We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Antico Gatoleto

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 30/11
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

#209 of 1,283 Restaurants in Venice
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$17 - US$40
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (1,748)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveller rating
445
278
87
36
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
445
278
87
36
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza bruschetta sea bass first night square
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Excellent quiet location, very family friendly, top notch staff, the wines are delicious, the interior is spacious and the food fantastic!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago

The food, the staff and the place itself was amazing! We did not know what to expect before coming in, but after experiencing it all we can honestly say- its brilliant! Highly recommended!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here by all the TripAdvisor comments. The experience was overly good, just a few issues with the booking. We had to wait 20m after our initial booking for having a table. After that all was good! We had some real good pasta and...wine, and the staff did everything to please us.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Adriano S, Proprietario at Antico Gatoleto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much Jose!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great food, the service was spectacular, location is quaint in a busy area. Would absolutely recommend eating here while in Venice!

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Adriano S, Proprietario at Antico Gatoleto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much BeefyBrooklyn

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We made a reservation for this evening. When we arrived a minute or so before our reservation time, we were completely ignored by around 6 members of staff. We stood awkwardly at the door for a good few minutes with lots of staff passing us...by with no acknowledgement or eye contact. Eventually my husband spoke to someone behind the bar. He shrugged his shoulders & didn't reply but spoke to a colleague in Italian. He then spoke to another staff member who spoke to us with reluctant indifference. We were told that our table wasn't ready & we would have to wait. Meanwhile other people who came in after us were seated. We stood for about 15- 20 minutes at the door, all the while with no apology or any kind of acknowledge that we were still waiting. Needless to say we walked out. I would have expected an apology, a regular update & perhaps a free drink while we were waiting. Avoid.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 September 2021

Food was fantastic, wine was beautiful and to top it all the staff we're amazing. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 25 August 2021 via mobile

The food is good here that's why we visited twice this restaurant. But the service is awful. 2 time they didn't offer diggestivo despite all people around got it, ok, not a problem. Next day we came here for lunch and booked a table through...the fork. The stuff didn't let us 3 times to get the table I liked and tried to offer very uncomfortable tables in the sun or on the way out though there were plenty of tables available. We left very disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Adriano S, Proprietario at Antico Gatoleto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Dear 890yuliap, we are really happy that you appreciate our dishes and sorry that you found service awful. We serve a lot of tables and digestivo can be ordered by anybody, people in Italy usually order it after dinner and pay for it, we offer...More

Reviewed 6 August 2021 via mobile

Quaint, unassuming, and beautiful setting…..oh yea, the food is great too! Really enjoyed just sitting out in the square and letting the afternoon slip by with some delicious Venetian fare.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Adriano S, Proprietario at Antico Gatoleto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you so much BostonERdoc! We also love our campo in the late afternoon.

Reviewed 12 June 2021

We had a nice evening there the food was great, the service was very good and the price was fair. We had Fritto Misto and Calamari Fritti and also a great desert.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Adriano S, Proprietario at Antico Gatoleto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Hello mirgleic, we are happy that you enjoyed Antico Gatoleto and our cuisine! We hope to have you with us again.

Reviewed 7 March 2021

It's like to be at home! Tasting food and wine, service extremely kindly and ambient so comfortable!!

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
Adriano S, Marketing at Antico Gatoleto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

Hi ElenaAjani, our goal is to make guests feel at home. We are happy to have succeeded!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Cannaregio
Cannaregio is the second largest sestiere (district)
with its busy Santa Lucia train station. Many
transplanted Venetians commute from the outlying
areas, “terra firma” to the locals, which is shorthand
for any place that is not Venice. Two Grand Canal
bridges serve Cannaregio, the newest (Constitution,
2008) still a local hotbed of controversy. Ponte degli
Scalzi is a busy link to the train station. Nearby
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Malibran
604 reviews
.15 km away
Al Campiello
12 reviews
.16 km away
Casa Pisani Canal
154 reviews
.17 km away
Hotel Al Vagon
610 reviews
.17 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ca Dolfin
1,029 reviews
.12 km away
Hostaria Bacanera
225 reviews
.10 km away
El Magazen
200 reviews
.05 km away
Un Mondo Di Vino
441 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Santa Maria dei Miracoli
836 reviews
.08 km away
Chiesa dei Santi Apostoli
102 reviews
.17 km away
Chiesa di San Giovanni Crisostomo
52 reviews
.16 km away
Calle Varisco
40 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Penny H
30 August 2020|
Answer
Response from AdrianoS3194 | Property representative |
Sorry, no we are not at the moment
0
Votes
Google Translation
Ronnie D
4 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AdrianoS3194 | Property representative |
Dear Ronnie Dempster, thank you for writing us. You can book a table with The Fork just going on our Tripadvisor's profile and searching the date and time of arrival, there is also a 20% discount. Best Regards
2
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Antico Gatoleto

Yes, Antico Gatoleto is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Antico Gatoleto is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4