We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Socially distanced dining tables
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

MICHELIN Guide's Point of View

From the typical flooring to the decoration on the walls, the warm and appealing decor in this restaurant highlights its historic feel, providing a set...
Read more on MICHELIN Guide
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
447
122
51
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
447
122
51
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soft shell crab seafood pavlova grilled octopus amuse bouche fritto misto tagliatelle spider crab off the beaten track great wine list moeche dolce italians
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

This restaurant truly deserves its reputation as one of the best places to eat, just a short walk from St Marks square it was stand-out food, excellent service and ambiance. We will be back…

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 days ago

Overrated and overpriced. We had been looking forward to the speciality Cassopipa and that was why we decided to eat at the Antiche Carampane. Three different quite rude and unfriendly female waiters served us during the dinner. Antipasti of the day (20 small clams with...one asparagus 25 €!!!! and to small portions of cassopipa 24 €!!! where all the spaghetti was on my friends plate and all the seafood on my plate, is the chef blind? and a toilet which only should be used in utter emergency made our dinner one of the most disappointing ever. Yes Venice is expensive but there are lots of restaurants where you eat excellent without beeing robbed and where you dont’t have to leave hungry. Avoid the Antiche Carampane! A tourist trap.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
Rensid, Owner at Antiche Carampane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite, deve essere proprio dura vivere con questa rabbia e questo livore e non capire che un cartello del...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This restaurant is ABSOLUTELY overrated. I wonder, if they could have any guest at all, if it wasn’t because of some YouTubers. Let’s take a deeper look at it. The first encounter: waitress is very angry, and doesn’t even like to use two more seconds...to describe what all the local Venetian words on the menu mean. We get a starter, which was okay, but again, not anything extraordinary, as they try to sell. And then we got a pasta dish with seafood. The portion was like all the other “wannabe Michelin” restaurants undersized to send a signal that, they are focused on quality. But all I got on my plate was pasta and only pasta. There was no trace of seafood on my plate. Maybe 2 or 3 small clams? Well, I paid 100 euros for that grotesque dish. In the end, I had to use the toilet in this restaurant. There was a note on the toilet’s door, saying that it’s locked and can be used only in an emergency. I mean, hello? What’s an emergency situation regarding this? Isn’t a normal service you can get in any restaurant?!? Should I pee in my pants to be eligible for using your wc?!? Seriously guys, please look for other places, if you want to enjoy a better food experience, this place is totally overrated, and was the worst experience I had in Venice so far.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Rensid, Owner at Antiche Carampane, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite, deve essere proprio dura vivere con questa rabbia e questo livore e non capire che un cartello del...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place advertises itself as antitourist, but it was actually pretty much full of non-locals. Having said that, the food was very good – authentic venetian food. However, the prices were definitely tourist prices. I’ve had similar quality at other places for quite a bit...less money. €25 for a bowl of pasta is simply just too much, unjustifiably high. But no complaints about the quality overall.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had long wanted to visit this restaurant and we thought the food and wine were very good. The service was a bit rushed and we felt under a bit of pressure to eat and drink quicker than we would have liked.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 8 April 2022

We thought this restaurant was super. It had been recommended by friends and well worth it too. It was off the beaten track and the food was exemplary and interesting. It was not cheap but worth every penny.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 April 2022 via mobile

We had lunch there and the most delicious meal. Everything was so tasty. And the staff lovely. Can’t wait to return to this restaurant!

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 February 2022 via mobile

Food was really good and the service was swift but impersonal - felt like we were in a foodie destination conveyor belt - so overall a bit disappointed

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 December 2021

It was a treat to return here and share it with my girlfriend. It is a small, cozy, and welcoming place. Service is friendly and helpful. My girlfriend is not a seafood eater, but the waitress brought her a puréed cauliflower and cabbage amuse bouche...with pomegranate. I was given a tasty fish ball. Then my girlfriend had tagliatelle with lamb ragu. I started with grilled octopus with fresh vegetables in a creamy potato sauce. My main was fritto misto of calamari, red mullet, sardines, sole, shrimp, and soft shell crab, with a few veggies. We shared a dessert of whipped cream with chopped hazelnuts and bars of chocolate coated ice cream. Everything was excellent. I look forward to coming back.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 December 2021

Went here for my husbands birthday - such a delicious dinner - the service was fantastic - great wine list - lovely atmosphere - loved everything about it - we'd definitely go back

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
San Polo
The Rialto Bridge is the most famous sight along the
Grand Canal in San Polo, smallest of Venice's six
sestieri (districts) and by far the busiest
neighbourhood. Morning Venetians arrive to peruse the
markets for fish, fruit and vegetables, while shops
display goods from cheese to wine to desserts. San
Silvestro and Rialto Market vaporetto (water taxi)
stops add to the steady stream of foot traffic. San
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Casa Tanzi
3 reviews
.11 km away
La Finestra Sulle Beccarie
13 reviews
.17 km away
Aman Venice
265 reviews
.24 km away
Hotel San Cassiano - Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favaretto
1,448 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ravioleria Venezia
145 reviews
.15 km away
Pasticceria Rizzardini
419 reviews
.14 km away
Hostaria Sant'Aponal
215 reviews
.13 km away
Acqua e Mais
1,075 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Antichita Guarinoni
19 reviews
.11 km away
Chiesa di San Cassiano
36 reviews
.13 km away
Ponte delle Tette
74 reviews
.03 km away
Bookshop Damocle Edizioni
12 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Steven M
7 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from csmcuk | Reviewed this property |
Agree with comments below - well worth the splurge. Our cost was €110, two glasses of wine. Important to book ahead.
0
Votes
Ptuji
11 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Steve W | Reviewed this property |
We found It quite easily just using a street guide out of a guide book. Just take your time. You need to book though. Hope you enjoy.
0
Votes
lifestyleresortphoto
19 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Crableck | Reviewed this property |
We actually visited the restaurant in October although I reviewed it in November. We got our hotel to book - but it is possible that it's closed in January.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Antiche Carampane

Yes, Antiche Carampane is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Antiche Carampane is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4