We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harmooni Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 17/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Harmooni Restaurant
Updated 17/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$86
CUISINES
European, Scandinavian, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
21
12
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
21
12
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews menu plate euros city courses
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

Visit with my spouse at mid july. Nice outdoor terrace, suitably loose. Poor service two waitress, they loiter too much. Fortunately one barman took care of serving for us. The food was good, though a little chilled. If i come again, hope that service works...all time.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Riitta H, Owner at Harmooni Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sorry to respond to you so late. Thank you for you comments, and apologies for dissappointment in service. We aim to do our best to get better. Hope to see you again if you return to Jyväskylä.

Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at Harmooni with our Jyväskylä friends. They reserved Harmooni year ago and we asked them to reserve Harmooni again this year. It was a surprise to have a great dinner outside on the garden of Harmooni. This time we had...high expectations, but Harmooni was able to meet them. Friendly service and great food again. My wife had the best vegeterian food ever. Menu is short but you will find something very good to taste. In Jyväskylä you should try Harmooni.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Riitta H, Owner at Harmooni Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments :)

Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

We went there on a saturday with reservation and had the three meals course with both of us taking different options. Everything we got was amazing and extremely delicious. The staff were polite and professional. The different tastes on each plate and course complimented each...other perfectly. 10/10 we will go again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

How, in this Central Finland city did we find one of the best restaurants in the world? We did the 7 course tasting menu and were the only patrons there. My team has done 5 star restaurants all over the world...this unknown place just achieved...our top 5 experiences ever. Creative, modern, delicious Finland cuisine, mind blowing wine pairings, and extraordinary service. All in a historic building. Go nowhere else if this is your first trip at least.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Ri_Hald, Omistaja at Harmooni Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2020

Thank you on behalf of our team, for this review. We hope to see you again, if you visit Jyväskylä again.

Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

Maybe my expectations were too high but the whole experience wasn’t satisfying. The location is nice and not overly fancy so it feels cozy. It was a bit cold. The food was a bit cold as well and the portions were small. It’s not a...bad restaurant and the dishes were interesting but in the relation to the price it was a little underperforming. We ordered the menu. The drinks were good.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 November 2019

Nice dinner with 7 courses and selected wines. A bit expensive (250 euros for two doners) - but quite teasty anyway,,,

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 September 2019

An excellent fixed-price three-course meal with coffee and very friendly service. No choice: soup, main, and cake - though with a vegetarian option if you don’t want to eat meat. Delicious cauliflower soup with seeds to sprinkle on top and bread to accompany: meatloaf with...mashed potato, gorgeous mushroom sauce and excellently cooked carrot slices; and then utterly wonderful chocolate cake with real strawberry mousse and a dark chocolate topping and a little fresh fruit - not too sweet, not too heavy, and the perfect way to end the meal. Really friendly and helpful staff who had excellent English; and very clean loos as well! Lunchtime special offer really worth taking advantage of...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 July 2019

I booked a table inside the restaurant, but when we arrived, we were pointed to a table outside. Luckily, the two people in our party, who had preferred a table inside due to health reasons, did not mind. It was lovely outside, though, and we...were served very soon, also with plenty of water in the hot weather. The menu was written on a chalk bard, in Finnish and English and in very simple terms. We ordered two large tasting plates to share, and, as the waitress urged me to do so, I also ordered a main, a salad with smoked trout. The tasting plate had been described as "meats, tapas style, with vegetables" and I repeatedly asked about any sauces or honey or so, and the waitress assured me that there was nothing of that sort on the tasting plate. The waitress asked me about allergies, but I clarified that I have diabetes. The tasting plates arrived and included some very delicious items such as smoked beef and salmon. There was some sweet sauce in the centre of the plate, soon covering some of the savoury items, and the 'fermented' vegetables tasted not tart at all, as I expect from fermented vegetables, but very sweet, as if covered in syrup (what happened there?!) The Salad a la Harmooni was described in the menu as "spinach, nettlepancake" and I chose the option of "rainbow trout". I had ordered it without nettlepancake, but with more salad. What I got was a massive portion of quinoa (why???) with some vegetables in it such as carrots and also very sweet tomatoes, again, as if covered in some kind of syrup. The trout, or salmon, was delicious, and so were the few spinach leaves on the plate. It was 22 Euros though for a quarter of a plate of non-sweet, non-starchy food, and most food going back. While everyone else in my party was super happy with the service and food, I found the experience very disappointing. I am not sure what (else) I should have said or asked for. As the waitress asked me towards the end of the dinner, whether I want a dessert, I realised that she might not understand diabetes at all. Although I drank a lot of water, I developed a massive headache over night and felt sick the next day, which, to be fair, could be due to the hot weather, but I think the sugar must have contributed to it. In summary, I generally avoid restaurants with complex dishes, but the problem is when menus don't list the sides. When the menu looks simple, I expect simple. That's why I didn't want to publish a rant online, but rather share my experience for people in similar situations.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 June 2019

This restaurant is located near train/bus station and it is very beautiful inside. You can also eat outside.

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Having worked as a tourleader in the United Arab Emirates, I have now a chance to make some comparisons between the restaurant Harmooni and those restaurants in Dubai. It is indeed equitable to say that in my mind the customercare has been well intrenalized in...Restaurant Harmooni. What a pleasant detail it was to hear the waiter to point out a chance to use the local ingredients in preparing the menu. And, here comes the professionality of Harmooni´s chefs expertise in use. Yes, there is no need to elaborate more on the matter. Without doubt chefs have been endowed with the wisdom how to reach the enjoyment in customercare in foodtaste.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Original Sokos Hotel Alexandra
327 reviews
.10 km away
Scandic Jyvaskyla City
225 reviews
.14 km away
Hotelli Milton
65 reviews
.23 km away
Solo Sokos Hotel Paviljonki
561 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Figaro Restaurant
258 reviews
.19 km away
Ravintola Shalimar
178 reviews
.07 km away
Trattoria Aukio
211 reviews
.30 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Toivolan Vanha Piha
99 reviews
.67 km away
The Craft Museum of Finland
48 reviews
.45 km away
Jyvaskyla Art Museum
28 reviews
.47 km away
Jyvaskylan Kaupunginteatteri
5 reviews
.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Harmooni Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harmooni Restaurant

Yes, Harmooni Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Harmooni Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5