We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Brook Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
+44 1473 730531
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We called after a show in ipswich we had not booked but even though the pub was very busy we were made welcome and said we would have a 10 min wait ,we were shown to a table and drinks order taken,a good choice on the menu lots of gluten free options.the landlord soon came over told us they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ginge2013
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words 'Ginge' - pleased you were well looked after and that you enjoyed the food. Do come again soon, Ian E More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped for lunch Easter Sunday. Seated straight away greeted by polite friendly staff. Great menu choice with specials on the board. Lunch was lovely, we had the lasagne and roast chicken followed by dessert. Food was delicious. Reasonable prices and friendly staff will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank rojo2017
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Rojo - pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Brook. Come again soon! Ian E More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for lunch after having read other reviews and would like to add mine that this really is a lovely pub. Had a great lunch; fish and chips I had was really well cooked, very tasty, the others had ham, egg and chips and burger and chips and were equally impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Nicole - thanks for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon. Ian More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great range of gulten free food! I enjoyed my mothers day meal here so much I booked again for the next week! Hidden jem of suffolk this place!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi there - thanks ever so much for taking the time to write about your experiences at the Brook Inn. See you next week! More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely lovely food and service! Very welcoming and excellent gluten free menu! Will definitely be visiting again!

Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Robyn - thanks for taking the time to write your appreciative review...hopefully see you again soon! Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2017

thought I'd already written a revue but can't find it. Staff as always very pleasant and new manager very friendly. Haven't been for a while as wasn't happy with previous manager. Food Ok but felt the steak served with salad (my husband doesn't eat salad) should have had something else not just a few chips and 2 onion rings especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank janicenewb0ld
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Janice and thanks for taking the time to write the review and the new booking, despite the average meal. I understand what you're saying and will speak to the manager and kitchen about your modest serving - it does help focus the mind. I hope your next experience is a better one but if not, please do raise it... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2017

In Feb 2017 had lunch, thought we would give it another chance, because of new manager, couldn't see any improvements, tables still greasy, dirty washcloth with spray bottle left on the dresser next to our table, rather put me off before our meals arrived. Strong public toilet smell coming from toilets, into restaurant area, food very average, service nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank littlechef2017
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Little Chef - sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the Brook Inn. I notice this is your only review so I assume you didn't write anything about your last visit or make your comments known to the pub staff? We're always disappointed when visitors don't enjoy their experience and it does help if you speak at the time... More 

Capel Saint Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We come here quite regularly as we live only a 5 minute drive away and having a Daughter with Coeliac Disease this place is perfect! The Gluten Free options are excellent and it is the best gluten free restaurant we have experienced yet. It is usually quiet but service is always friendly and nice. A good local pub feel with... More 

Helpful?
Thank pbryant486
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for your review of our community-owned pub. It's always nice to get a positive report from an experienced TripAdvisor reviewer. Do come again soon. Ian Evans More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

What a friendly place to spend a Saturday evening! We came early, were spoilt rotten and left full to the brim. Steaks were succulent and cooked to perfection. A clear plate was left where there once was Venison pie whilst fish and chips were scrumptious. Puds were yum as was the wine and very reasonable. Service was very friendly, helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen - thanks for the kind review and it was nice to meet you and your friends in the pub last night. Always good to welcome appreciative customers from neighbouring counties. Cheers, Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Nigel's chicken curry is a-m-a-zing!!! Never have a bad meal and the staff are all lovely. John (landlord) is so nice and welcoming. We love it!!!

Helpful?
Thank starfishy1983
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Starfishy - yes, Nigel's chicken curry is eggsellent...:) Do come again soon, Ian Evans More 

Travellers who viewed The Brook Inn also viewed

 
Hintlesham, Babergh District
 

Been to The Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730531
Description
Community-owned pub serving British and foreign food, specialising in gluten-free meals. Recently renovated, the free house has an extensive menu, wine and real ales with garden space, free parking and dog-friendly environment. Surrounded by beautiful Suffolk countryside and accessible to main roads

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brook Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?