We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pippin

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
+44 1622 750747
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 232: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

A little disappointed, haven't eaten here in a few years, when it was excellent value and good choice. Menu choice has been somewhat reduced to the bare essentials, Burger that I had was reasonable but there are better out there.

Helpful?
Thank James W
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I popped into this pub with my daughter and her boyfriend to celebrate briefly a deal we had just closed on. We felt happy but exhausted and needed a nice drink. It was about six in the evening and there were quite a few young people there getting in the mood for Christmas. Nice pub atmosphere and well appointed interior.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor S
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been going to the Pippin for many years off and on and it seems to have change hands and the menu since my last visit. This lunch with work colleagues was good. I had the London hot dog and colleagues had the Asian vegetable burger and the chicken and bacon club. All served quickly with the advertised rosemary fries.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Litetraveller
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service. Usually we sit guests out in the restaurant as its a calmer and quieter atmosphere with better lighting. We apologise the you weren't happy with your seating area, on your next visit please advise a member of team that you... More 

barnehurst, kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Myself, my partner and our two friends with a baby decided to visit here for our second time and we was very disappointed and upset by the service and food we received! Firstly we arrived to a empty restaurant to be told we couldn't sit in the restaurant being no room for the baby so we had to sit in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SynchroRi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

My wife, daughter (9 months) and two friends of ours decided to eat here, and what a disappointment. We didn't book and as soon as we walked to a virtually empty restaurant we were made to feel like a burdon. We were placed away in a corner on a table that wasn't even made up. Drinks came swiftly and we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Alex G
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

We went to this restaurant for my son's birthday lunch Very disappointed with the attitude we were given. Not a really warm welcome considering not very busy Lunch was a disaster for all of us and when we complained to staff manager( we think )was Not accommodating or approachable at all All four meals were not good at all,2 x... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHIR65
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank for leaving some feedback for us. When your server checked back you did mention the fish was overcooked but you refused to tell us any more detail and refused to talk to us as it wasn't the batter and the fish inside was moist. We were also not aware of any of the other issues you say you had.... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

We attended on Friday evening with some of our disabilities service users, I ordered a standard fish and chips, on arrival the fish wasn't hot very cold as if it had been sat waiting a while and was like the fish had been cooked or under heater too long as the batter was a very dark almost burnt colour, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jasmin T
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologise you didn't get a check back. I will investigate why your fish batter was a darker colour than usual. Sorry your experience wasn't up to our normal high standards. I hope you will return. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We went to The pippin early Saturday evening. The restaurant area was empty so sad down quite near to the kitchen area. Staff were very nice..food very tasty but not amazing.unfortunately the waitress got my daughters food order wrong and she had to wait but the manager took £5 off the bill so we were happy with this. The drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank butterflymama
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We don't have any smells in the restaurant currently and I haven't had any other comments on this however I will investigate this. I am glad the meal issue was rectified straight away for you. Thank you your visit and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

Called in for lunch with a friend everybody very helpful and not to pushy, we ordered our drinks and we were politely served. My friend ordered scampi meal and i ordered black pudding and pork sausages and mash with buttered greens and roasted shallots, when meal came to the table it was curly kale skirt around sausage and mash very... More 

Helpful?
Thank selwilson1943
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry you don't like the greens so we changed the veg for you straight away for an alternative which you said was lovely. We have no warming areas in our kitchen with containers of food. The sausages you had would have been probed before being served to you... More 

Maidstone
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Our visit to The Pippin last night was such a disappointment. We heard that they were very short staffed, so I do sympathise however, there is no excuse for the rude treatment we received. My husband and I stood at the bar for a long time while three bar staff ignored us and served people coming to the other end... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DanKatMaidstone
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for leaving us some constructive feedback. Our bar was extremely busy on this occasion as it was a Friday evening. not all wines are to everyone's taste but all of our wines are extremely popular and we don't have any complaints about quality of them. I agree we were running out of wine glasses... More 

Travellers who viewed The Pippin also viewed

 

Been to The Pippin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 750747
Description
Purveyors of fine wines and good times, we're no strangers to the art of quality thirst quenching.

With our extensive wine list, new and improved cocktail menu and Cask Marque certified ales, you can be sure to find just the tonic, whatever your tipple, in Allington's best local boozer.
But we're not just about eating and drinking... We firmly believe that any pub should be the hub of its local community, and try to provide a selection of events to cater for all the eclectic and wonderful people who live in Allington. Our door is always open (during designated opening hours) and there's always something going on to get involved with or laugh at in equal measures. It's not a pub, it's a way.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pippin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?