We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chieftain

€€ - €€€, British,
Cole Green Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 3JF, England
+44 1707 332193
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good44%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (15 reviews)
“pudding” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cole Green Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 3JF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 179 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Menu as to be expected. Meals ordered and delivered quickly. Good quality for buy one get one free. Staff polite and friendly.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jennie M, General Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for taking your time to review us, we work extremely hard to ensure all our customers enjoy there visits to the chieftain, i will pass your kind comments onto our hardworking team and we look forward to seeing you again very soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Consistently good value and very considerate management and staff. The steaks they make the best of but dishes like the Hunters Chicken exceptional in content and presentation. The Paddock Shiraz really nice accompaniment

Thank John H
Jennie M, General Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi john h Thanks for your very kind review and we appreciate you taking your time to review us We look forward to seeing you again very soon I will pass your kind comments onto my very hard working team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a spontaneous family Sunday dinner here. We were given a choice of tables and the service was very quick. Food was great and my son loved his extravagant pudding. On top of this it was all two for one so from our family...More

Thank Sarah H
Jennie M, General Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor my staff work extremely hard to ensure all our customers enjoy there visits to the chieftain, I will pass your kind comments onto our hardworking team and we look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Poor quality food not fresh frozen meals may aswel buy a microwave meal for your self. Would not reccomend. Go somewhere else. Yeah is cheap but not worth it.More

Thank lola12234564
Jennie M, General Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lola I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your time at The chieftain and if you would like to discuss your visit further please do not hesitate to contact the manager Dave at the pub and he will be more than happy to discuss...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Ate here on a Saturday night as wanted to see a local band and there was 8 of us. All dishes came out together and hot and we were pleasantly surprised at the quality. Will definitely visit again.

Thank Gregor M
Jennie M, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

thank you for taking the time to write this review look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 25 August 2017

Food good and value for money, quick service, will definitely go back when next in the area, gets very busy in the early evening.More

Thank Vicron
Jennie M, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

thank you Vicron for taking your time to review us , that means a lot to us and our hard working team, we have tried extremely hard to keep the chieftain a relaxing places for everyone to visit whether it be a large party for...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Took friends for lunch and what great value the Chieftain provides. All starters and main courses were cooked to perfection and served in an efficient and timely manner. Very friendly servers and staff who were exceptionally attentive. This has got to be the best value...More

Thank Holi-Ray
Jennie M, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

thanks you Holi-ray love what you did with the pub name and thank you for taking your time to review us, we work extremely hard to ensure all our customers enjoy there visits to the chieftcan, I will pass your kind comments onto our hardworking...More

Reviewed 17 June 2017

Comfortable surroundings. Efficient friendly staff. Generous portions nicely presented. Not fine dining, but fantastic value especially for the 2 for the price of 1 items.More

Thank Rochelle3324
David H, Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

hi Rochelle thank you for taking your time to review us, we work extremely hard to ensure all our customers enjoy there visits to the chieftain, i will pass your kind comments onto our hardworking team and we look forward to seeing you again very...More

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Staying in a local hotel whose kitchen wasn't open we needed to get some grub before going to a party. Place was recommended by the hotel staff so if we went. Looks ok from the outside, typical modern pub grub place. After seeing loads of...More

Thank NikP61
David H, General Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

hi NikP61 thank you for taking your time to review us, we work extremely hard to ensure all our customers enjoy there visits to the chieftain, I will pass your kind comments onto our hardworking team and we look forward to seeing you again very...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Cosy, dog friendly pub. Nice beer garden. The food was also very good and filling portions. Depending on the time of year can be quite busy and regularly have deals on their food such as main and drink for £10. Being within walking distance from...More

Thank Maria N
Jennie M, General Manager at Chieftain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Maria N Thanks for your very kind review and we appreciate you taking your time to review us We look forward to seeing you again very soon I will pass your kind comments onto my very hard working team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Don
389 reviews
.28 km away
Peri Jerk
94 reviews
.17 km away
Coopers Grill House
61 reviews
.69 km away
The Neem Tree
345 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanborough Park
187 reviews
1.75 km away
Hatfield House
785 reviews
3.64 km away
Tulip Clinic
42 reviews
1.55 km away
The Galleria Outlet Shopping
204 reviews
3.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chieftain staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 11:00
Monday
11:00 - 11:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 11:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 11:00
Thursday
11:00 - 11:00
Friday
11:00 - 11:00
Saturday
11:00 - 11:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cole Green Lane, Welwyn Garden City AL7 3JF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1707 332193
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing