We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solena

5 rue Chauffour, 33000, Bordeaux, France
+33 5 57 53 28 06
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good19%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“six courses” (2 reviews)
“fish” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
5 rue Chauffour, 33000, Bordeaux, France
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for a special occasion and we were not disappointed, we all chose the 6 course menu with the wine parings, all the courses were very well presented and the flavours were superb. The matching wines were also very good. Great place for a special...More

Thank ianw493
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We thank you for your comment and we are delighted that you had a great time at Solena, we hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here for dinner with our visiting grown son. Small place with one waiter who also handled the bar, and they do have a full bar. He did a good job, but was stretched. We had the four course tasting menu, after starting with...More

Thank huntejk
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We thank you for sharing your Solena experience. Having warned of your gluten intolerance, we had to meet your expectations and we are delighted to have succeeded. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 7 October 2018

Fabulous experience at this restaurant! We opted for the three course set menu taster - you can opt for 4 or 6. Our experience consisted of a 3 taster appetiser - the macorons with fois gras were exceptional, melted in the mouth!! We were then...More

Thank AllanMacD369
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you a thousand times for your return on your meal at Solena, we are very touched by your words and by the fact that you understood our way of receiving our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Reviewed 16 September 2018

The food is delicious and inventive combination of flavors. The one review on here that complains about the prices is wrong - there is a wide array of wine choices. We sat for a little while before the waiter was able to attend to us....More

Thank TravelinMan718
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

We thank you for sharing your experience with Soléna. Indeed, during your meal we were a little overwhelmed and we apologize, a table of 5 people who finally had dinner at 8 forced us to rearrange the tables and wasted a lot of time. We...More

Reviewed 5 August 2018

We booked at the last minute and I am sure we only got a table because the restaurant has a current problem with the aircon. They had a temporary arrangement in place but the weather is just soooo hot. The food was incentive, delicious, well...More

Thank Cwtch
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you very much to have to share your experience in Soléna. Good news our air conditioning is repaired!! In the pleasure to welcome you soon....

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

You can’t fault the cuisine, it’s exquisite. But at this price, it’s unfortunately spoilt by the attention to detail in other aspects. We had to remind the waiter to bring our drinks, and bearing in mind it was 28c with no air conditioning, we got...More

Thank Sara H
victor o, Gérant at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

We thank you for your passage in our restaurant and of your return concerning your meal. As a reminder, as we explained you our air conditioning broke down and we cannot have that a repairer in a few weeks, to our regret but without we...More

Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Solena is a small, chef-run high-end restaurant on the western side of the old town. It offers a “surprise” tasting menu of 3, 4 or 6 courses. I’ve been eating pretty well in Bordeaux lately so a 3-course menu was enough food. Overall, it was...More

Thank DougJ25
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

We thank you for your positive opinion and are delighted that you kept an excellent memory of your passage in our restaurant. We apologize for the embarrassment caused by the fact that our air conditioning is broken down, we make every effort so that it...More

Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

It’s not in the old town and so it would be easy to overlook this restaurant as a tourist. But it’s fantastic so make the effort to go! You have the option of 3,4 or 6 courses (plus matching wine if you wish) with all...More

Thank MattJames355
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you infinitely for your return, we are glad because you understood the message which we try to make pass with our dinner guests every day. In the pleasure to receive you during a next stay in Bordeaux.

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Menu of 4 dishes. Didnt do the matching wine but you can do it as neighboors got plenty of wine served😊. We stuck with a local red wine. Dishes are a surprise but all very good. Fish was seabass, meat was duck filet. In between...More

Thank remcom229
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our menu. We were very pleased to welcome you and we do hope that we'll have the chance to welcome you again.

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Superb evening with great food, wine pairings and service in a modern restaurant. It was not just a meal but a culinary experience and rivalled and even bettered some Michelin star restaurants we have dined at. At less than €100 each with had a six...More

Thank IainMcT
victor o, Propriétaire at Solena, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you so much for visiting. We are thrilled to read your feedback and we are glad you liked our cuisine. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 178 hotels in Bordeaux
Hotel Le Chantry
754 reviews
.24 km away
Hotel Burdigala
897 reviews
.29 km away
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
1,268 reviews
.35 km away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
1,115 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La P'tite Brasserie
1,077 reviews
.29 km away
Station 87 Restaurant-Bar
63 reviews
.42 km away
La Table de Burdigala
110 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Basilique Saint-Seurin
39 reviews
.42 km away
Centre Commercial Meriadeck
47 reviews
.61 km away
Cimetiere de la Chartreuse
22 reviews
.36 km away
Eglise Saint Bruno
11 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Solena staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$48 - US$83
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
19:45 - 21:30
12:00 - 13:30
Wednesday
19:45 - 21:30
Thursday
19:45 - 21:30
12:00 - 13:30
Friday
19:45 - 21:30
12:00 - 13:30
Saturday
19:45 - 21:30
12:00 - 13:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 rue Chauffour, 33000, Bordeaux, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Nouvelle-Aquitaine  >  Gironde  >  Bordeaux
  • Phone Number: +33 5 57 53 28 06
  • E-mail
Description
Soléna, restoring of the city center of Bordeaux, is a restaurant where we feel good. The leader, OSTRONZEC Victor, welcomes you for a gastronomic discovery there where the product and the emphasis of the local producers are the center of interest. Open from Wednesday till Sunday, in the lunch and in the dinner, the leader do not hesitate in the creation to surprise you. Soléna establishes an important stage of the emphasis of the gastronomy of Bordeaux.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing