the dirty public toilet !
3
Votes
Dom L
18 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from kitno | Property representative |
Hello, our December opening times are 10.30am to 4pm everyday except Wednesday's, Thursday's and Christmas Day when we are closed. Many thanks
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kitnors Tea Room

  • Kitnors Tea Room is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 5