We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OakWheel Pub

) #129 of 279 Restaurants in Scarborough €€ - €€€ , British,
17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
+44 1723 870230
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak pie” (12 reviews)
“potatoes” (9 reviews)
“liver” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We are a family of five - three adults and two young granddaughters - on holiday for a week in Scarborough. We called at the Oak Wheel Pub for the simple reason that we couldn't get a parking space at the Three Jolly Sailors just...More

Thank EddieSinatra
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here by chance on a trip through Yorkshire not having fancied anything in Scarborough. Although the room was basic it had all the essentials. The food in the restaurant for both the evening meal and breakfast was excellent. The service and management were second...More

Thank stevepF87FT
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear User StevepF87FT I would like to take this time to thank you for your comment on your meal and stay with us at The Oak Wheel We take proud in our service and food so the comment will be passed onto our staff We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in on our road trip out to the coast didn't fancy fish and. Chips in Scarborough What a lovely pub! Friendly staff and spotless surroundings very traditional and welcoming. The four of us had different dishes Beef Stroganoff with rice was tender and tasty...More

Thank Vampireslayer666
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Vampireslayer666, Thank you for your kind comment that you have left, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal and time with us at The Oak Wheel. We hope that you would join us again when passing Kind Regards Mr S Hull Owner

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Together with our friends we decided to take a look at the Oakwheel after it was recommended by several other friends. Upon arrival we were greeted by attentive and pleasant staff . The ambience of the place was lovely and spotlessly clean. We were not...More

Thank terrortime
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Terrortime Thank you for taking the time to place this nice comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your meal and time with us a The Oak Wheel. We look forward to welcoming you again Kind Regards Mr S Hull Owner The Oak Wheel

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Wholesome, home cooked style food, good, man sized portions - filling and very tasty. Haven't been here for a couple of years, my neighbours wanted to try somewhere new - they were not disappointed For me it was just as I remember it. Friendly helpful...More

Thank Kenneth R
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Kenneth R I would like to take this time to thank you for your comments with your visit to The Oak Wheel. We take proud in our service and food, We are glad you enjoyed your return and would look forward to welcoming you...More

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Staff where nice but sadly the quality of the food as gone downhill it was ok but just ok will not be returningMore

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear User with no name! I am disappointed that you couldn't bring this to our attention if you thought there was something wrong when you were with us, I would like to say that we buy all fresh and local ingredients, from the food to...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We went to the Oakwheel restaurant Saturday 17 June for a family meal there were 8 of us 5 adults and 3 children we all had something different. The food was excellent the service also was excellent. We were so impressed we have booked to...More

Thank vonny518
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Vonny518 I would like to take this time to thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your family meal with use and enjoyed the food and service as we take pride in all of this We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017

We called here after a gap of approximately 6 months because it used to be a regular favourite. What a difference. Only 4 people were eating at 7.30 on a Thursday evening. The place lacked atmosphere but the young lady behind the bar was friendly...More

1  Thank Heinrich N
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Heinrich N Thank for your comment, we are glad that you have returned and hoped you would call back again. Sorry for your disappointment that there was not many people in the pub on the evening you where eating with us, as this was...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017

Just returned from a meal at the pub with four others. All had starters and main courses which were just satisfactory apart from my Oakwheel Signature burger which was inedible. It clearly was a poor quality burger which was like rubber, it had been sliced...More

Thank Richard H
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Richard H, Please accept our apologies with regards you burger you had with us, but glad most of your party enjoyed there meal. Apologies that we didn't come out of the kitchen to speak to you, but we had other orders on to cook...More

Reviewed 26 May 2017

We called at The Oak Wheel for our evening meal. The car park had only 2 other cars parked outside and this is what prompted us to call in, as the other local pub had a full car park. The staff in the Oak Wheel...More

Thank Mingandchang
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Mingandchang We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy you meal with us and bring this to our view when you where with us, we take pride in all our services and food, that is all cooked fresh daily. I don't understand how the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Three Jolly Sailors
598 reviews
.14 km away
The Barn Cafe Bistro
246 reviews
.15 km away
Coast Gallery & Tea Room
59 reviews
1.14 km away
The Blacksmiths Arms Inn
94 reviews
1.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blacksmith Arms Cloughton
25 reviews
1.68 km away
Peasholm Park
3,726 reviews
4.05 km away
North Bay Railway
811 reviews
3.02 km away
Freddie Gilroy and the Belsen Stragglers
137 reviews
4.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from OakWheel Pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$26
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 870230
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional Family run Inn situated in the village of Burniston, 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby, Offering a well stocked bar with real ales, Homecooked Meals with special Boards, Open log Fire, Garden Seating, Undercover Smoking area, 5 En-suite bedrooms (bed and Breakfast),Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing