We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, European, Scandinavian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (152)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
24
47
18
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
24
47
18
6
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 November 2021 via mobile

Amazing view, excellent food and service. Definitely something different and unique. Well worth a visit. Lunch is buffet, but really good one.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Markus V, Marketing at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2022

Thank you a lot for your kind review. Regards, Maestro Markus

Reviewed 10 July 2020

This is one of the more interesting tall buildings in the Helsinki area: a water tower on a hill, looking like a huge three-legged UFO, rising up to 76 meters. One can see the surrounding western suburbs of Helsinki (which mostly look like forest), the...sea, and dozens of islands in the Gulf of Finland. Very nice in summer and in good weather. The restaurant focuses on buffet lunches (and you can book the whole place for your event or function for the evening.) The buffet seems to stay roughly the same day to day and year to year. There is a selection of appetizers (all cold): several types of fish and seafood, salads, roast beef, roast duck, breads. This is followed by mains, of which there are only two: beef sirloin in red wine sauce, and oven-baked salmon with steamed veggies and oven-baked creamy sliced potatoes on the side. And finally there are desserts: two types of ice cream, cakes, fruit, mousse chocolat, some other pastry. All the food was good and relatively well made. The only thing to complain was that nothing was really outstanding. If you have taken the cruise ships that shuttle between Helsinki and Stockholm, and have taken the dinner buffet there, this is roughly the same thing (but with a far more narrow selection of dishes.) There is nothing wrong with this, and if you are after the setting with great views over Espoo, you might be quite happy with your experience. But I would not come here for the food only! If you are not interested in the views, you could go to any of a number of higher-end restaurants in the center of Helsinki and get much more exciting food for the same amount of money. So I don't think this restaurant has many repeat customers. I came here for a family event, and also the rest of the parties seemed to be there for some special occasion (weddings is my guess). Outside the summer vacation period there might be some business types having lunch with their clients. The place was only half full on a beautiful July afternoon. I last visited in 1994 or 1995. And might visit again in the 2030ies.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
heleatsnoora, Markkinointi at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2020

Hi Jussi and thank you for the very profound review. During summertime we have a light version of our legendary scandinavian buffet lunch available. Main courses do vary and we take seasonalities into account in our buffet menu. Welcome to try out our full buffet...More

Reviewed 20 February 2020 via mobile

Took advantage of the ”children eat for free with adults” campaign and everyone left with a smile on their face. The starter buffet table is insanely good! Especially the seafood side is not to be missed. For the main course salmon or a steak was...offered today, both disappointing afyer the starters. Ending on a high note, the desert buffet is just fantastic. Views are excellent as expected, but with clear skies only.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
heleatsnoora, Markkinointi at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Hi Sebastian! Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the starter and dessert buffet. You are warmly welcome back anytime! Best regards, Maestro Noora

Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

Delicious buffet in the height! A superb panorama restaurant with lovely food, friendly staff and a breathtaking view. Nice terrace. Must be an excellent place to stay for open air lunch in the summer!

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
heleatsnoora, Guest Relations Manager at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019
Google Translation

Hei! Kiitos mukavasta palautteestasi! Parhain terveisin, Maestro Noora

Reviewed 30 September 2019

Excellent fish and meat buffet. I enjoyed the fish very much (the salmon was delicious), good red and white wine. Quality service. To go up you can choose between the elevator or the stairs (over 200 steps). The view during the day must be super.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
heleatsnoora, Guest Relations Manager at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019
Google Translation

Hei! Kiitos palautteestasi ja toivottavasti näemme uudelleenkin! Parhain terveisin, Maestro Noora

Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Great view at the same time when you eat ” food table”,in which is btw a huge variation of fish, meat and vegetables and also after dinner you can choose coffee /Tea and cakes, icecream, cheese...50€ per person. The place is ex water tower and...the restaurant is at the top, where you can see the sea and even to Tallin if the weather is clear. You can go outside to walk aroundMore

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elli O, Marketing at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Thank you for your review! We appreciate it! Hope to see again!

Reviewed 1 April 2019

Not worth the price. The entree course is ok, the dessert is ok - nothing made really there I imagine. But the main course variety is just ridiculous, for a "fine" restaurant. Potatoes, beef, fish, vegetables. Really low cost offering. If you get a sunny/warm...day you can enjoy the view from the tower. Which we didn't, it was rainy and cold. Not the restaurant's fault of course. But since they ask you to leave all your warm clothes downstairs there's no way you can't even enjoy 5 minutes outside in the terrace, so you leave the place with even a more unpleasant feeling. They could at least have thought of that. So not worth the price, you'll eat better or at least the same in a "normal" restaurant a la carte usally for less than half the price for sure.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elli O, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Hi! Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that our dish did not meet our quality standards this time. We hope that otherwise your experience was great and that you will give us second change at some point. If you...More

Reviewed 31 March 2019

The food is buffet style and extremely high quality. I was fortunate to have a Finnish speaker with me because he could translate the labeled items for me! I don't think I could have picked anything bad, regardless! Ambience is quiet and the view is...fabulous, of course (you're on top of a water tower!) There is an outer terrace area where one can go to take photos, but it was bitterly cold the day we were there, so I didn't make it to that point.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elli O, Marketing at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

Hi! Thank you for your awesome review! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Elli

Reviewed 24 March 2019 via mobile

I have never had such appouling and outright rude service as we experienced today by my entire family by a menber of staff called Mr Jouni Puustelli who insisted on on 1 minute past 17:00 that you cannot have anything else we are closed (to...keep it short an civil).More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elli O, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Hi! Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet our quality standards this time. We hope that you will give us second change at some point. If you have anything else, do not hesitate to contact...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Sorry to say but When we entered the restaurant no one was interested in us, finally after we asked, someone was kind enough to show os our table No service, all the waiters had something to do, to run around Finally, after 7-8 minutes where...lucky to get one waiter to order the drinks. They came fast and taste was good (Finnish glög), but after that we where not asked a single time what we would like to drink Lucky it was a buffet, so we did get the x-mas buffet, which was ok, except the meet (cold meet, not even ok) Even here no one did care how the buffet did look like. In my opinion you should look after the setting... Any way, I must say, we all where disappointed Hoping next year the service will be on the same levels as beforeMore

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elli O, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Haikaranpesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2019

Hi, many thanks for your review. Next time we'll do our utmost to aim for 5 stars. Thanks, Elli

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Matts
10 reviews
1.62 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Tapiola Garden
364 reviews
2.92 km away
Heymo 1 by Sokos Hotels
2 reviews
4.11 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Espoo
1,204 reviews
4.69 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rioni
150 reviews
.58 km away
Kitty's Milkshake Bar - Iso Omena
67 reviews
1.45 km away
The Gallows Bird
90 reviews
1.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
EMMA - Espoo Museum of Modern Art
176 reviews
2.54 km away
Exhibition Centre WeeGee
68 reviews
2.56 km away
The Great Escape
5 reviews
2.57 km away
Tapiola Garden City
47 reviews
2.96 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haikaranpesa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Haikaranpesä

Haikaranpesä is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4