We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bambus Asian Cuisine and Lounge

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Borgartun 16 | Laugavegur 49, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
+354 517 0123
Website
Today
11:30 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:30 - 21:00
Sat 17:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overpriced and very small portion. Duck with chilli sauce on the side was disappointing with very little meat but a lot of bones. The sauce was served in a chipped bowl which put me off straight away. My husband had the better meal of satay chicken which he enjoyed but the menu itself is limited.

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at half 8 only a couple of people in the resturant. Waitress stopped us in the door and said kitchen is closed. I pointed out that they state they are open till 9:30pm and their sign outside said come in were open. She said bar open till 9:30 kitchen 9 so argued the fact its only 8:30pm she said... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saragreen92
Betty W, Manager at Bambus Asian Cuisine and Lounge, responded to this review

This is Betty, manager from Bambus. I am sorry to hear that you have such bad experiences in restaurant. Can you let me know which day you were with us? So I can investigate more and get back to you soon. More 

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

I tried Bambus for lunch and had the tempura shrimps for starters and Rice noodles with chicken for mains. Both dishes were very tasty and looked nice. The service was excellent and the waitress did a great job. The restaurant is a bit pricier than other Chinese dining options in Reykjavik since most of the other ones are fast food.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helgi Thor G
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent food. Good value for money and friendly staff. We asked for a meal to not include the beef and they kindly deducted 30% off the menu price. Would visit again

Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
Hafnarfjörður, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

It must have been some unlucky first day waitress with out a clue about the restaurant and all what services. Food was not really bad taste, but no better than that. price was absolutely sky hi, sorry I can absolutely not recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Benedikt B
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

A long walk from the centre and expensive the service was good but the menu was odd in that there was korma on the menu!

Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

The restaurant advertises with fresh local food and we ordered starters and main course. The starters was dumplings that were fried on the outside and frozen inside. I thought dumplings was suppose to be steamed. Main courses a sort of pot simulary for both of us but with different protein and my friend found big clumps of cardamom in it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hannemar
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2016

It's a nice looking place in great location but the meal was far from the quality i'm expecting from the price. I tried classic Kung-Pao chicken and it was under-spiced and under-cooked. The meat had been fried earlier for sure and warmed up but not enough. Just a disaster. So it was actually cheap take-way standard meal, priced as fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gylfi G
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This is the first Chinese I have visited that had only two pages for a menu. No customers when we visited and staff not very welcoming however we found another close by which was ok

Helpful?
Thank Shane H
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,135 reviews
742 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016

My wife and I passed by when we came into town and were told this was a good Chinese restaurant. As it turned out our hotel was a few blocks away so we went to Bambus for dinner that night. When we got there there were a few other tables taken, but as the evening went along the place became... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard F

Travellers who viewed Bambus Asian Cuisine and Lounge also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Bambus Asian Cuisine and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$50
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Takeout
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Borgartun 16 | Laugavegur 49, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Capital Region  >  Reykjavik
  • Phone Number: +354 517 0123
Description
Chefs Bamboo extensive experience and have worked on some of the better restaurants and hotels in Asia. George Holmes born in the Indian island of Goa, then worked at a 5 star restaurant in New Zealand as well as he founded the Indian mango in Iceland for a few years. Jeen Thiamnseng born in Thailand worked for a long time in 5 star restaurants on the east coast of Thailands before she moved to Iceland. At lunchtime on Bamboo emphasis on healthy and good "stir fry" cooking. The service is fast for those who are in a hurry, but of course leads us nothing if your time is enough. Between kl.17-19 Weekdays we offer special drinks Bamboo bar. At night the heat is Bamboo takes the Oriental appearance that can not be played on. Bamboo takes about 120 seats in the food. Salarkynni Bamboo are stylish but also we have a Bamboo bar where our guests can enjoy a cocktail in the early evening and the "lounge" room which is nice to sit down after dinner and relaxing with a drink himself. Bamboo is also about planning for companies and individuals in banquets, receptions and hall rental. At Bamboo combines great environment, frammurskarandi food and service that allows our guests an unforgettable experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bambus Asian Cuisine and Lounge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?