We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vineyard at Stockcross

The Vineyard at Stockcross | Stockross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
+44 1635 898333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (41 reviews)
“petit fours” (12 reviews)
“scones” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€€€
DETAILS
The Vineyard at Stockcross | Stockross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 516 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A beautiful spa, lovely facilities and super suites. Decorated beautifully with high end accessories in the room too. The pool is lovely, gardens with comfortable sun loungers. Attentive staff for your every need making it extra special. The only thing that let it down was...More

Thank Fiona H
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Vineyard for lunch today and had the Spring menu which unusually was the same as on their web site. Included in the £39.00 offer was three courses, a welcoming glass of Champagne, 2 glasses of wine,tea or coffee and petite fours. The...More

Thank Joe S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not been to the Vineyard for a few years now and it was such a treat to be back. We were welcomed outside and well and truly spoilt throughout Sunday lunch. The food was divine and portions generous, the service friendly and unhurried. Faultless. Big...More

Thank LKW1961
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard at Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for sharing your recent experience at The Vineyard, I am delighted you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. I am thrilled we could share our passion for fine wine and fabulous food during your recent visit and look...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food is not only wonderful to taste, but is also beautiful to look at. The staff are very knowledgeable about the menu choices.

Thank Holidaysrus09
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard at Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about our restaurant, I am delighted that you joined The Vineyard and had a fabulous experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A taste experience that will tantalise the taste buds. This is a restaurant where you can really treat yourself, treat a loved one or impress work colleagues. Excellent service, timely and informative. One of my favourite places to eat.More

Thank Sunny D
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard at Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for sharing your recent experience with us, I am delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at The Vineyard. I am thrilled that during your recent visit we could share our passion for fine wine and fabulous...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was full of flavour and innovative. No sign of really considering Gluten free. I have eaten here now 5 times - I think a lot of major restaurants have realised that you now need a respectable portion size as well as good ingredients and...More

1  Thank shamus33
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We are here today 19/04/2018 the lunch indeed was superbe The service was excellent and the ambiance Is enchanting The finest risotto I have ever tasted this Resturant does not have a Michelin but in opinion it should have two I have had lunch and...More

1  Thank Zul k
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Last time we went the hot tub did not work, the pool did not work so that left not much else, the food is served in a partitioned box that seems it is just microwaved and for the money it is not worth it

2  Thank Dave3872
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Decided to go for a birthday lunch, and had the set menu. We'd booked ahead but the booking had never arrived - but there was no problem and we settled down to enjoy a really good lunch, The set menu is really good value and...More

Thank bean10
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This restaurant has a great reputation but if our meal was indicative of their usual fare - don't go there! My chicken leg was inedible and my husband's cod overwhelmed by bitter grapefruit sauce. The place itself is beautiful, the staff professional and helpful so...More

1  Thank billyandbessie2
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Woodspeen
884 reviews
.93 km away
Hare & Hounds
208 reviews
1.47 km away
Watermill Theatre Restaurant
38 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Donnington Castle
248 reviews
2.08 km away
Snelsmore Common Country Park
67 reviews
2.65 km away
Shaw House
76 reviews
3.40 km away
West Berkshire Museum
53 reviews
3.37 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
LindasScotland
How much is the 5 course tasting menu with matching wines - I do not see it listed unfortunately. Also If I were to book this with my husband & son, is it a problem to cater for me as I cannot eat any fish / seafood. Do you have a sample tasting menu Also how far from Newbury are you located? Many thanks in advance for your time. Regards
4 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Marwan H | Property representative |
Good afternoon Lindas Scotland! Our five course tasting menu is £79 and if you would like to have our Discovery wines to accompany it that would be £134 per person. At the moment the menu is: Loch Duart salmon, cucumber... More
1
Vote
fredgrice
My daughter and her boyfriend (Jamie and Josh) are currently staying with you and they are having such a good time and sending back rave reviews about all aspects of your hotel so we would like to book for next September 2015 can we book directly with you ?
16 January 2015|
Answer
Response from Marwan H | Property representative |
That's fantastic news! You certainly can book directly with us in September. Please contact our reservations team on 01635 528770 who will be happy to assist with your booking. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$46 - US$158
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Vineyard at Stockcross | Stockross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 898333
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to The Vineyard, aka ‘food heaven’ for those in the knowChoose from our new 18 dish menu that changes regularly and have fun creating your own tasting menu and selecting wines. Or choose the 5 or 7 course tasting menu with wines matched by our wine coaches.Our French chef, Daniel Galmiche regularly appears on Saturday Kitchen and draws upon his unique experience and passion to share his love of food and authentic French/Mediterranean cooking. In addition, many seasonal dishes are locally sourced from sustainable stocks - a triumphant blending of Old World taste and New World values you might say.Whether you're here on a romantic weekend, celebrating an anniversary, enjoying a family reunion or just getting together over a light supper and a few glasses of delicious wine, you're guaranteed to enjoy a very special gastronomic experience at The Vineyard, Berkshire