We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
46
39
12
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
46
39
12
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi platter grilled prawns kimchi braised pork cheeks pineapple main course sesame sauce menu starters dish tamarind wines
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent combination of oriental kitchens. Superb service and atmosphere. Absolutely recommendable!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service and food. I highly recommend going. The menu is big and they have loads of vegan options bf also a great cocktail menu. Resteraunt is also big

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

I have been here many times, and its always excellent. We had latr booking, but they were able to take us in. Thx Erika! Food was amazing!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Restaurant Manager at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Hi! Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the food was tasteful. Hopefully we will see you soon again! :)

Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

We had the longest menu like before, but it has been a while when we visited Masu. Now after the menu, I felt I was not eaten enough. Menu name was the same and if I recall so were the dishes. Only thing was that...the portions are now smaller. Almost to rediulous small compared to previous visits. Price was still the same. Too high price compared to food amount. Taste is good though.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Restaurant Manager at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that our menus did not get your stomach full. The portion size in the menus have been the same size as they have been before, little smaller than our a la carte sizes. We'll bring your feedback...More

Reviewed 10 August 2021

We visited on tuesday evening and had the menu Tabemono. Every course that was served was so delicious and served with a smile. Staff being very friendly and checking upon us very often that everything was ok. A very strong recommendation!! SUPERB!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Restaurant Manager at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Hi! Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit in every way. Hopefully we will see you soon again! :)

Reviewed 29 July 2021

Restaurant is very clean and modern. We felt very welcome when entered into restaurant, service was friendly through out our dinner. Although menu is pretty short, everybody found something to eat - what is surprising with the kids (19, 16, 15). We ate three courses...and food was just excellent. I can highly recommend the food. The down side was very long waiting. It took approx. hour and a half when we got out main course and wines were served with the first drinks. Starters took about half and hour to arrive, that is not very uncommon but we waited menus for 15 minutes. Even with long waiting this restaurant is one of he best in Tampere and we will go there again :)More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Ravintolapäällikkö at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the wait for the menus and the food. It has been very busy days, but this is of course no reason for the wait. We glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 3 July 2021

Food is really good, authentic and oriental. Drinklist is very covering. Customerservice is very friendly and quick. 6/5

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Ravintolapäällikkö at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you soon again! :)

Reviewed 27 February 2021

A Friday evening. We were made to stand for 10 minutes while we had a booking and also we arrived 5 minutes late. Then we actually had to ask someone to help us to our table. We ordered three different menus, mine being a vegetarian,...with matching wine selection. The order came too fast. We have not finished the wine for a course and the next wine was already on the table. Thus, we ended up with a glass of cava and 2 glasses of white wine getting warm. The vegetarian meal was very minimal and completely out of balance. The appetizer and the main meal had soy sauce and vinegar mixed together. The vinegar was so strong that it bleached my mouth so practically it felt that the skin will come off. The appetizer had soy sauce, vinegar and mayo mixed in, honestly, disgusting. The second course was a tablespoon of avocado while my friend had 5 ribs on her plate - the difference in size was crazy - but vegetarians on a diet anyways (one might say to explain this difference). The third meal had a few pieces of celeriac with some green vegetable stems mixed in soy and far too much vinegar sauce and some tempeh. Then for desert, what other would a vegetarian eat than vegetables, so carrot cake with a green topping (a rabbit might have been happy with that)! I think this was the most ridiculous menu and most awful tasting meal I have ever had in a restaurant that seems to be pretending to offer fresh Asian meals. The service was also underwhelming, why to tell about wines when no one hears since the place is too noisy? The food was chucked on the table, and the waitress did not know which menu has what food. So overall, it was the worst dining experience of my life. Recommend to avoid it if you are actually interested to eat a nice meal and not just meeting friends.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Ravintolapäällikkö at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your visit didn't succeed as well as expected. We're sorry that you had to wait table unreasonably long. We're sorry to hear that you didn't like the taste of food. As usual in Asian...More

Reviewed 12 March 2020

We celebrated a birthday in MASU Asian Bistro an early week evening. They had plenty of tables to choose from despite our reservation - which is strongly suggested. The choice of meals I had was just absolutely fantastic. As a starter I had the Hirata...Bun with pork and kimchi mayo. As the main course I enjoyed the Sushi platter, a few blackened Samurai Ribs and a spoonful of Teriyaki Chicken. The MISO soup bowl was just too much. Couldnt handle that any more. Too much is just too much, The meals were perfectly presented, served with a super smile and tasted purely fantastic. The Bistro is very conveniently situated in the heart of Tampere. STRONG RECOMMENDATION.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Ravintolapäällikkö at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Hi Sami! Thank you a lot from your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed! Hopefully we see you soon. Stay safe!

Reviewed 21 February 2020

We picked a menu which was really excellent. We had ordered the food beforehand. That's why it was very disappointing it took the restaurant four (4!!!) hours to get us our meals. One of our group missed a gig she had bought a ticket a...long time ago. Some of our group had to leave without finishing their dinner to be able to catch their rides back home. I think it is disrespectful of the staff to think their customers don't have other obligations. I would not recommend against this very highly praised restaurant but advice to check in advance they can deliver.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Toimitusjohtaja at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we have been short on staff that weekend. It resulted in slower service. We guarantee, next time your experience will be much better and please inform us...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Scandic Tampere City
1,112 reviews
.05 km away
Holiday Inn Tampere - Central Station, an IHG hotel
168 reviews
.18 km away
Scandic Tampere Station
1,252 reviews
.25 km away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
920 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
C
179 reviews
.10 km away
Kajo
87 reviews
.10 km away
Bertha
183 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stone Castle of Pirunvuori
16 reviews
.25 km away
Hameensilta
57 reviews
.24 km away
Tampere Central Station
5 reviews
.10 km away
Akateeminen Kirjakauppa
5 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Masu Asian Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Masu Asian Bistro

Yes, Masu Asian Bistro offers takeaway services.

Masu Asian Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4