Ravintola Rioni

Ravintola Rioni

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+358 50 5512264+ Add website
Hours
Sun
13:00 - 21:00
Mon
11:00 - 22:00
Tue
11:00 - 22:00
Wed
11:00 - 22:00
Thu
11:00 - 22:00
Fri
11:00 - 0:00
Sat
13:00 - 0:00
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
€6.00 – €60.00
CUISINES
International, Eastern European, Georgian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant allow dogs or considered pet friendly?
PRICE RANGE
€6.00 – €60.00
CUISINES
International, Eastern European, Georgian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Table Service, Dog Friendly, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles310 reviews
Excellent
249
Very good
42
Average
12
Poor
4
Terrible
3
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Kim H
Helsinki105 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 none
Rioni Helsinki is already the third Rioni, with the first two in Espoo and Turku. I've tried both of those many times and they have been briliant each time. Now, with a dinner and lunch also at Rioni Helsinki, I'm happy to say that the same warmth of service and quality of food is still around.¨ Rioni Helsinki has the perfect central location and the newly renovated building still sparkles. The highlight is the four story atrium that really lifts the mood even on a snowy day. The service is, as mentioned, genuinely warm and lighting fast. The food is sublime, I barely had better in Tbilisi. And to top it all the prices are very reasonable. This is sure to be a hit in Helsinki and with good justification.
Written 21 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Raija N
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 friends
I tried Rioni the second time (first one being in Espoo), and those who know the first location and business history, you have no choice but to be super proud of the owners of what they have achieved! The food quality is even better (if possible), wine was exquisite (I heard they are importing it themselves) and the service is excellent. We sat at the inner courtyard, and I loved how I could feel like I was sitting outside somewhere in a warm country. I am forecasting a huge success for this restaurant.
Written 30 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Henrik S
Turku4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 none
We were in Helsinki for a short weekend trip and decided to have lunch at Rioni – an excellent choice! I had the best Hachapuri ever (Adjaruli), and for the main course, we had beef stew and a walnut chicken soup. However, the amazing meal was yet surpassed by the friendliness and professionality of the staff. While ordering, I managed to make myself misunderstood and there was a minor mix-up in our orders. The waiter apologised and generously allowed us to keep both the beef stew while also bringing us the chicken stew, which I had intended to order in the first place. On top of that, the waitress swung by the table and offered us a second glass of wine on the house for our troubles (which we sadly had to turn down due to the early time of the day). It was nice to be taken care of by such accommodating and friendly employees, who genuinely cared for their customers whilst appearing to enjoy their time at work. We will visit Rioni Helsinki again soon!
Written 23 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Veera A
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 couples
1. The table was booked beforehand but we were waiting a waiter for 35 minutes to come and serve us. 2. Then, waiter forced us to leave to another table in the darker corner even though the one we took did not have reserved sign. 3. We were waiting for food another 30 min and nobody asked us about wine or other drinks to make waiting a time pleasant. 4. We order grilled meat that was like a rubber. Other dishes were full of basic species and huge amount of salt that have nothing to do with Georgian cuisine we tried in Georgia. Khachapuri however was fine. 5. So, compare to Georgian Kitchen it is very far from real Georgian tastes and customer service is really poor when in other restaurants we were nicely served and waiters were always flexible to make our stay happy! 6. Big frustration as we expected the same experience as in Georgian Kitchen but Rioni made us wait in total 1h, did not see us in the hall serving big groups, forced us to move to other tables so our date became the worst ever experience we did not expect from Georgian restaurant! So I would only recommend Rioni if you look for nice interior and good location close to the center, However, for real Georgian flavors and hospitality I would choose Georgian Kitchen in Punavuori. Not sure about other Georgian restaurants in Helsinki as we have not yet visited those!
Written 8 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

indexeo
Helsinki5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
We booked table for 8 people on a perfect beautiful day but it was ruined by the restaurant and staff. Rude service, zero hospitality and average food. One of us never received his meal and waitress completely ignored him. She said sorry and walked away. Some of the meals descriptions on English menu do not match the Finnish menu nor the price. The waitress asked us to say the number of the meal on the menu when ordering. We did that. When I received my food I told her I did not order this. This is completely different from what is written on the menu. She reacted in rude way by holding the menu in front of everyone and said, you ordered this and we only have this. When I paid the invoice, I found out the the cost of the meal on the English menu was 11€ different with completely different description on the Finnish menu. The waitress reacted in very unprofessional way and started checking if I have paid the right amount of money for a meal I did not order. I told her that, and she said we are sorry we are 4 months old restaurant and walked away. Shame on you. Learn how to serve people before making food.
Written 17 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sini S
Hi, We are very sorry for your poor experience. We have a strong dedication to customer service, and all reviews are taken very seriously. I am personally sorry for the mistake in the english menu. The waitress did try to fix the situation by telling we are new; meaning that this mistake was not noticed before. I am sorry that we had to notice it in such an unfortunate way of serving wrong food to client. I take full responsibility, since the mistake of the menu is mine. We have now fixed this problem. However, you had to pay 11€ less that was on the menu. I am sorry if that made you feel uncomfortable. Still, we obviously want to refund the meal you did not order. I hope you accept a gift card, we would love to try to give you a better experience next time!
Written 7 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

s ja e
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 couples
Food was really good....when we finally got it...after 2 hours of waiting. There was some misunderstanging between the waiters and the kitchen, and many couples had to wait for two hours for their dinner. Eventually, The situating was apologised and compensated. All good everything.
Written 5 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Al Soufi
Helsinki89 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 family
Our main objective for visiting Rioni restaurant is not to fill stomach, rather to taste the Georgian dishes. We ordered a starter that combined several items. The taste was ok but nothing special. The main courses were grilled veal on large size skewers, and Georgian sausages resting on a layer of potatoes swimming in oil in small cooking pot container. We liked, the spices used in the sausages that provided unique taste to the sausages. With regard to the grilled meat, unfortunately we were disappointed. The meat was very chewy of rubber like texture as if the meat was taken frozen and melted quickly. We thought the meat was not marinated. Grilled meat should be medium rare with nicely charred exterior. Other remark, the large skewers come on large plate that does not fit perfectly on the table and it was served with bread and three types of sauces without potatoes or rice. However, there are other dishes in the menu could be more interesting and worth trying. They serve also different styles of bread stuffed or covered with cheese and other fillings, they were tasty. The food portions were generous and prices within the range in Finland. Finally, the staff who served us were all friendly and attentive. Thanks to all of them.
Written 31 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeffrey D
Griffin2678 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 couples
This was our first introduction to Georgian cuisine and we couldn’t have had a nicer evening. The staff were all very friendly, taking time to walk us through the menu, and seating in the inner courtyard area felt more comfortable and casual than the more formal front dining room. We ordered the Supra platter for two and it was a huge amount of food for the two of us. (We really didn’t need the tomato and cucumber salad my wife ordered as a side.) The platter allowed us to sample a lot of different things, but half the dishes were cheese-forward, so be aware if someone has issues with dairy. The cheese bread was delicious, but my favorite was the sausage kebabs. The excellent Georgian wines were very helpful for cutting through the heavier dishes. Save room for the dessert that comes with the platter. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice meal with family, friends or for business.
Written 21 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Irma
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 none
We had booked a dinner for two and the food and drinks were great, especially the khachapuri! However, the service left room for improvement: the waiters were kind and nice when they came to us, but from time to time it was difficult to get any service. The staff was very busy all the time and after being seated at the table we had to wait around 20 minutes before we even got the menus to look at. The food itself arrived pretty fast and was delicious (and filling!), but then again getting the check took quite some time. Also, when receiving our drinks, my glass was very dirty. Additionally. we were placed in a table right besides the bar where the waiters were passing by constantly and the tables were so close that our chairs were touching other customers' table chairs. The patio/inner court of the restaurant itself was so pleasant and atmospheric - and spacious too - so why the space there was used so impractically? These may sound just like minor details but they still contribute to the whole restaurant experience.
Written 5 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Alexandra S
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 friends
We visited Rioni on the opening night, as we couldn’t wait for the our favorite restaurant to open in the heart of Helsinki and closer to our home. Loved the interior, the warm inner yard transports your to sunny Georgia, which is especially valuable at these times and in snow covered Helsinki. The staff was very friendly, ready with recommendations and explaining the background to the wines and food. And the food.. OMG.. DELICIOUS.. we had a Georgian in our company and he felt home straight away. Very fresh, delicious and generous portions dishes, tasty wines and lemonades, truly something for all! Highly recommend! Thank you to the owners and the staff for bringing this jewel to our city and wishing you a great and successful journey ahead! P.s. you know it is a good sign when you don’t even pause to take a picture of your food. It was so good that we just jumped straight to eating😂on the picture is a second portion of hinkali ;)
Written 20 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

278arjak
Espoo57 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 couples
We got a table and the waiter cleaned it for us. Then We waited for about half an hour to see the menu list. Nobody noticed us and we could not decide what to eat because we did not have the lists. After all we got the menus and the waiter even said in Finnish ”anteeksi ” although she otherwise spoke only English. Then we ordered supra menu for two persons. And we waited for about an hour for the food. In supra menu they have salad and bread which could have been served to us while we were waiting hungry. Food was good but the waiting time was too much.
Written 10 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Pete O
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 none
Had dinner here for a special group occasion, the atmosphere in the court yard was a very pleasant experience with the service being friendly professional and informative. So many new and tasty dishes with generous serving sizes all which were absolutely delicious coupled with the Georgian wine. It was an amazing evening out
Written 12 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PTDurham
Durham560 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 friends
We were seated by a very friendly and knowledgeable waitress who went through the various dishes with us to help us with our choices. The food was very tasty and piping hot. We had one starter each and one main each with water and one glass of beer. Total €99.50 This was an expensive dinner but service was excellent and food was good
Written 20 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

federicacavo
28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 friends
I had dinner there with a friend. We ordered the dumplings to share, a Shkhmeruli, a Kharcho, and two glasses of dry red Georgian wine. Everything was excellent and the portions were generous. The Kahrcho was chili, and I appreciated it very much. The staff is polite and always smiling. Definitely recommended.
Written 9 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Aoife Kane
County Wicklow582 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 couples
We had a delightful meal here,all the food was freshly cooked and delicious. The only downside was that our waitress upsold us some corn bread,we had already ordered cheese bread and then a basket of bread arrived,so we had way too much food,so much that we struggled to fit it on the table. We had the stuffed aubergine, there were no dumplings available which was a disappointment. We shared the beef stew and the BBQ pork with vegetables ( sweet pepper and courgette). Also a friend potato and dish, very tasty. Comfortable surroundings that are actually an outdoor courtyard that is covered over, friendly staff, great English for us visiting Finland. A proper home cooked meal, you could smell the BBQ food. Highly recommend.
Written 3 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 267
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Fulbari
€€ - €€€ · Nepalese
Gastro Hub
€€ - €€€ · International, Georgian
Baskeri & Basso
€€ - €€€ · European, Central European
Gran Delicato
€€ - €€€ · Cafe, Mediterranean, European, Greek
Ravintola Kuu
€€ - €€€ · European, Scandinavian
Pompier Espa
€€ - €€€ · European, Central European, Scandinavian
Everest Katajanokka
€€ - €€€ · Indian, Asian, Nepalese
Ravintola Nerone
€€ - €€€ · Italian, Pizza
Restaurant Kannas
€€ - €€€ · European, Scandinavian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RAVINTOLA RIONI, Helsinki - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Helsinki HotelsHelsinki Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Helsinki
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire