We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Akbar Indian Restaurant

€€ - €€€
Stadsdeel Zuid
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 15, 1017 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 624 2211
Today
17:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was an exceptionally negative experience for me. Will never return Mainly service as the staff deeply insulted me and made me feel like I was being bullied.

Helpful?
Thank Ronan H
Sanjay P, Waiter at Akbar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ronan H thank you for taking time to write a review about your 5 minutes of experience in our restaurant. I have answered your friend Stef G allready. First of all i am not the manager so please don't blame the manager. Customers like you we do not want so it was the right thing to leave becoz that's... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying with the trend of previous reviews the service was appalling. After speaking to the manager we realised he was the issue as he was incredibly rude to us. We left and did not eat- best decision of our holiday. The prices are ridiculous, the atmosphere is dead with no guests in restaurant. You simply cannot run a successful business... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stef G
Sanjay P, Waiter at Akbar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Stef G first of all thanks for taking time to write about your 5 minutes experience in our restaurant. WORST SERVICE IN AMSTERDAM but you did not get ANY SERVICE from us becoz you where just for 5 minutes in our restaurant and we did not serve you anything so how could you say that. First of all i... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

The staff were friendly and welcoming, the restaurant atmosphere was nice, the food was served fast but the portion size and taste were average,

Helpful?
Thank malaa2013
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016

The Restaurant is family owned & served. Small. Cozy. Both Food and service are good. Food Tastes good with Indian Flavours.

Helpful?
Thank Manidhar
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful meal in this restaurant. The staff/owners were so friendly and really looked after us. The food was excellent and the tandoori was cooked in the traditional tandor.

Helpful?
Thank Emjmeakin
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016

While there was nothing particularly wrong, Akbar is decidedly "average" when it comes to the food - average sized portion and everything tasted fine but nothing to "blow you away". The meal was delivered quickly and efficiently by polite, helpful waiters and overall it wasn't a bad experience, however, I did think it was pricey for what I got -... More 

Helpful?
Thank monkeyman99
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

This place was a pleasant surprise! We googled to find this place! And it didn't disappoint! The chef was Bangladeshi and he got the food spot on! We ordered mixed starters and delicious mains! Service was brilliant we were well looked after! The main waiter was very friendly and welcoming and helpful! Would recommend to all!

Helpful?
Thank critiqueamin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

The street that this restaurant is on has a lot of other restaurants with salesmen outside trying to lure you into their restaurants. You will notice that Akbar does not have this... because they do not need it. The food was delicious and the manager at the time was very helpful and friendly. The cost was a little higher than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon K
Begur, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2016

Do not go there if you know about indian food. We had to wait about 40 minutes for our food to arrive. The naams were too thick, undercocked and tasteless (I do not use salt but a little bit of it was needed here). We asked for mild but mentioned that we like our food spicy. The food was bland... More 

Helpful?
Thank Agnes M
Sanjay P, Manager at Akbar Indian Restaurant, responded to this review

Response to Mr Agnes Do not go there if you know Indian Food? What do you mean by that? That we are not Indians but Europeans. Its very sad if you can't see the difference between a Indian or a European. For your information, we are from Punjabi India. Punjabi Food is considered the best food in India so how... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Stumbled upon Akbar on our way back from Rijksmuseum. Mattar paneer (pictured) was perfect and "mild," just as requested! Our waiter was quite animated and his assistant (busboy?) had a great sense of humor, which we also enjoyed.

Helpful?
Thank Laura P

Travellers who viewed Akbar Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Akbar Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20 - US$39
Cuisine
Indian, Asian
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 15, 1017 PV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam>  > Stadsdeel Zuid
  • Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
  • Phone Number: +31 20 624 2211

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akbar Indian Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?