We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Popocatepetl

€€ - €€€Mexican, , Vegetarian Friendly
Buitenhof 5, The Hague, The Netherlands
+31 70 392 4607
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good37%
  • Average29%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (8 reviews)
“nice decor” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Mexican, Central American, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Buitenhof 5, The Hague, The Netherlands
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have booked a table online with three mates, was relativly straightforward. The atmosphere looks very Mexican with lots of happy colours, and is located at an busy square in town. The restaurant on an Thuesday night was quite full, though a bit suprised to...More

Thank soehail
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Will never go there again. Poor quality food (frozen food cooked in an oven). Gin and tonics not sold as advertised. Really expensive for what you get!

Thank mrdipzp
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Very expensive even though it is a lot of food. The service was horrible and we needed to wait forever to almost be kicked out at the end very rudely by the waiter. Will not be going back here.

Thank maria1234567892017
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Nice decor, good ambience, busy, nice lighting and table setting. Menu is ok, didn't have a lot of single dishes, lots of sharing. Good selection of drinks.

Thank Ginge362
Reviewed 8 May 2018

I had higher expectations based on my 2 visits at this restaurant 1 & 7 years ago. The quality was somewhat different. We got starters (guacamole & nachos) that were great, a vegeterian burrito , that was a bit overstuffed with cheese inside, vegeterian fajitas...More

Thank Joanna P
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Joanna! Thanks for visiting us again. Unfortunately not as good as expected. We would like to thank you for leaving your feedback. Next time we will try to perform above expectations! Hope to see you back soon! ^Popo

Reviewed 4 April 2018

the food was ok, just standard. the service was really bad, late, mixed orders. but: the location is very nice.More

Thank Tim S
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Tim We would like to thank you for your review. Sorry to read about the poor service during your recent visit. Not our standards, feel free to send us some detailed feedback service and food wise. We hope to see you back at Popo...More

Reviewed 21 February 2018

Centrally located and superbly appointed, this restaurant, named after an active volcano, serves decent Mexican cuisine.

Thank Sraj52
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thanks for the review ^Popo

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 22 people there. We had plenty of delicious mexican food. I especially recommend the vegetarian salad. The quantity was great, though the quality of the food were normal. The rice was a bit overcooked. The staff was very nice (Fatti)...More

1  Thank VanessaMdez
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Vanessa, We would like to thank you for your rating and feedback. hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, ^Team Popo

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped by while visiting The Hague. After walking around all morning and afternoon we stopped in for a bite to eat. I don’t remember the menu out front saying they didn’t serve lunch. We were looking forward to something warm to...More

1  Thank Kraea62
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Kraea62, We are very sorry that your visit to our town ended up in disappointment. Of course, this is not our standard and we hope that you will give us another chance. Kind regards, team popo

Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

I was simply appalled by the service we received during our visit. We specifically ordered the bottle of red Cabernet Sauvignon through way of pointing on the menu and verbally explaining so. Upon filling our glass, we discovered we had been served a bottle of...More

Thank EFleurW
Eric B, Manager at Popocatepetl, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

dear EFleurw, we are very sorry to hear that your visit to our restaurant did not went the way it should. from the waitress point of view, I could understand the mistake however that does not mean you should pay for that mistake. We have...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 69 hotels in The Hague
Boutique Hotel Corona
326 reviews
.06 km away
Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre
817 reviews
.12 km away
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
598 reviews
.24 km away
Paleis Hotel
590 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Umami By Han Den Haag
546 reviews
.03 km away
Instock Den Haag
159 reviews
.09 km away
Brasserie Buitenhof
214 reviews
.10 km away
BIT Grill and Cafe
763 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Binnenhof & Ridderzaal (Inner Court & Hall of the Knights)
987 reviews
.10 km away
Hofvijver
198 reviews
.18 km away
Passage
257 reviews
.09 km away
ProDemos
108 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Popocatepetl staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29 - US$37
Cuisine
Mexican, Central American, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Buitenhof 5, The Hague, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  South Holland Province  >  The Hague>  > Zuidwal
  • Neighbourhood: Zuidwal
  • Phone Number: +31 70 392 4607
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing