We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
About
Legendary fish and seafood restaurant by the sea within walking distance to Helsinki city center. Fresh seafood and fish dishes not forgetting vegetarian and meat options available.
PRICE RANGE
€10 - €100
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
CUISINES
Scandinavian, Seafood, International, European, Soups
FEATURES
Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Free Wifi, Dog Friendly, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (412)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
78
69
27
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
78
69
27
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels seafood sea food platter soup lovely service seaside euro interior
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Visited during a Monday evening when the restaurant was rather quiet. I was surprised by this as many restaurants in the area were closed and so I thought is would be busier. We ordered the seafood platter which is designed to be shared by two....First we were served a selection of starters, which included the super tasty smoked mussels with blue cheese and garlic butter. The main platter includes a good mix of hot and cold seafood, all of which we enjoyed. We finished with some ice cream which included a rather unusual Finnish flavour tar! A sweet, smokey flavour, apparently produced by burning wood.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2024 via mobile

Fantastic find for our first dinner in Helsinki I had the Fresh Blue Muscles, the best that I have had in a VERY long time, delicious . My husband had the fish soup. It was like a French fish soup with some wonderful additions, including...a bit of heat. It left my husband happily quiet for quite a while . 😂 My tiger prawn Thermidor was out of this world . The prawns were so fresh and however it was put together was soo tasty . My husband's prawn and brioche was very impressive and tasty too. We are so pleased we found this restaurant. Now our problem is to find equally good restaurants for the next few evenings. I highly recommend this restaurant for fish meals 😊More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

The restaurant is little odd from outside (some naked mermaid figure? And old small building). Inside was nice and comfy for us and staff was nice but maybe one more star would be here if welcoming have been more professonal (now lady just looked us...and we told that we have resevation and she just ”with name..?” ”Ok, you can go there”. Food was really nice and our waiter was nice and on time for us. 4/5 :-) warmly recommend also for familys.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maestro Markus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Hi Sara! Thank you for your visit and review. The mermaid has long traditions as well as our location in Hietalahti Port. One could say the surroundings are kind of industrial romantic with sea view. All the best, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

Our family of 5 (a senior and 2 kids of 12 & 9) went for dinner on a Saturday night and it was a very good meal! We made reservation a few days before via TA. We didn't have a full meal as we already...ate much at the market halls earlier that day. We tried the shrimps - starter was huge size, and main dish, both very fresh; the mussels starter was also of a big portion and nice too; salmon soup was creamy style and small size was enough. We took a tram there from city centre and it was a bit of a walk in the snow, but still glad that we went.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maestro Markus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Hi Patricia! Many thanks for your review. We are glad to hear the whole family enjoyed the experience. All the best, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

One of the best meals I have had in quite awhile and the service was A-1 - I would rate it an 11 out of 10. Had the Chef’s menu which was superb. I would definitely go back again and highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maestro Markus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2023

Hi there! Thanks for your kind review. Happy to hear you enjoyed the experience with us. Very much welcome again when in Helsinki. Thanks, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 7 April 2023

We pushed the boat out for the chef's recommendation and matching wine. This was our most expensive meal in Helsinki at AUD300 but worth every cent. Delicious seafood, lots of it, and beauitfully matched wines. In summer you'd be looking at boats bobbing in the...marina. In April we were looking at one boat and the last scraps of sea ice. Lovely service. Ambience is 'wooden shack', which suits the food very well.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maestro Markus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2023

Hey there! Thank you a lot for your review. Happy to hear you had a great time at our restaurant. Very well described the experience one can expect while visiting us. All the best, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

Food was excellent, both soups was very tasty and the smaller one big enough. Grilled crabs also good. Ice cream ball was big! There was two employee at serving, other one was excellent, but the second one not so smiling. Price level reasonable. We will...come again.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maestro Markus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2023

Hello Ari! Thank you for your visit and review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our classic soups which I believe to be creamy salmon soup and bouillabaisse. Welcome back any time! Regards, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

We very much enjoyed this meal! Each dish was fresh and delicious. We had the set four course menu with the wine pairing included and it was well worth it. The staff was friendly and attentive, highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maestro Markus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2023

Hi there! Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great time at our restaurant. All the best, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Near sea side one of the best place You need to have reservations for weekends. Soup, mussel and seafood starters were very tasty

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleaterMarkus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2023

Hi there! Thanks a lot for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us by the sea. Thanks, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 13 August 2022 via mobile

Awful, just awful on all accounts. I have visited this restaurant since 90s, will never again. Staff, just fire them. The service on below par the way never seen before. Just waste of money.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleaterMarkus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2023

Hi there! I am sorry to hear about your experience and I apologize for it. Would love to learn more what could have gone this wrong with your visit. I hope you discussed your experience with our staff onsite. Regards, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 12 July 2022 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went here for a romantic seafood dinner. The service was very nice, and the restaurant itself also looked good. We ordered the royal sea food platter to share, and the starters were very good. The main seafood platter was a bit...dissapointing. The seafood itself didn't look very appetizing. The oysters almost looked scrambled, which I have never seen before. Shrimps were dry, and most of the cooked seafood tasted very overcooked and dry. Mussels were completely cold and chewy. Some of the shrimpes we didn't dare to eat because they looked green. We ate most of the seafood platter, and it was okay. But overall it was a dissapointing meal considering the price of 100€. Would maybe go back for the good service and the amazing fish-soup, but I would recommend to not order the seafood platter. I would also like to add that we did not bother to complain/inform the waiters about our issues, as it wasn't completely terrible, and we didn't want to make a big deal out of it. But judging by the rest of the reviews it doesn't seen like we are the only people with this experience.. :(More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleaterMarkus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Hi Irene! Thanks you for your review and apologies for your bad experience. We always use the most fresh seafood and aim to cook and prepare everything for perfection which is why I am a bit surprised. We always encourage and hope for direct feedback...More

Reviewed 16 June 2022

Lovely food, but tiny portions and expensive. Not really much else to say. One starter, 2 mains, a couple of drinks >£80 and we left still hungry

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleaterMarkus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Hi there! Thanks for your review. We always love to hear feedback on the spot and fix issues if those arise right away. Regards, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 15 June 2022 via mobile

Whilst the exterior of this restaurant is tired and unwelcoming the interior, staff and cuisine was excellent. Beautifully presented and perfectly cooked dishes complemented by a nice varied wine list. Made for a perfect end to my stay in Helsinki

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleaterMarkus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Hi! Thank you for your review. Your words kindly describe how our chef Markus wants the food and experience to be. Regards, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 14 June 2022

Nice view and fresh sea food near Helsinki centrum with sea view. You can park the car infront of the restaurant its so convenient!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleaterMarkus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Thank you for your review. Regards, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 9 May 2022 via mobile

High quality seafood in a comfortable setting. The atmosphere is rather casual, but the food has a gourmet feel. I had a 4-course menu for 49 euro, which was well worth the price. The cod was cooked to perfection and the presentation of the food...was very pleasing. The accompanying wine menu cost 35 euro and came in generous glasses, but the pairing with the food was not spot-on.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HeleaterMarkus, Marketing at Restaurant Merimakasiini, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Hi Isabelle! Thanks a lot for your review. BR, Maestro Markus

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
1,249 reviews
.16 km away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki
1,257 reviews
.28 km away
GLO Hotel Art
2,049 reviews
.48 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Albert
413 reviews
.53 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Restaurant Kannas
503 reviews
.33 km away
Salve
780 reviews
.17 km away
Tokyo Street Helsinki
67 reviews
.29 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sinebrychoff Art Museum
222 reviews
.38 km away
West Harbour
102 reviews
.41 km away
Baana
31 reviews
.41 km away
Sinebrychoff Park
15 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GoPlaces28446700220
29 May 2023|
Answer
Response from Sara H | Reviewed this property |
Is that a question? Tripadvisor has sent this to me as a question... and I have to respond otherwise they will down grade me.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RESTAURANT MERIMAKASIINI, Helsinki - Kampinmalmi - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurant Merimakasiini

Restaurant Merimakasiini is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4