We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brocket Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
Ayot ST, Welwyn Garden City AL6 9BT, England
+44 1438 820250
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ayot ST, Welwyn Garden City AL6 9BT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the pub over the past couple of months and found that the real ales are very disappointing. Used to be of a high standard but nowadays is more miss than hit.More

Thank Eddie C
TheBrocketArmsInn, Official Cellar Manageress at The Brocket Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Eddie! Really disappointed to read your review and am sorry that you have not enjoyed our ale selection in recent months. The wonderful thing about being a free house is that we welcome requests for guest ales. With six real ale pumps permanently available,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband & I recently celebrated our 60th birthdays here. We had a brilliant time & a sit down meal was arranged for family & friends that we invited. The food was delicious and a cake was arranged too. Several of our close family stayed...More

Thank norcam
TheBrocketArmsInn, The Whole Team at The Brocket Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So lovely to read such nice feedback, it was an absolute pleasure to host your party! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent three days staying at The Brocket Arms during a working visit from aAustralia. We ate every meal at the pub - and loved the food and presentation. This is a wonderful old pub and the food certainly complements the accommodation, atmosphere and friendly,...More

Thank MemorableDestination
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

My husband Andrew and I stayed at The Brocket for two nights and quite frankly we wish it was more. A stunningly beautiful ancient Inn totally unspoiled, owners have kept the antiquated look and as you walk up to and inside The Brocket Arm you...More

Thank Fiona R
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I have been coming to this pub, off and on, for over 40 years. It has changed in someways but not as drastically as other pubs. The essential elements of its charm have all been retained. Low level lighting, good real ales, charming beamed rooms...More

Thank Hornbeams
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We were visiting Brocket Arms for past 20 years. New management arrived few years back and they changed it a lot. We hated to see trees cut around it and never understood why were they allowed to do it. Getting better now. Anyway, very expensive...More

Thank wulf2000
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I was recently invited for an afternoon drink at The Brocket Arms by a dear friend and client. As a professional in the hospitality industry, I cannot believe that it has taken me 8 years of living in Hertfordshire to find this place. It ticks...More

Thank Stephen E
Reviewed 19 July 2017

A great find. The moment we walked in it was obvious how friendly the staff & the locals were. Even the 60 year old's motorbike club who were having a meeting & lunch in the garden were very friendly. The local beer was excellent. Lunch...More

Thank 293fluff293
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub and very friendly staff. We came for the beer festival and stayed overnight in one if the rooms. The atmosphere was really nice and we enjoyed the live music and good selection of ales and cider. The room was clean and the cooked...More

1  Thank janeybaby83
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I visited here with a group of around 10 friends on a day when the pub's cooker had broken down. This meant that our pre-booked meals had to be changed for things that could be deep fried, BBQ's or microwaved. I was so impressed with...More

Thank Nicky H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Codicote Spice
69 reviews
2.53 km away
L'Olivo Ristorante Italiano
489 reviews
3.02 km away
Vita Ristorante Italiano
303 reviews
3.17 km away
The Globe
29 reviews
2.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Welwyn Roman Baths
88 reviews
3.53 km away
Elephant and Castle
70 reviews
4.51 km away
Knebworth House
337 reviews
5.36 km away
Stanborough Park
195 reviews
5.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stephen E
12 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Stephen E | Reviewed this property |
The above was addressed to 'Shaun' my myself. Sorry any confusion.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ayot ST, Welwyn Garden City AL6 9BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 820250
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing