We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Company Shed

129 Coast Road, Colchester CO5 8PA, England
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (143 reviews)
“fresh seafood” (62 reviews)
“crab” (83 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
129 Coast Road, Colchester CO5 8PA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Company Shed won't win any design awards but the seafood is star quality! Don't get me wrong, the restaurant is clean and comfy enough - but at the end of the day, it's a shed, which is part of its charm! The food, however,...More

1  Thank LondonTraveller61
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. I hope you return again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had great expectations after reading reviews and advice from my brother in U.K. (He had never eaten there but had heard great things). Apart from the wait of about 1 3/4 hours (in October) we were not called and when I checked in at...More

Thank Muriel B
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We're very disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. However, there are a few points that I would like to address. Firstly your wait time and why you wasn't called in. We were, and always are, aware...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Scruffy, Crowded and difficult to get a table ..... but some of the best food you will ever eat. Fresh food cooked well and some fantastic local oysters. DO NOT MISS YOUR CHANCE TO EAT HERE. But if you cannot get in.... drive to Mehalah's...More

Thank Duncan W
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review. Hope you return again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very interesting eatery. We had hot scallops and hot large prawns as well as a crab seafood platter. We took our own bread as well as butter and just had water and fruit juice to drink. Very fresh tasty hot and cold produce served with...More

Thank Alisharon
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. I hope you return again soon to enjoy our seafood.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very happy with my scallops but my partner did not fare so well. We had expected that there would be a more varied fish menu but it was mainly shellfish. An allergy to mussels, scallops and oysters made things difficult so we decided...More

Thank jeminab
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm glad you enjoyed your scallops. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the rest of your food and you expected a different menu. We've always been a predominately shellfish restaurant but we frequently do cooked fish specials. In the future if you decide to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow this place is unique it's got a high star rating for food but to see the place would make you think twice about going in. The fish is fresh and fabulous. The platter served is lovely and the oysters are beautiful. Not a fancy...More

Thank Coomberman
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review. At the end of the day we are as it says in the name, a shed. My main goal is to provide people with a lovely experience and fantastic seafood so I'm happy you enjoyed your platter and oysters. Hope...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you like seafood this is Utopia. The decor is plain, the staff are helpful and friendly. No reservations mean you may have to plan your visit. It will be worth it!

Thank dave c
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the fantastic review. Hope you come again soon to enjoy some lovely seafood.

Reviewed 8 September 2017

what a lovely little gem of a place and a must visit place if you like sea food when on mersea ,set in the harbour serving mostly local caught fish and shellfish enjoy .

Thank mole2017
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks for the great review. I hope you return again in the near future.

Reviewed 7 September 2017

We arrived at 2.15 pm. The place was full and we were told to return at 2.50 pm. When we returned we had to wait another 10 minutes for a table. This was very much what we expected so it was not a problem. The...More

Thank William K
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for the great review. I'm sorry you had an extra wait for your table. We try our best to get people in when we say but sometimes we don't get it right. In the future when you return, which I hope will be...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Located on the waters edge at Mersea Island, the company shed is a back to basic approach to eating quality seafood. The décor won't win awards, it is very basic, but in a good way, as it's all about the seafood. Choose from the small...More

Thank nigel f
Caroline H, Owner at The Company Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for the fantastic review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Our main aim is to serve tasty, fresh seafood so I'm glad we accomplished that. I hope you return again soon to enjoy some tasty seafood.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
West Mersea Oyster Bar
894 reviews
.40 km away
The Coast Inn
492 reviews
.25 km away
The Gilt Rooms
116 reviews
.95 km away
Mersea Island Fish Bar
72 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
West Mersea Beach
68 reviews
.17 km away
Mersea Island Watersports
29 reviews
.23 km away
Lady Grace Boat Trips
79 reviews
.62 km away
Mersea Island Museum
22 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
michy185
1 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Caroline H | Property representative |
We don't take bookings. Once we fill up we run a daily waiting list. If you want to get straight in with no wait I suggest you arrive by 11am. If you don't mind a wait I suggest you arrive between 11am and 12pm and get in... More
0
Votes
MrTherm
1 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Caroline H | Property representative |
Hi, We don't allow dogs. Some people leave their dogs tied up outside with water in the shade.
1
Vote
MargaretCambs
27 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Caroline H | Property representative |
Hi, yes we are open as normal. Open at 9am, stop serving at 4, close at 5. We've been steady in the week so I would suggest you try to arrive by 1:30 if you can. Hope to see you Tuesday. Caroline
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 129 Coast Road, Colchester CO5 8PA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Colchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing