We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Quay Inn - where everyone is most welcome.We delight in offering the best, locally sourced, quality, foods and real ales at reasonable prices. The menu changes with the seasons.We also LOVE MUSIC! Quay Roots at the Quay Inn, frequently presents local, national and international music acts. The next event will present Cam Penner and Jon Wood from Canada, on Halloween night. We also host regular acoustic and plugged open music sessions, and the next one of these will on Sunday afternoon, 6th October, at 2:30pm.The Quay also provides an extensive coffee and tea menu and fantastic selection of naughty yummies (cakes, desserts) that can be enjoyed all day. We welcome dogs and well behaved owners,
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Bar, British, Pub
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pudding fish and chips beer garden sunday lunch otter ale sea front home made lovely food pub collette dog roast holiday rooms butlins
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The wife & I called into this pub after visiting a pub up the road who didn't have the real ale they were advertising on their website. There were a couple of real ales on tap, we chose the Otter beer which was really nice,...we also met some really nice people here & after a while this pub felt like our local. We would also like to mention the landlady, Colette, who was really friendly with everyone and was very professional in the way she encouraged everyone to adhere to the Covid rules. Would we visit this pub again? Absolutely!!More

Date of visit: June 2021
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much Regards Collette

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here last month on a visit to see family. Had high expectations and was absolutely disgusted at the service I received! The hosts were rude beyond belief, the breakfast I would not have served to my dogs.along with this the rooms were filled with...hair and dust with the bathrooms not fairing any better! If you are looking fit a good quality bed and breakfast for the price I would strongly advice all: DO NOT STAY HERE SHOCKINGMore

Date of visit: May 2021
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I don't remember any complaints at the time sorry you didn't enjoy you stay but this is not typical. If the room was as you say I'm sure you would have said something. Still I wish you the best for the future Regards Collette

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a meal for a family of 6, nice gentleman managed to squeeze us in. Turned up and walked in, the first thing we noticed was the stench of cigarettes, we then walked to the bar only to be shouted at by this vile woman...to get away from the bar and sit down. We informed her that we'd booked a table for 6 and arrived early as requested, again to be shouted at I'll get to you when I want and pointed at a corner of the room. My dad was then walking past and got shouted at for looking at the beers. At this point I'd had enough and called the woman out for being rude, only for her to take her mask down and scream at me for not having a mask on, despite having just taken it off to sit down. I asked her did she want our business or not and was told to get out and she stormed off. First thing I see when coming to leave a review was other people being treated similar. The food may receive good reviews but I'll never know and unless you want to be treated like dirt to get it I would advise giving this place a wide birth.More

Date of visit: May 2021
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The only person shouting was you, you were beyond rude and blatantly refused to follow the rules to keep us all as safe as we can be at this difficult time. We are only following the rules which state you must be seated. Just to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a trip for a long weekend to Minehead and as it was half term we expected to struggle to find dining options. My wife found The Quay Inn online with loads of availability so we phoned through to book a table for 3...for a light lunch. Upon our arrival we weren't geeted with the warmest of welcomes and abrubtly directed through to our reserved table. The landlady took our drinks order, my son wanted a Fanta so she bought a can of Fanta, the ring around the top was dark brown with dirt!! I asked for a clean one and she returned with one only half as dirty as the last, an improvement at least, I had to ask for some napkins so that I could make it somewhat acceptable. She didn't even seem bothered that she'd delivered 2 dirty drinks cans to our table, what are the kitchen conditions like !? She came to take our order and when we asked for a Tuna Mayo Sandwich, Steak & Ale Pie and a Sunday Roast she said as it was Sunday they were only selling Roasts, she was very adamant that it says this on the website and sounded like everyone should already know. We phoned to book the table so why didn't she mention it to us as we wouldve booked elsewhere, not all of our party wanted this so she offered the drinks bill for us to leave. We then felt very uncomfortable and felt we had to rush our drinks and leave. The landlady approached us on the way out to try to say again that there's only roasts on a Sunday but by that time I'd had enough of her short retorts and cold attitude. We didn't see the accommodation but I can't believe this won a televised B&B show as she would surely be marked down on her hosting unless she upped her game just for the show? I don't expect this review to do anything because reading all the other negative reviews she always has an answer and they are never in the wrong. I'm all for supporting small local business if they deserve it, unfortunately we won't be retuning which I'm sure won't bother the landlady. Stay Safe everyone.More

Date of visit: May 2021
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Of all the reviews I have ever received this is the only one that leaves at a loss. I apologised for the misunderstanding and if you thought that was rude I'm completely at a loss. I never said it was on the website because I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here and was welcomed in. Friendly staff and the food was excellent. Highly recommended. Reasonably priced. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: May 2021
TheQuayInn, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive comments

Reviewed 31 October 2020

We had a very nice Sunday lunch here. Really tasty meal, only slight downside was the meat was a bit chewy but not enough to spoil anything!

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 25 October 2020

My wife and I had booked in for three nights at Pebbles self catering cottage two doors from the pub, so we booked Sunday lunch in advance. Really delicious roasts with all the trimmings. I was disappointed at first the crumble for dessert had sold...out. So we both had bread and butter pudding instead. They were fantastic! Great food, nice staff, good value.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 20 October 2020 via mobile

Wanted somewhere to stay before encountering butlins with the grandkids , this place looked ideal and on the front by the quayside . We got a friendly welcome , and although the room wasnt ready we was able to park up and go for a...wander along the front . The room was comfortable with a nice sea view , was given plenty of coffee and milk , more was available on request , Breakfast was plentiful and if you wanted extra or more juice or coffee only had to ask , my partner and ifound all staff very friendly . We had dinner twice and the food was faultless . And signage was clear as to which wsy to enter and exit , would stay here again .More

Date of visit: August 2020
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

It's been a fair few years since we had eaten in the quey and if I remember rightly it was very limited back then. Now it's well presented good use of covid protacals and a fairly extensive menu for a mid week meal. Exmoor gold...and otter ale were our choices of ale, we had a lasagne and a pie of the moment which was chicken and choiritso. The lasagne was home made as was the pie, would prefer a full pastry pie rather than than just a puff pastry lid but give the chef his due it was tasty. 4 nights 4 good meals can't complain over that ExmoorMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

The Landlady is great! The Quay seems to be a good community pub, but after all we were visitors. After popping in for drinks a number of times, we eventually managed to book a slot for dinner; no wonder on other nights, there was no...room at the Inn! If you have a good appetite this is the place to be. Great quality and quantity. But be sure to book!More

Date of visit: October 2020
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Channel House Hotel
52 reviews
.13 km away
Northfield Hotel
860 reviews
.14 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
320 reviews
.35 km away
Kildare Lodge
42 reviews
.93 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wheelhouse Restaurant
699 reviews
.40 km away
The Old Ship Aground
1,635 reviews
.39 km away
Apple Tree Tea Rooms
712 reviews
.40 km away
283 reviews
.47 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
West Somerset Railway
2,566 reviews
.53 km away
South West Coast Path - Culver Cliff Woodland Walk
96 reviews
.51 km away
Blenheim Gardens
106 reviews
.18 km away
Minehead Museum
49 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
16 September 2020|
Response from TheQuayInn | Property representative |
No it isn't, why?
Rob C
20 December 2019|
Response from Rob C |
No sorry
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Quay Inn

The Quay Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4