We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

No.3 The Yard Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ironmonger Street, Stamford PE9 1PL, England
+44 1780 756080
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Tue - Thu 12:00 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Fri - Sun 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 478: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed today NEW

My partner and I went for dinner at no 3 recently. It is central to town, though is tucked a way a bit so you could easily miss it. We had 3 courses and were impressed with each. My sea bass was beautifully cooked, the dish looked great, and portions sizes are good. It is slightly more expensive than the... More 

Helpful?
Thank summersun92_13
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived early on a Saturday evening to eat in a pre booked party of four. Nice location, we got the impression it was a bit disjointed when the waitress didn't know what ales were available. Not a problem she was a youngster and we've got a few of them between us! The menu had plenty of choice. It was unfortunate... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui S
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we have very recently had a complete change of back of house staff ( including a new head chef partner ). We think we have struck the right balance with our new menus, and of course with all new staff, training is ongoing, we had a few problems with the... More 

doncaster
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful weather. Nice advertising on the street drew us in. Sat outside at tables that were nicely presented. One of us chose goujons and fries, the other one of the DIY platters. Was lovely. Tasty food presented with care. Lots of homemade touches. Friendly service. Would of definitely go again. There are numerous poor reviews, but whatever problems there have... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmDoncaster
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review and we hope the next time your passing through you will drop in for lunch. More 

London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a great evening really great service knowledge staff and amazing food great ambiance would really recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindablacker62
Management response:

Thank you so much for your glowing review, I'm delighted you thought so highly of us and I only hope we see you again. To get such a review makes all our hard work really worthwhile. More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We read the reviews for No. 3 The Yard and thought it was just what we were looking for on our short break in Stanford. We were not disappointed. The menu was interesting and varied and with delighful combinations of ingredients and flavour's. We visited on two consecutive evenings and would recommend this tucked away restaurant as well worth seeking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank calvert_256
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we're pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and to give such a good review, with such kind words...... thank you. We hope to see you again. More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having eaten here previously what a disappointment our visit on Saturday evening was. The quality of some of the food left a lot to be desired small portions of Sea Bass and the whole dish overcooked , Having said that my rib eye was excellent . Despite the restaurant being fairly quiet ( apart from the intrusive background music )... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don J
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. i'm sorry your visit was a disappointment, we have been having issues in the kitchen and as you have already pointed out front of house as well. We now have a new team at the front and the back of house with a new Head Chef. We will shortly be... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

difficult to know where to start ....first time been to this restaurant so important that the owner makes a good impression ..sadly not ,,rude uncooperative...table booked for 2.30 was finally seated at 3.15 and waited a further 10 mins for service and got our food at 3.45. we were 6 inc two children...the waiters were so disorganised and basically had... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank bashers51
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant Sadly this reviewer is absolutely right, there is no excuse for a bad attitude, and if your having an off day, then don't let it show. Mothers Day was not my finest hour, and if i came across to you in a rude way then i truly apologize. If you... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've eaten here before many times and never been disappointed but today we felt very let down. There was the usual warm welcome and pleasant ambiance but following the arrival of our starters which were fine, my husband and I waited an unusually long time for our main courses (40 minutes!). We'd both ordered the small fish and chips which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Trysh89
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Great food, service and atmosphere. Have a cheap set menu for those that don't want the slightly more expensive menu. Great courtyard to eat outside in the summer. Good restaurant for couples. Wouldn't recommend with children.

Helpful?
Thank michelle p
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I've been here before - when it was Jim's yard, in fact, if I'd been diligent enough my last review would have been off the scale. It really was ever so good and I was looking forward to this visit. So here I am again - did it match up, sadly no, but how good was it? Tempura king prawns......hmm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark F

Travellers who viewed No.3 The Yard Restaurant also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 
Stamford, Lincolnshire
Stamford, Lincolnshire
 

Been to No.3 The Yard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Thursday
12:00 - 14:15
18:00 - 21:15
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ironmonger Street, Stamford PE9 1PL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Stamford
  • Phone Number: +44 1780 756080
Description
No.3 The Yard sits in a quiet courtyard just off Ironmonger Street in the centre of Stamford's magnificent town centre. Under the ownership of Simon McEnery and Chef Tim Luff, the restaurant offers lunchtime and evening services Tuesday through to Saturday and now a Sunday lunchtime service too.
Choose from our set menus or a la carte option and dine in our lovely conservatory, first floor dining rooms or weather permitting, our secluded courtyard.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of No.3 The Yard Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Northwood, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from No.3 The Yard Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?