We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cowper Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
31 Station Road | Digswell, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0EA, England
+44 1438 714080
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (12 reviews)
“sunday roast” (20 reviews)
“caesar salad” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31 Station Road | Digswell, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 329 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went for a meal with friends tables and chairs a bit basic . However good service and great food . Plenty of choiceMore

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank KcTc1500
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the food and were well looked after. Thank you for your feedback regarding the furniture. We've had some alterations and renovations made to the pub recently so hopefully the furniture will be next. I...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This pub used to be great for us and our friends to catch and meet up but in recent months it’s lost it’s spark. The food and atmosphere used to be great and although not cheap was worth the visit to avoid cooking at home....More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Jackie T
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Jackie Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to see that you were left disappointed following your recent visit, especially when you have enjoyed the pub before. We have not changed any of the ingredients or methods for any of our recipes recently so...More

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Chips were cold, bread warm outside frozen inside, very very disappointing food, wish I had stayed at home, didn't stay for dessert.More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank nc4post
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Nicholas Thanks for visiting and for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion the food was not to your liking. We do not freeze our bread here, aside from a small amount of our gluten free bread...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018

The food here is generally okay but on this occasion the beef burger was really poor - the meat was tough and dry and lacking in flavour, most disappointing. Dessert was better as the vanilla ice cream was pretty good.More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Savvydiner64
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Thanks for visiting and for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed by the burger on your recent visit. All of our burgers are made and seasoned in house and the recipe has not changed recently so there...More

Reviewed 6 October 2018

We used to live literally around the corner but never noticed this pub until now. It is perhaps difficult to come across as it is located in the village of Digswell away from the town centres of Welwyn Garden City and Welwyn. We were the...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank tomizuta1953
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi Tom Thanks for visiting and for sharing your kind words. I will see that they are passed onto the whole team that looked after you. The chef's will be pleased to hear the kind words about the Goulash as it's their own recipe. And...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

I just fell in love with this place - it’s modern and spacious and clean and comfortable, the food was excellent,especially the scallops. The service was friendly and welcoming and I can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Hollybarn
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hi Thanks for visiting and for sharing your kind words. I'm really pleased to be your new favourite and glad you enjoyed the food and were well looked after. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Dan

Reviewed 28 August 2018

The food was good quality, I think the kitchen team have got it right. It was let down by the waiting staff that was just a bit rubbish. I had to go hunting for a steak knife myself, had beer spilt on my arm and...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank John W
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hi John Thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the food but sorry to hear that the service wasn't up to the same standard. We aim to always be attentive to the needs of our guests and I'm disappointed that you...More

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

We often pop in on a Sunday en famille, but managed an uninterrupted meal tonight without the kids! Everything was great. Food is great, service from the whole team is great and everything is clean and smart but comfy and relaxed at the same time!...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Roddyboy1
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi Thanks for visiting and for sharing your kind words. It's always pleasing to hear nice things from a customer who keeps coming back and I hope that we will see you again soon. Kind regards Dan

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Sunday lunch used to be good here. Today, over cooked chicken & pork with undercooked, non-crispy odd tasting potatoes. French waiter avoided dealing with our complaint, as he watched us settle our bill. Having eaten there many times over eighteen years, will not return.More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Samkerrydeacon
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Hi I fear this may have been a case of mistaken identity, as there is no French waiter currently at the Cowper Arms. I hope this is not us, as we strive to always offer the highest standards of food and service that we can....More

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Wow what a meal, amazing. Can’t believe we haven’t been here before. You will see my r view are based on value for money, plus service etc. This cowper arms is 5 out of 5. Please note, oddly; there are two “Cowper Arms” within a...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SaintmarkLondon
Dan V, Guest Relations Manager at Cowper Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Thanks for visiting and for sharing your kind words. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to the Cowper so much. It's nice to know that our homemade menu and specials are noticed and appreciated. I look forward to seeing you again soon...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Welwyn Garden City
The White Hart Hotel
97 reviews
1.64 km away
The Lodge Welwyn
2 reviews
1.66 km away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
652 reviews
2.39 km away
Travelodge Welwyn Garden City
55 reviews
2.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hakalok
195 reviews
1.09 km away
The White Horse
148 reviews
1.59 km away
Delhi Hut
27 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Welwyn Roman Baths
93 reviews
1.28 km away
Tulip Clinic
52 reviews
2.49 km away
Mardleybury Gallery
48 reviews
3.22 km away
No.7 Cooking Academy & Catering
51 reviews
1.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jan196150
30 August 2018|
Answer
Response from David S | Reviewed this property |
Phone them.
0
Votes
chrispI9613GF
8 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dan V | Property representative |
Hi Chris, We do indeed. It's lovely and cool in here this summer. Hope to see you soon Dan (Assistant Manager)
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Station Road | Digswell, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 714080
  • E-mail
Description
A friendly, welcoming pub in the heart of Digswell. Located right next to Welwyn North train station, offering a range of drinks including McMullen's ales and a selection of wines. And fresh homemade food from our new menu and ever changing specials list - (with roasts on Sundays).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing