We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (233)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
49
39
13
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
49
39
13
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi ribs main course tuesday evening three courses food was amazing strong recommendation place to eat menu erika starters dishes taste wines tender bun
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not really worth the money ... too simple A smell of burning fire disturbed us quit a lot. Very noisy once the place is full.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was disappointed in the quality of the sushi. I’ve had better sushi from gas stations and chain restaurants. Furthermore I felt that the restaurant was quite noisy so it wasn’t a very pleasant atmosphere. Service would require some improvement aswell.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 June 2022 via mobile

Another great visit to this awesome dining place. Great food again and friendly service. Best place to eat in Tampere! Will come again.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Hostess at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2022

Hello Juhnu! Thank you for your kind feedback! I'm very glad you have enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 May 2022 via mobile

Menu was about 50€ and not worth it. Starter was bun with kimchimayo and pulled chicken. Quite ok, but you can get better for some 6€ as a fast food. Next was 3 pieces of Sushi, again quite ok but not worth the price. Main...was the only think that deserved its place in menu. Pork cheek was tender and (very sugary) seasoning was Ok. Dessert was total disappointment. Very basic vanilja ice cream.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Hostess at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Hello Pekkis! I am sorry to hear that our food has not been as expected, our steamed buns are one of the most popular dishes sold in the restaurant after all. Unfortunately I cannot disclose what exactly has been wrong with the buns and sushi...More

Reviewed 27 April 2022 via mobile

No reservation but they found room for us… we ordered the soft shell crab, 2 buns, steak with black bean sauce and the ribs. So much food and So tasty. Highly recommend for all in Tampere. Staff very attentive and knowledgeable 😍

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Other at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Hello Cruiser! Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you soon again :)!

Reviewed 17 January 2022

We had great expectations for this place. We depressed a lot during our visit. The place was quite dirty, food too expensive, The staff was really unpolite, forks and knives were unwashed and the serving took for ages. The Tampere railway station burgers are far...better food. No one should waste their money for this low quality place.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Other at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Hello lassen! Unfortunately our restaurant hasn't been open in January so I hope this review reaches the right restaurant! We welcome you to enjoy our food at Kirkkokatu though! :)

Reviewed 20 November 2021 via mobile

Simply excellent food and wine & atmosphere. Friendly staff with expertise. ✨ . Great location in the city. We’ll be back!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Other at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Hello Saara! Thank you so much for your good review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit at our restaurant and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 21 September 2021

Excellent combination of oriental kitchens. Superb service and atmosphere. Absolutely recommendable!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 September 2021 via mobile

Great service and food. I highly recommend going. The menu is big and they have loads of vegan options bf also a great cocktail menu. Resteraunt is also big

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

I have been here many times, and its always excellent. We had latr booking, but they were able to take us in. Thx Erika! Food was amazing!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Restaurant Manager at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Hi! Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the food was tasteful. Hopefully we will see you soon again! :)

Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

We had the longest menu like before, but it has been a while when we visited Masu. Now after the menu, I felt I was not eaten enough. Menu name was the same and if I recall so were the dishes. Only thing was that...the portions are now smaller. Almost to rediulous small compared to previous visits. Price was still the same. Too high price compared to food amount. Taste is good though.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Restaurant Manager at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that our menus did not get your stomach full. The portion size in the menus have been the same size as they have been before, little smaller than our a la carte sizes. We'll bring your feedback...More

Reviewed 10 August 2021

We visited on tuesday evening and had the menu Tabemono. Every course that was served was so delicious and served with a smile. Staff being very friendly and checking upon us very often that everything was ok. A very strong recommendation!! SUPERB!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Restaurant Manager at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Hi! Thank you for your positive feedback and recommendation. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit in every way. Hopefully we will see you soon again! :)

Reviewed 29 July 2021

Restaurant is very clean and modern. We felt very welcome when entered into restaurant, service was friendly through out our dinner. Although menu is pretty short, everybody found something to eat - what is surprising with the kids (19, 16, 15). We ate three courses...and food was just excellent. I can highly recommend the food. The down side was very long waiting. It took approx. hour and a half when we got out main course and wines were served with the first drinks. Starters took about half and hour to arrive, that is not very uncommon but we waited menus for 15 minutes. Even with long waiting this restaurant is one of he best in Tampere and we will go there again :)More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Ravintolapäällikkö at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the wait for the menus and the food. It has been very busy days, but this is of course no reason for the wait. We glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 3 July 2021

Food is really good, authentic and oriental. Drinklist is very covering. Customerservice is very friendly and quick. 6/5

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Ravintolapäällikkö at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you soon again! :)

Reviewed 27 February 2021

A Friday evening. We were made to stand for 10 minutes while we had a booking and also we arrived 5 minutes late. Then we actually had to ask someone to help us to our table. We ordered three different menus, mine being a vegetarian,...with matching wine selection. The order came too fast. We have not finished the wine for a course and the next wine was already on the table. Thus, we ended up with a glass of cava and 2 glasses of white wine getting warm. The vegetarian meal was very minimal and completely out of balance. The appetizer and the main meal had soy sauce and vinegar mixed together. The vinegar was so strong that it bleached my mouth so practically it felt that the skin will come off. The appetizer had soy sauce, vinegar and mayo mixed in, honestly, disgusting. The second course was a tablespoon of avocado while my friend had 5 ribs on her plate - the difference in size was crazy - but vegetarians on a diet anyways (one might say to explain this difference). The third meal had a few pieces of celeriac with some green vegetable stems mixed in soy and far too much vinegar sauce and some tempeh. Then for desert, what other would a vegetarian eat than vegetables, so carrot cake with a green topping (a rabbit might have been happy with that)! I think this was the most ridiculous menu and most awful tasting meal I have ever had in a restaurant that seems to be pretending to offer fresh Asian meals. The service was also underwhelming, why to tell about wines when no one hears since the place is too noisy? The food was chucked on the table, and the waitress did not know which menu has what food. So overall, it was the worst dining experience of my life. Recommend to avoid it if you are actually interested to eat a nice meal and not just meeting friends.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Masu_Asian_Bistro, Ravintolapäällikkö at Masu Asian Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2021

Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your visit didn't succeed as well as expected. We're sorry that you had to wait table unreasonably long. We're sorry to hear that you didn't like the taste of food. As usual in Asian...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Scandic Tampere City
1,155 reviews
.05 km away
Holiday Inn Tampere - Central Station, an IHG Hotel
176 reviews
.18 km away
Scandic Tampere Station
1,283 reviews
.25 km away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
944 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
C
179 reviews
.10 km away
Ravintola Onni Ja Leo
92 reviews
.09 km away
Bertha
188 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stone Castle of Pirunvuori
16 reviews
.25 km away
Hameensilta
57 reviews
.24 km away
Tampere Central Station
5 reviews
.10 km away
Akateeminen Kirjakauppa
5 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Masu Asian Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MASU ASIAN BISTRO, Tampere - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Masu Asian Bistro

Yes, Masu Asian Bistro offers takeaway services.

Masu Asian Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4