We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crown Tavern

Certificate of Excellence
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8 Scalby Road, Scarborough YO12 5QB, England
+44 1723 378204
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The Crown is on the outskirts of Scarborough with good access to all major roads good parking and is accessible to the disabled with wide doors and toilet (one if the few) its got a very good sun catching beer garden which is a lovely spot to sit with a cool glass beer/lager etc, dogs (under control)are allowed in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This visit was rubbish food poor standard staff unfriendly and couldn't be bothered first time i visited brilliant service etc new manager and hey now rubbish poor food poor service and staff dont care wont go back my sister and partner visited 2 weeks ago and said worse meal they have had so checked for myself and i agree

Helpful?
Thank Carol N
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Carol, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us nor were we up to our usual standards. Please if you wouldn't mind sending me some further details of your visit to vmleisureltd@outlook.com so I can investigate this issue further. Many Thanks Victoria More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visit the crown tavern regularly with family & friends. The food is lovely and the service is great. If you want a quiet meal there is an area at one side of the pub which is more suitable for family's with children & if your wanting drinks with friends the other side of the pub is more appropriate with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am very glad to hear you enjoy visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks Victoria More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting Scarborough for a few days and a friend told us to try here for a meal. We called in on Monday 8th April. We decided to have a drink and see what it was like before deciding if we would eat. It had a really friendly atmosphere so we decided to order. Menu was quite varied. Food arrived in... More 

Helpful?
Thank valerina45
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your kind words, it is great to hear we are meeting our customers expectations. I hope you had a lovely time visiting Scarborough and hope to see you again in the future. Many Thanks Victoria More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very dry, poorly cooked food for a lot of money paid did not enjoy it at all!! Out of 5 the only meal enjoyed was the kids meal!!no thankyou! Never again

Helpful?
2 Thank Keisha D
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Keisha, Please can you provide me with some further details of your visit so I can look into this matter. Email address vmleisureltd@outlook.com More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family go to the crown as it's our local it has always been very nice and nice food but not anymore was in on the 1 April took ages to get served hardly any staff very rude girl waiting on it was awful hope they get more staff and get it back to how it was

Helpful?
1 Thank dishwasher999
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Hi, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. Could you please email me at vmleisureltd@outlook.com with further details of your visit so I can investigate please. I hope to hear from you soon. Best Regards, Victoria More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I took my wife tonight for tea and all we were expecting was a plate each of edible food. I ordered the drinks and food... after half an hour ordered more drinks and waited for the plates of food to arrive, mine came shortly after and started to share with my wife because we were hungry.. half way threw eating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Stuart, I am terribly sorry you were not satisfied with your visit or in the way in which your issue was dealt with. I assure you this is not to our usual standard and we always endeavour to make sure our customers have an enjoyable experience with us. I would very much appreciate if you would email me... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Always been happy with the pub food here . But last night not so good rump steak had a lot of grizel. Asked for some mushrooms only 1 in asked for black bean sause tasteless so after all not so good

Helpful?
Thank Ron G
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Ron, Thank you for taking the time to inform us of experience with us. Whether negative or positive we always welcome feedback especially from our loyal customers like yourself. It is with the help feedback like yours in which we can only improve and also be made aware of any issues. Firstly I would like to apologise for... More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Great value food that's well presented and hot. Brilliant lunch meal and drink deals, together with daily evening deals. Relaxing atmosphere with beer garden and ample parking. Recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank cowtond
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes Victoria More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

I'm absolutely disgusted. Me and my husband came in for a nice meal to actually wait an hour for our two curries for them to come out and mine wasn't steaming hot,i could put my finger in my food and not burn myself, we complained that it wasn't hot enough so the waitress took it away and said she will... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank titchy89
VictoriaCooke4692, Owner at Crown Tavern, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, although you did not have a pleasant experience, it is with this feedback that we can only improve. The Crown has recently in February become under new management and we are doing all we can ensure that our customers have an enjoyable time and leave happy. I would... More 

Travellers who viewed Crown Tavern also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Crown Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Scalby Road, Scarborough YO12 5QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 378204

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Crown Tavern and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crown Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?