We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mr. Pickwick Pub

€€ - €€€, , British
Rathausquai 6 | 6004, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
+41 41 410 59 27
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good48%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (35 reviews)
“burger” (51 reviews)
“onion rings” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Pub, Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rathausquai 6 | 6004, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A night at Pickwicks is a must for everybody visiting Lucerne. We appreciate the great and international mix of people there, as myself I’m a local and go there for more than 20 years. This is a place where you as foreigner / visitor meet...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank PeterCayenneHeiniger
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear PeterCayenneHeiniger A huge thank you for your 5***** review on TripAdvisor - your comments are very much appreciated! We are indeed "a home away from home" for our thriving community, among them a lot of expats. Upon your next visit we highly recommend trying...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This bar is majorly overpriced & staff are disgustingly rude! When I asked to change my drinks order before the drink was made, the waiter slammed the glass back at me and started making rude remarks towards me. I was not impressed and service did...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MelH3078
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was not our first visit to Mr. Pickwick's Pub. We had eaten there on a previous visit so we knew the food was good and the atmosphere quaint. Lots of locals eat here so you know it is good. It is simple pub food...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank smileycruises
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear smileycruises A huge thank you for your 5***** review on TripAdvisor - your comments are very much appreciated! We are indeed "the place where people eat": Upon your next visit we highly recommend trying a surprising new dish from our quarterly changing "Sam Weller's...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018

When we visited in October , we were able to use the outside seating to have lunch . Although nice pub inside , we always find good outdoor seating the best. Food was good and reasonably priced for Switzerland …..great lunch spot if nice day...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank winetravelers2014
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear winetravelers2014 Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed the stunning waterfront scenery with the world-famous Chapel Bridge and Mount Titlis. We do indeed strive hard to provide a great pub experience to our thriving community...More

Reviewed 15 November 2018

We stopped for lunch after exploring Lucerne . The place was packed!! We enjoyed our food and the true pub feel of ordering at the bar and then choosing your seat. The outdoor seating was great with a few of the Chapel Bridge but we...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank DiBC18
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear DiBC18 A big thank you for positive feedback on TripAdvisor - your comments are very much appreciated! We are indeed "the place where people eat" and our motivated team strives hard to provide an authentic British pub experience to our thriving community. Upon your...More

Reviewed 14 November 2018

We stopped by to get some fish and chips along with a cool beer. The bartender was helpful getting our order and drinks. We even enjoyed a "football" match with the locals.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Donny W
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Dear Donny W Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! Our fish 'n' chips in a homemade beer batter are always a good choice - one of the flagships of our food menu and often described as "the best fish 'n' chips...More

Reviewed 28 October 2018

Great location at riverfront, small but friendly pub, prices expensive but okay for Switzerland. Very clean and nice interior. Wifi didn't work as we were here.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank henri_s
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear henri_s A big thank you for your positive feedback - your comments are very much appreciated! We do indeed strive hard to provide an authentic British pub atmosphere to our thriving community and it is always nice to receive praise. We would be pleased...More

Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

When you are getting hangry and don’t want to spend 100 dollars on lunch.. this is a decent choice. Fish and chips and the burger are good options.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Krystina D
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Krystina D Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! Our homemade fish 'n' chips as well as our burgers are always a good choice; they are indeed flagships of our food menu. By the way, every three months we introduce to...More

Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Lots of seating inside - limited outside. Dark wood decor. No seating at the bar, but easy to get your beer and bring it to your table. Great appetizers and beer. Great for a group of people because there is plenty of seating.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Karen P
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Karen P Yes, we are a typical British pub where ordering and paying at the bar belongs to the concept and our team is eager to provide an authentic pub experience to our guests. Our Mr. Pickwick Pub is indeed "the place where people...More

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

It was a nice day and they had the only available table along the riverfront, which was fine. Good drink assortment. Their fries were nice and crispy on the outside and soft in the middle - hit the spot. If you’re seated outside, remember that...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank domhnall_kaps
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mr. Pickwick Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear domhnall_kaps Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you loved our golden fries - they are indeed very popular! By the way, did you know that every three months we introduce to you some new surprising pub...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 hotels in Lucerne
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
332 reviews
.02 km away
Hotel des Alpes
1,239 reviews
.02 km away
Boutique Hotel Weisses Kreuz
416 reviews
.06 km away
Hotel Magic
195 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Stadtkeller Swiss Folklore Restaurant
401 reviews
.12 km away
Blend Teehaus
95 reviews
.03 km away
Restaurant Rathaus Brauerei Luzern
1,037 reviews
.07 km away
Phanat Thai
90 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Luzern
4,764 reviews
.21 km away
Old Town Lucerne
2,503 reviews
.12 km away
Chapel Bridge
5,646 reviews
.04 km away
The Rosengart Collection
665 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
magnetrn
15 May 2016|
Answer
Response from CGGastrag | Property representative |
Hi there! We are open seven days a week, if you are still in town, we‘re looking forward to seeing you around at "the place where people meet“. Best regards
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$25
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rathausquai 6 | 6004, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland (Formerly Mr. Pickwick's)
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Lucerne  >  Lucerne
  • Phone Number: +41 41 410 59 27
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the, "place where people meet" and the, "oldest pub in town". Two great reasons to visit us! We offer great quality pub food, English & Irish beers on tap and much more! Our staff strive to offer an authentic pub atmosphere to ensure our guests feels at home.The pub (above the pub is the Hotel Pickwick) is located on the banks of the river Reuss overlooking the famous wooden chapel bridge and Mt. Pilatus. The pub really is a room with a view!Hope to see you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing