We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant

Peak Hill Road | Connaught Gardens, Sidmouth EX10 8RZ, England
+44 1395 515319
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (156 reviews)
“scones” (47 reviews)
Closed Now
Cafe, British, Healthy, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
Peak Hill Road | Connaught Gardens, Sidmouth EX10 8RZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 696 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Thank you for lovely evening. Attentive and friendly staff. Lovely food, well presented. Restaurant looks fantastic after the refurbishment. Slightly rushed between courses, where we would have liked to savour the atmosphere, and taken more time. See you again soon I hope.

Thank frankandjo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As locals we were excited to see the new refurb, it is lovely however, we had nothing short of an awful experience. 6 adults and a baby are not hard to cater for. There was no high chair (only 1 in the restaurant, but it...More

9  Thank Hannah B
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We're really sorry that your visit wasn't as successful was we would all have liked. After our recent refurbishment our systems are indeed new and we have had an odd teething problem with them. Sadly part of your order was missed in the transition from...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have visited the Clock Tower for so many years that class myself as a regular - was always a must, and more than once on each visit. But no more. Could book a table upstairs and enjoy the views or sit downstairs in the conservatory...More

9  Thank Holidaymaker050
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are an incredibly friendly and professional establishment. We are every bit as good as we have always been, only better, and in a fabulous new environment. After a complete re-refurbishment, a great deal of money and 28 years here in business, since re-opening at...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used to be a regular customer but not any more. It’s a shame because I have many good memories of the place. It used to be friendly and welcoming with great home-made food. I felt I have to write a negative review because I...More

9  Thank Julia S
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We're sorry if you feel to have received mixed information, since re-opening all our staff are more than aware that dogs are no longer welcome inside. We have also have signs up on the doors, and within the menu box on the outside wall, clearing...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I moved to Sidmouth three years ago, and having visited the clock tower on a few occasions during the day, we were delighted to hear they were going to do a re-furbishment and open for dinner in the evenings. We went last...More

1  Thank Jacqui S
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review, and best wishes, and yes of course we'd be thrilled to have you all back again this weekend. It is a huge learning curve for us so we are grateful for feedback, in any form. Music and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clock tower used to be a firm favourite for us and up until today we have actively promoted our guests to visit when staying at our holiday cottage. It gives me no pleasure whatsoever to have to remove this recommendation from our welcome pack. The...More

4  Thank Richard L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

In the past we have enjoyed tea and coffee at the clock tower cafe. However since the refurbishment it is now not dog friendly in the conservatory. With no tables outside this establishment has lost my custom. I went to Mocha cafe on the sea...More

5  Thank Norman P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautifully re-decorated restaurant now open Thurs.-Sun. evenings. Welcoming with excellent food & presentation if you like fine dining. Not suitable for children, but something special for an occasion. The Belgian Chef appears after the meal & is pleased to answer any questions about the food....More

2  Thank Janet A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited the clock tower cafe on many occasions, most to recently opened restaurant which we had looked forward to the opening of. I can say we where not disappointed! We were made to feel very welcome on our arrival, the food was delightful,...More

4  Thank Kyra-Bennett1
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely and positive response. We are thrilled that someone has put pen to paper and noted that what we have done is nothing short of a small miracle given the time restraints, and that of a listed building. It...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always liked this restaurant, however, upon visiting recently we saw a new 'no dog' policy on the door. Whilst this is disappointing to us, we understand the reasoning behind it and the decision is firmly with the owner. However, the real snag was the disappearance...More

4  Thank MarkLindon231x
TheClockTower, Owner at The Clock Tower Cakery & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Our tables and chairs are merely in storage for the winter months, and whilst we went through our recent refurbishment; they will all be back in place very soon! Meanwhile there are many, many benches dotted around the park and along the cliff tops. They...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
977 reviews
.17 km away
Victoria Hotel
1,053 reviews
.28 km away
Royal Glen Hotel
142 reviews
.31 km away
The Belmont Hotel
605 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Taste of Sidmouth
472 reviews
.73 km away
Fields of Sidmouth Coffee Shop
300 reviews
.70 km away
The Dairy Shop
170 reviews
.68 km away
The Loft
366 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Byes Riverside Park
126 reviews
1.02 km away
Connaught Gardens
696 reviews
.12 km away
Jacobs Ladder Beach
255 reviews
.24 km away
Sidmouth - Valley, Ridge and Jurassic Coast walk
84 reviews
.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheClockTower | Property representative |
Thank you from all the staff at the Clock Tower. We worked so hard to achieve our amazing results, it's nice to be recognised.
12 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elaine S | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Sorry just got your question which is probably to late now. Yes, there is a car park on manor road just opposite the clock tower restaurant. A few minutes walk away.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Private Dining, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
09:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 20:30
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
09:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 20:30
09:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 20:30
09:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Peak Hill Road | Connaught Gardens, Sidmouth EX10 8RZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Sidmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1395 515319
  • E-mail
The Clock Tower cafe & restaurant stands in an unrivalled position within the award winning Connaught Gardens, Sidmouth on the stunning Jurassic south coast of East Devon. 28 years on from humble beginnings the Clock Tower has remained a family-owned business, we are very proud of our excellent reputation for quality service and delicious, freshly prepared food.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing