We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 22/9
20:00

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$18 - US$47
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
12
5
4
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
12
5
4
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent food main course herbs dishes starters terrace madeira
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Fabulous food Fabulous ambience Fabulous staff with a manager who really cares about his customers Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely service, great wine but terrible food. Don’t go and avoid at all costs. Lovely setting for a drink but don’t be fooled!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?3  
Restaurantes Savoy Palace, Outro at Terreiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Gregory, Warm Greetings from Savoy Palace Hotel! We take your feedback very seriously and feel deeply disappointed that we did not fully live up to your expectations. Our service is our top priority and your feedback is valuable in helping us to improve...More

Reviewed 5 August 2021

We were able to book as we are at the sister Hotel. I didn't like our table as we looked directly at a very large screen showing football so they agreed to move us. We were still directly looking at the screen however further away...but by a very high wall and a loud music speaker. They took the food order first. Eventually the aperitif order was made and the bread arrived then the starter & then the aperitif at which point they took away the wine menu. We wanted wine. Twice the staff tried to remove the wine glasses. I ended up with a sparkling water, gin & tonic plus a glass of wine practically all at once!. The food to be fair was ok. My starter was a croquette but mainly of potato, a little tastless. Husbands ginger chicken was fine. Mains - chicken was good but husband's steak was rare not medium and already cut up! Whilst we were there 4 couples and a three were turned away because they were fully booked! Lots of free tables!!!. It seems to be a place for Madeiran families as load of children there. Didnt mind cathedral children all very sweet. Our service was fast but we felt rushed as they wanted to concentrate on the 4 large family tables. Ok for a snack but lacks class. Who wants a large screen at dinner. May as well have given us dinner on a tray so we could watch the TV. Probably won't go back!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Restaurantes Savoy Palace, Outro at Terreiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We would like to express our sincerely apologize for not having lived up to your expectations, we emphasize that we are continually committed to training our staff in order to provide excellent...More

Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

The good : the property and grounds are nice, the hotel is well decorated and it's near the hotel pool so that makes it convenient. The bad: the food. The food is not worthy of a 5 star hotel. In general the food is bland...and not well cooked. We've been there 3 times and each time the quality has deteriorated. I ordered a pork belly dish that was completely burnt, which is impressive given that pork belly has a lot of fat, so burning it takes a very bad chef. The Ugly: The service is horrible. The food takes too long to arrive and the waitstaff is a bit rude / indifferent towards the guests. The restaurant needs a complete overhaul by a competent chef and manager in order to be minimally competitive with the excellent restaurants within 5 to 10 min walk (Avista, Il Galo de Oro, Casal Penha, Quinta da Casa Branca, William, Villa Cipriani... There are almost too many to name)More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Restaurantes Savoy Palace, Outro at Terreiro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dearest Customer, We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that you were not completely pleased with your overall experience at Terreiro. We regret the faulty service provided by some of our staff members. We assure you that these have been duly noted...More

Reviewed 26 July 2021

If you'd like to spend your time in attractive garden without food I can advise this place. But if you'd like to have a good quality food and service I don't recommend to visit Terreiro. For the first course I had suckling pig starter. It...were two pieces of special bread with some overdone pieces of "suckling pig" (or something other. I couldn't determine what it was). For second course I ordered Ribeye steak medium. I was brought a several peaces of meat. It looked as somebody ate this steak before me and chef cut and reheated it. Manager couldn't explain this situation and offered to cook new steak (medium). However, instead of new steak I received two pieces of well done cooked meat. I gave up to eat it. Second manager (or hostess) saw that I haven't eaten this meat and didn't offer any sollution. She only told me that she hope next my visit a steak would be better. But next visit I will spend in other restaurant.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Restaurantes Savoy Palace, Outro at Terreiro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback. We deeply regret that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is of the utmost importance for our continued growth and refinement of the service provided. With regard...More

Reviewed 24 July 2021

We are extremely disappointed with this restaurant and do not recommend it to anyone! Why? We could not book a table either by phone or at the location. The excuse of the one employee, who showed absolutely no interest, was that the person in charge...was currently absent.... Very sad and annoying, as the restaurant with terrace and garden looks beautiful! First time ever that we've experienced anything like this and believe me, we've travelled a lot and in our stay in Madeira we've eaten in at least 15 different restaurants!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

Restaurant manager walks around, speaks to guests with his mask under the nose, at all times. After we got seated, they forgot about us. We had to call them to get our order. After ordering the water, we got another by mistake. Our food got...to our table dried and hard (chicken curry). The sauce was like a watery sauce, no color no taste. Our other dish, the beer sauce meat, arrived with no sauce and very dried also. For the coffee, we asked for 2 whites, very white. It arrived extremely dark with a roasted taste. Awful. When we asked for the bill, it took ages. We had to leave while the manager was dealing with our invoice with the tax number. The whole experience lasted for enable 2 hours. Terrible. Awful. What an example to set to their employees, in all fields. By the way, they allowed customers to walk among the tables without a mask. We did not feel confortable or safe whatsoever. Prevention is the number 1 rule. From a place like Savoy, we expected a hell lot more.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 July 2021

The restaurant space is beautiful, perfect for a summer dinner, sunny lunch or morning brunch. The food is good and they have a great sangria, but the service is terrible. Don’t get me wrong, people are not rude, they simply are very amateur! Take a...very long time to get to you on arrival (during my dinner I saw a couple leaving beach use they were unattended ), your orders take for forever and get to the table on wrong order and sometimes overlapping courses and table service is terrible. For a restaurant that aims to have such a high standard they fall very far from that standard...More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Rarely have I seen such an appalling service. Not twice were we served by the same waiter. Mains came before starters... For which we waited for, for over an hour. We complained to the manager, who offered to make it up with dessert. But when...the moment is ruined, it is just so. Unprofessional and UNBOTHERED. For such a lovely location it is shameful. One might expect much more after a year of pandemic from a restaurant which clearly expects to cater to wealthy tourists.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Restaurantes Savoy Palace, Outro at Terreiro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we could not fully meet your expectations. We would like to point out that service is our top priority and your feedback is...More

Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

We shared a starter (delicious), bottle of rose (lovely), the shoulder of lamb between two (fantastic) and two Chinesa for only €55. The setting was lovely ( despite the big screen TV) the staff plentiful and attentive and the whole evening very enjoyable. An unqualified...recommendation and we shall be returning, soon. Very many thanks for a lovely evening.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Restaurantes Savoy Palace, Hostess at Terreiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2021

Dear Visitor, Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and we are extremely delighted to know your visit with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Hostess Savoy...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
NEXT Hotel
25 reviews
.08 km away
Savoy Palace
390 reviews
.11 km away
Royal Savoy Hotel
957 reviews
.14 km away
Madeira Bright Star
102 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Casal Da Penha
2,131 reviews
.05 km away
Restaurante Hemingway
562 reviews
.13 km away
Dona Amelia Restaurant
775 reviews
.09 km away
Porta do Lado
458 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Capela Nossa Senhora da Penha de Franca
17 reviews
.07 km away
Casino da Madeira
430 reviews
.35 km away
Infante Dom Henrique
15 reviews
.22 km away
ART MALL Gallery
5 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Terreiro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Terreiro

Terreiro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5