We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough Inn Wreay

) #2 of 276 Restaurants in Carlisle €€ - €€€ , British,
Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
+44 16974 75770
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good11%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (16 reviews)
“fajitas” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Following a recommendation from the cottage owners we were staying with, we booked a table on a Sunday evening. When we walked through the door we were greeted by a very friendly lady and from then on everything was excellent. The service and ambiance could...More

Thank Jodenkel127
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and it was lovely meeting you both. We hope that you will return to Cumbria again in the future and to come and say hello. Many thanks for the review.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Dropped into the Plough Inn on a whim for lunch and was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant itself is clean and well presented, the wait staff friendly and attentive, and the food excellent. We had the steak & ale pie and a burger, both of which...More

Thank Lauren J
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for leaving a review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal. For the Onion rings on burgers,we use large Spanish onions which can sometimes be quite thick, this is for two reasons, 1) to be wide enough to sit on the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

People were starting to fill the car park and no wonder why excellent hosts, beer and food great atmosphere and music. Dog friendly and highly recommended

Thank Phil C
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we are so pleased you enjoyed your food, drink, ambience and service, this means a lot to us, thank you.

Reviewed 6 days ago

The Plough Inn is situated in a small delightful little village approximately 6 miles from Carlisle. First impressions were positive, and we were allocated a table around five minutes after we arrived on a very busy Friday night. We were served by very attentive waitress,...More

Thank princekie
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience and we are so pleased everything met with your satisfaction. The car park fits 25 cars but this also depends on how people have parked and how busy it is on the night. Friday...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We found The Plough a very welcoming and good atmosphere, we came for lunch and had a sandwich which was very good.Saw the fish dish come out with fresh veg looked very nice, would well recommendMore

Thank Norah R
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review your visit. On all our dishes we try very hard to ensure they are full of flavour, and main courses served with freshly prepared vegetables where applicable. We are pleased you enjoyed your sandwich and hope to see...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a lovely little pub which I've never been to before, the pub is clean, tidy and the staff welcoming. The food was excellent and the Guinness cold, on a Sunday you are limited to a roast lunch or fish pie. My wife who...More

Thank Chrisb4630
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for your review. As stated on the previous review, the main focus on a Sunday lunch is roasts of the day and a selection of light bites. Our chefs who cook everything to order would find it impossible to run our other fuller menu...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading the reviews I was really excited. However I was underwhelmed by the experience. It was alright but certainly no better than any average pub. The lack of choices on the Sunday lunch menu was an issue. The waitresses were really lovely. The food...More

1  Thank Sulkybumblebee
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to review your dining experience. Our Sunday lunch menu focuses on the roasts and we have a bigger menu for the rest of the week. On our Sunday menu we offer, Roast Topside of Beef, Roast Ham, Chicken Breast stuffed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Mother and I visited yesterday after having a wander around the delightful village. The hosts were very friendly taking the time to chat to us. The food was lovely, we will certainly be back.

Thank Carol S
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Plough and are so pleased you enjoyed your food. The church is very beautiful and very popular and having seen this several times, we can understand why.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit to this Restaurant which we found on trip advisor. We met up with friends and had a lovely afternoon. It's a nice wee village and the Plough Inn has a car park at the side. The restaurant is very clean...More

Thank Armageddon1
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Plough it was lovely meeting you all. We have in the past week we have been trialling the topping on the steak pie to puff pastry from short crust for two reasons. Many...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My last review of the Plough Inn was in 2015, we have been a few times since. We tried to book for the Wednesday ( no chance ) we managed to get a table for 3 on the Friday 7th July. Thankfully some things never...More

Thank Cliff W
Jane K, Manager at The Plough Inn Wreay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review of your time at The Plough. We are so pleased that people return time and time again and that all were happy with the quality of their food and enjoyed the atmosphere at the pub. Many thanks and hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Inn Restaurant
193 reviews
6.09 km away
Fantails Restaurant
366 reviews
6.34 km away
Bridge End Inn
209 reviews
6.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
High Head Sculpture Valley
13 reviews
5.39 km away
Five Senses Hideaway
5 reviews
6.82 km away
Hadrian's Wall
392 reviews
6.74 km away
Eden Rock
103 reviews
6.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scarletflt
1 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
Hi We are approximately 4 miles off junc 42 of M6
0
Votes
SabineHolgado
29 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
Hi Unfortunately trip advisor does not offer facility to offer food versus opening times. Monday we only open for charity quiz 7-11pm Tuesday's we are closed Wednesday - Sunday 12-3pm(2.30pm last food order) 5.30pm - 9pm... More
0
Votes
ianturnbull524
12 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jane K | Property representative |
We do not serve food on a Monday or Tuesday but do lunches 12-3pm Wednesday- Sunday and evenings 5.30-9pm Wednesday - Sunday. It is advisable to book on a weekend as it gets very busy.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wreay, Carlisle CA4 0RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Carlisle
  • Phone Number: +44 16974 75770
  • E-mail
Description
The Plough Inn was tastefully refurbished with handmade brickwork and granite slabs, under floor heating adding to the warm, relaxing and welcoming atmosphere in 2005. The bar has been built using hand-made bricks rescued from an old Cumbrian mill race, decorating its front is an old ploughshare, the rural connection continued with a part of the edging to the bar coming from a combine harvester. The Plough has a well-deserved, excellent reputation for it's food which is locally sourced, wherever possible. Meals are served between 12 and 3pm, Wednesday to Sunday and between 5.30 - 9pm Tuesday to Sunday from March - November, The Plough opens on a Monday evening from 7pm for a fun quiz night which starts at 8.15pm. It is a £1 to enter and teams can have up to 6 players per team. A bottle of wine is raffled on the evening with the proceed going to the winners charity of choice. Free home made chips are given to all that attend on the evening. Tuesday evenings during March - November offer a small limited menu followed by a weekly acoustic music evening where musicians can come and play with other like minded folk or can just come to sit and listen and enjoy the music. A fun night is guaranteed for all who attend with a selection of real ales available from Corby & Hawkshead Brewery. It has been LocAle accredited by the Solway branch for it's local real ales and we are in the We hope to be in the 2016 edition of The Good Beer guide and have won CAMRA Winter Pub of the Season December 2015 and have just been nominated for CAMRA Pub of the Year 2016 so fingers crossed. We have been nominated 2014 and 2015 as Best Country Pub in the Carlisle Living Magazine awards and as a small family business are thrilled with the achievements so far since we took over the pub in May 2014. We have a real wood burning stove lit on a cool evening to add to the lovely ambiance of this Country Inn. We often have live music acts who come to entertain customers at The Plough Inn. The dates for these can be found both on the website and on The Plough Inn Facebook page. We can cater for up to 65 covers, weddings, funerals, birthday parties, special events, business/corporate lunches/meetings and training days. Afternoon teas are available on request, but must be booked. PLEASE NOTE - ALL OUR FOOD IS COOKED FRESH TO ORDER SO YOU WILL HAVE A WAIT WHILST YOUR FOOD IS COOKED. WE CATER FOR PEOPLE WITH VARIOUS ALLERGENS, PLEASE DISCUSS THIS WITH YOUR WAITRESS ON ARRIVAL
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing