We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
Sat, 31/7
Reserve a table
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless payment
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Demo
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews



US$93 - US$125
European, Scandinavian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

0.4 km from The Esplanadi Park
Improve this listing

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

An unassuming-looking building hides this intimate room with oversized cotton pendant lights, striking red chairs, and candlelit tables. Choose 5, 6 or...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
One MICHELIN Star: High quality cooking, worth a stop!
Comfortable restaurant
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish broth profiteroles amuse bouche bread oysters beef wine pairing course menu michelin star restaurant main course expensive wine sommelier dish burbot surprises mouth desert
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered sparkling water. They served us still water and I had to correct them. My date ordered the wine pairings and asked for half pours, which they said could be arranged. Then they offered my date an upgrade champagne for the wine package after...which another server took away the champagne glass the other server had just placed on the table and attempted to pour him the cheaper wine. The servers obviously didn't communicate with each other at all and I think it's a huge embarrassment for the restaurant when a guest has to correct them twice within 15 minutes. We'd been sat for an hour before we got the first course. The wine glass saga continued: at one point they brought my date a champagne flute and then took it away without any explanation. The table next to us ordered the same 7-course menu but their table setting was different. Obviously this doesn't make any concrete difference but just shows how flustered the staff were and on the whole the service was embarrassingly amateurish. In the end they charged us for the full wine package but unfortunately we noticed this only after we'd left the restaurant. After this absolute mess of an evening it's hard to say for certain but it seems that one of the servers was serving half pours and the other one full glasses. In any case, this is a problem when the guest wants half pours and obviously wants to pay only for what they ordered. A Michelin star restaurant should not be making mistakes like these. Why they have the star is a complete mystery. They shoud lose it because service is such an essential part of any fine dining experience. They did only slightly better in 2019 but even then I remember them being the weakest Michelin star place in Helsinki. Food: meh.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the six-course tasting menu with wine pairings. All courses were excellent and fit the season. The wines elevated each course and our sommelier was the star of the late afternoon visit. You will not regret eating here.

Date of visit: May 2021
Reviewed 13 November 2020 via mobile

Unfortunately, it took 3 weeks to write this, so I don't remember everything we ate, and all the food in the menu won't be the same anymore. However, the overall impression was noted down at the time. The service in the dining hall was great,...but unfortunately the general opinion was that the M star would probably not stay at the door with these foods. Likewise, the pairing of wines didn’t quite match our tastes. I suspect that during these quiet times, bottles had to be fetched from the basement out of aging. And not all of them were originally thought to be paired to the menu. Especially the extraordinarily fine, dry and sour small producer champagne was an quite unsuitable companion to the overly lean fish dish with which it was served as part of the wine menu. Half of the 6-course menu was excellent, if all had been on the same level 4 points would have been available from me i.e Now a couple of underruns (in the main dishes) and the pairing of the wines dropped a point. Hopefully the world and Demo will be back to normal soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

We had a six course dinner. Every course was perfectly thought through and had a feature which really captured your attention. Sommelier made a very good wine suggestion which worked very well through the meal. It is good to discuss with the sommelier instead of...just taking the wine package. The personnel not just brought the food and wine to the table but made the dinner into great experience.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Reviewed 13 March 2020

I went here to have a birthday dinner with my girlfriend. There is no menu, and you don't know what you are going to get until it is brought out. That said the first three appetizers were delicious and a true treat for the mouth....The main course was OK, the pile of stinky cheese I could have done without and the dessert was tasty. The price was not cheap. Adding to that was the fact that we were charge for tap water... 4.50 a bottle. It was a birthday meal and they came over when we were seated and said happy birthday would you like some champagne? Where I come from that is a nice treat from the restaurant... in Finland it turns out to be 22 euro a glass!!! The food is good but they do everything they can to part you from your money.More

Date of visit: March 2020
TuulaJuu, Restaurant Manager at Demo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2020

Thank you for your feedback Kalisilat! We are sorry to hear that we couldn't delivered totally what you expected. Our menu is ever evolving and our kitchen continues to challenge itself with their ideas. I will pass your feedback to the team and we will...More

Reviewed 13 February 2020

We were in Iceland for 2 weeks and had an 8 hour transit in Helsinki before our flight home. We decided that a good meal was the way to end our trip and Demo did not disappoint! Of course we had to have the 7...course menu and every dish was excellent. The standout dishes were the seafood dishes - mussel cream soup, Arctic char, braised burbot and the desserts. However, the one that really blew my mind wasn't on the main menu but the butter that was served with the bread. The butter was infused with beef fat and OMG that glorious butter! Service was great and the servers were able to explain what went into each dish. We would have liked to sit back and take a bit longer to enjoy the meal and experience. Unfortunately, we had a flight to catch and took about 2 hours for the 7 course meal.More

Date of visit: February 2020
TuulaJuu, Muu at Demo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thank you for your review! We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. We hope to get a change to welcome you back to Demo someday without the time restrictions!

Reviewed 28 January 2020 via mobile

We remember two things about our meal at Demo. First of all the take themselves very seriously. The second is the eye-wateringly expensive wine list. Now in fairness, with a half decent bottle costing 20 Euros in the supermarket, no Helsinki wine list is going...to be a bargain. But at Demo they seem to multiply by 5 (as a lot of starred establishments do) and then add a two or three digit random number. We went for the four course tasting menu, for which the wine flight is 52 Euros. But on enquiry we discovered that each of the four glasses was 80mls. So 52€ for less than half a bottle of wine. We ordered one of the 2 or 3 sub-100€ bottles instead. There were many on the list over 200 and 300 Euros (and upwards). Then food, to be frank, was disappointing. The signature amuse bouches- charcoal profiteroles - were lukewarm and chewy. The first course of salmon and fish broth was quite pleasant. The wagyu beef was cooked OK but was unexceptional, and then we discovered that it was sourced from ....... Australia! Locavorism was well in evidence elsewhere in Helsinki, but clearly hasn't reached Demo. The buckthorn desert was bitter sweet but not in a nice way. So unfortunately our meal was memorable for all the wrong reasons, and the staff don't take kindly to non-worshippers.More

Date of visit: December 2019
TuulaJuu, Restaurant Manager at Demo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

We are really sorry to hear that you had a negative experience in our restaurant and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback! We want to honor your feedback by giving you a thorough answer and also clear some things that you have pointed...More

Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

My wife and I could only get a table at 4pm. We tried the 7-courses tasting menu. All were very delicious and some were really surprises, the breads, the white fish, the beef and in particular one of the desserts, the Apple mille-feuille which we...tried Apple sweets in different formsMore

Date of visit: December 2019
TuulaJuu, Restaurant Manager at Demo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Thank you for your nice feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our menu and we hope that we can welcome you to Demo again some day!

Reviewed 11 November 2019 via mobile

An excellent 8-course menu with wine pairing. Fine dining with a professional yet casual service. Out of the 8 courses, would say only one of them was a disappointment (the one with oysters: did not like the texture of the oysters and the mangalitza pork...was nowhere to be seen or tasted). The wines paired well, and the sommelier definitely knew her job. All technically well prepared, as it should. Apart from that one course very hard to point out any flaws, but then a couple of weeks later cannot remember a specific dish that would strike out as something unforgettable.More

Date of visit: November 2019
TuulaJuu, Restaurant Manager at Demo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear how you experienced our service. That professional yet casual -style of service is exactly what we want to cherish at Demo. In the other hand we are sorry to hear that you didn't like the...More

Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

Second time dining at Demo on our recent stopover in Helsinki and it is every bit as good as we remembered, if not better. We enjoyed a 5 course menu with wine matching - all of it excellent. The friendly staff are knowledgeable and attentive,...and the meal moves at a perfect pace. If you’re a local you probably already know about this gem. If you’re visiting like us the take the time to experience some really good food!More

Date of visit: October 2019
TuulaJuu, Restaurant Manager at Demo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. We are looking forward to see you again at Demo!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Easy Homes Bulevardi 12
13 reviews
.07 km away
Klaus K Hotel
1,870 reviews
.15 km away
Anna Hotel
471 reviews
.22 km away
Hotel St George
411 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
205 reviews
.14 km away
Cafe Bar No 9
687 reviews
.02 km away
750 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Old Church (Vanha kirkko)
63 reviews
.12 km away
The Old Church Park (Vanha kirkkopuisto)
39 reviews
.17 km away
8 reviews
.15 km away
Los Cojones
22 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Demo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Demo

Yes, Demo is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Demo is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4