We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (381)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
78
37
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
78
37
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fish halibut pasta late lunch special of the day super tasty tasty food cheese dish norway mushrooms
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 November 2022 via mobile

The place has 2 different ambiances, the one looking from the mirror to the street and one behind which is much more cozy. The food was fabulous and amazing. The staff were super nice and attending. I did really enjoy having dinner there and would...definitely recommend others to try that.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much!

Reviewed 13 August 2022 via mobile

Tasty food in great location by the old wharf. Visited on our final night of 10 days in Norway. A lovely find , good atmosphere and friendly waiting staff Set 3 course meat menu was chosen. The main - steak with a red wine sauce...and a variety of mushrooms was delicious. Pinot noir wine recommendation was spot on. Definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2022

Thank you very much for your kind feedback!

Reviewed 26 June 2022 via mobile

We’re still here, six friends from the UK. After delicious starters, four of unshaded halibut and two had sirloin steak. We all agreed that it was by far the best quality meal we have had for quite a while. Got to go now: just going...to have our desserts. VERY highly recommended!!!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

Thank you so much for your nice feedback! It is greatly appreciated. Welcome back on your next visit to Trondheim.

Reviewed 24 June 2022 via mobile

I read of this place on a blog from a previous resident of Trondheim where it was recommended for fresh food and great atmosphere. It did not disappoint. Great atmosphere. Wonderful service. The food was fresh and the menu, though limited, was very not what...was fresh and in season. Great wine and local beers offered.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2022

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy that you had a great experience at Kalas & Canasta.

Reviewed 19 May 2022

An unexpected pleasure to dine outside in the gorgeous late day sun while having some amazing local beers, drinks and light food. The local asparagus was particularly good with ramps and roe, and the cheese and meat plate was tasty. Shout out to the delicious...fried bread that came with it. Our server, Liva, was SOOOOO helpful and guided us to the perfect drinks and food. Really loved the vibe here in the old town and service was awesome. Thanks Liva for making our day!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2022

Thank you very much for your visit, and kind words! We are so happy that you had such a nice evening with us.

Reviewed 27 September 2021

I booked the larger room for a confirmation and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The restaurant was so accommodating and friendly from start to finish. Love how their menu uses local ingredients and the food was very good. Thank you for a lovely experience. :...)More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2021

Thank you very much for your recommendation! It was our pleasure. Welcome back!

Reviewed 15 August 2021

The dishes came in extremely slow, the fish was a little overdone, and the meat was really over and dry. One dish was cheese, it turned out to be one blue cheese an a couple of soft crackers (that were not supposed to be soft)....The dessert just tasted weird. On the positive note, the starter (beef tartar) was great and the staff was nice. The place also has a cozy feel to it! Overall unfortunately a waste of money, I feel like I would have done a much better job then the chef...More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. This is not how we like our guests to experience Kalas. Hope that we someday can welcome you back and make a better impression.

Reviewed 27 July 2021

Enjoyed late lunch at this wonderful place in historic Bakklandet. We had the special of the day (pasta with tomato based nduja sauce and crab) while our young children enjoyed a platter of cold cuts, gorgeous bread allioli and artisan butter. Lovely attentive waiter.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Marketing at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021
Google Translation

Tusen takk for flott tilbakemelding! Så fint at både voksne og barn hadde en god matopplevelse. Velkommen tilbake!

Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Charming, friendly staff and delicious food in a great location Highly recommended and would definitely visit again

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Markedsføring at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Thank you for your kind words! Looking forward to see you again!

Reviewed 15 March 2021

We came to have lunch. Most places were packed but the waitress found us a table. Loved the spot we got. Atmosphere was very nice. Service was good. And the food was amazing. Definitely coming again as soon as possible! 💗

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Wibecke L, Markedsføring at Kalas & Canasta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Thank you for your kind words! Welcome back soon!

Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a place selling fish soup, and after two unsuccessful attempts (whereof one fish restaurant) we found this place with personality and fantastic food - including fish soup on the menu 👍🏻 My wife choose the fish soup and...I today’s meat. Both were really good - the fish soup was according to the menu creamy, though not very, it was maybe the best fish soup my wife ever had tasted!!! The meat of the day was veal - really good. In addition a very positive and attentive waiter. We’ll definitely come back next time we’re in town!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

C&K is an always good choice! Todays 3-course was excellent: whale carpaccio, white fisk and a two type cheese (Steinfjording from Lofoten) and goat cheese (red goat) from Geilo with jam was Just excellent. Not mentioning the suitable, acvompanying white wine. And not least; the...appetizer: Harahorn, tasty Norwegian gin!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 July 2020 via mobile

Small portion, expensive and really slow event. 3 hours in all. The food was good but toke to long. The service was fine.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 June 2020 via mobile

Should have been here many years ago, but never made it. Anyway, choice of 3 - 5 courses with wine menu, if you wish. Everything was excellent until the meat course, served as almost ribeye, I guess it was chuck steak, which is not that...easy to serve. We complained and waited. They served a new piece of meat, this time sliced, it was still awful. The rhubarb dessert was very good. The cheese course I had was terrible, a tiny tiny piece os cheese that was tasteless. The matching wine was a Sevre-de-maine that did not match at all. Lot of work needed here. Service was good. Doubt we will be back considering the quality of other restaurants in the city. We did get a deduction for the poor meat course.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 May 2020 via mobile

Super friendly staff, amazing food to a great price and beautiful location! Lovely experience over all and I will be back for sure. Love how their menu change so often!

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Britannia Hotel
256 reviews
.44 km away
Scandic Bakklandet
1,241 reviews
.48 km away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
1,173 reviews
.51 km away
Nova Hotell Kurs & Konferanse
72 reviews
.53 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Baklandet Skydsstation
858 reviews
.10 km away
Havfruen
411 reviews
.09 km away
Antikvariatet
139 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bakklandet
410 reviews
.27 km away
Kristiansten Fortress
528 reviews
.39 km away
Vitensenteret i Trondheim
153 reviews
.21 km away
Bondens Marked
101 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kalas & Canasta staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

KALAS & CANASTA, Trondheim - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Kalas & Canasta

Kalas & Canasta is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4