We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chinese Buffet

) #230 of 347 Restaurants in Wakefield €€ - €€€ Chinese, Japanese, Sushi
Unit G33 Trinity Walk | Market Walk, Wakefield WF1 1QU, England
+44 1924 339322
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (18 reviews)
“dim sum” (5 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Unit G33 Trinity Walk | Market Walk, Wakefield WF1 1QU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 400 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited on a Saturday at 5.30pm. We were shown around the array of dishes which were displayed beautifully & we couldn't wait to tuck in. Apparently the buffet is changed & restocked at 5pm & by 5.30 when we visited absolutely everything we chose for...More

Thank Joanne G
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

First time here for three of us, for a lunch buffet. The choice in mains isn't no where near as good as others, not a wide variety compared to others, and not as tasty, The starter section isn't too bad but most things were down...More

Thank Nicholas T
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for lunch with my granddaughter n daughter in law, good value, plenty of choice for a lunch menu, under 3's went free.

Thank hairdresser21
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad you enjoyed dining with us for lunch recently and found plenty of choice available, thank you for your lovely comments

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an evening meal on Monday the selection was very impressive with sushi cook to order noodle bar with self selection for ingredients very tasty main meals and starters along with BBQ selection. The sweet section was amazing along with masses of fresh fruit and...More

Thank jacquiet209
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so glad you enjoyed dining with us recently and found a large selection of dishes to choose form, many thanks for your review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love it!! amazing prices and food. All staff are nice and have never been rude. I recommend it because it is lovely.

Thank 17countrygirl
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we're so glad you love dining with us, we hope to welcome you again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for an evening meal on a Thursday with kids - £57 I'll never get back! The food was awful, pastry for the spring rolls was so dry and crispy you could injure someone if you threw them. There wasn't much in terms of food...More

Thank emk730
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us, we pride ourselves in the quality of our service and our food and strive to replenish dishes as quickly as possible. I will pass your comments back...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We went to Chinese Buffet as a family one Thursday night and were not disappointed. Excellent selection of meals and desserts.The only drawback was the expensive alcohol in bottles but would highly recommend eating here.

Thank stephen b
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit with us, I will pass your comments back to the team

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on Saturday night, and was rather disappointed, although the food was hot it was not the best Chinese food we have eaten even in buffet restaurants, the sweet and sour chicken was very bizarre, it tasted more like vinegar,...More

Thank Toldlad
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us, we pride ourselves on the quality of our dishes so we're sorry to hear you didn't experience this during your visit. As standard, we serve mineral water...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Quite a big area, lots of seating. Attracted lots of families with children who were allowed to run about and the floor was disgusting, with food all over as their parents didn't bother picking the mess up. There was quite a good selection of food,...More

Thank YORKILASS
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we're glad you found a good selection of dishes, I would like to assure you that all of our dishes are cooked and served well within the FSA guidelines for buffet dining however we do understand that some customers may...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017

Visited here for the first time after a shopping trip in Wakefield last Sunday. The concept is great when eating with children but the choices were poor unless you like loads of meat on your plate, very little choice of vegetables to accompany. They charge...More

1  Thank jayne o
Gaynor R, Guest Relations Manager at The Chinese Buffet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us. The pricing structure is something we've thought long and hard abou. We have always offered up to the age of 3 as free, and we now have...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Qubana
873 reviews
.20 km away
Delphi Restaurant
384 reviews
.13 km away
Trinity Bakehouse & Cafe
84 reviews
.13 km away
Rustico
576 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wakefield Cathedral
191 reviews
.25 km away
Theatre Royal Wakefield
178 reviews
.52 km away
Wakefield Museum
43 reviews
.46 km away
Trinity Walk Wakefield
53 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pauluss22
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Oompalumpa1 | Reviewed this property |
hi we always order a jug of water and get a large jug so yes you can order water hope this helps
1
Vote
nickyjayne
15 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Alan D | Reviewed this property |
I believe they do but just tell them and they should know. It's certainly more common these days.
1
Vote
1300anne100
20 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Lucy S | Reviewed this property |
Hi and sorry I'm a bit late for last Xmas, don't often visit trip advisor. I think they do open but best book a table (for Xmas 2017!!)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Private Dining, Buffet
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit G33 Trinity Walk | Market Walk, Wakefield WF1 1QU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wakefield
  • Phone Number: +44 1924 339322
Description
The Chinese Buffet is a dynamic and exciting, modern Chinese restaurant. Launched initially as a single restaurant in Bolton the concept has grown in size and stature into an emerging brand with nationwide aspirations. Peter Wu, Paolo Hu and David Hu created The Chinese Buffet with the clear aim of providing a new style of buffet restaurant, high quality food at low cost to customers. They created an eclectic blend of Chinese food using only the finest and freshest ingredients, prepared and presented to the highest of standards. THE Chinese Buffet believes all their customers should receive the care, attention and quality they would expect from the finest of a la carte restaurant. THE Chinese Buffet has exciting and ambitious expansion plans with more than 18 new restaurants planned to open across the North West within the next five years with a national franchise in place by 2016.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing