We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Pippin

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
+44 1622 750747
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 226: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We attended on Friday evening with some of our disabilities service users, I ordered a standard fish and chips, on arrival the fish wasn't hot very cold as if it had been sat waiting a while and was like the fish had been cooked or under heater too long as the batter was a very dark almost burnt colour, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jasmin T
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We went to The pippin early Saturday evening. The restaurant area was empty so sad down quite near to the kitchen area. Staff were very nice..food very tasty but not amazing.unfortunately the waitress got my daughters food order wrong and she had to wait but the manager took £5 off the bill so we were happy with this. The drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank butterflymama
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for lunch with a friend everybody very helpful and not to pushy, we ordered our drinks and we were politely served. My friend ordered scampi meal and i ordered black pudding and pork sausages and mash with buttered greens and roasted shallots, when meal came to the table it was curly kale skirt around sausage and mash very... More 

Helpful?
Thank selwilson1943
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback. I am sorry you don't like the greens so we changed the veg for you straight away for an alternative which you said was lovely. We have no warming areas in our kitchen with containers of food. The sausages you had would have been probed before being served to you... More 

Maidstone
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our visit to The Pippin last night was such a disappointment. We heard that they were very short staffed, so I do sympathise however, there is no excuse for the rude treatment we received. My husband and I stood at the bar for a long time while three bar staff ignored us and served people coming to the other end... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DanKatMaidstone
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for leaving us some constructive feedback. Our bar was extremely busy on this occasion as it was a Friday evening. not all wines are to everyone's taste but all of our wines are extremely popular and we don't have any complaints about quality of them. I agree we were running out of wine glasses... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended by a colleague to try this place. Looked at the menu on line and the food seemed reasonably priced. Got to admit that when we walked in that there was no one else eating which puts you off a little bit. We sat down and were asked for drink choices. No problem there. We were given ample time to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martinwitnam
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We all look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had cod an chips. Tasty - crap mushy peas - trying to tart them up too much. If it's not broke don't mend it.

Helpful?
Thank Julie O
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

I appreciate your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the fish and chips the mushy peas we served are made with fresh mint. I am sorry it was not to your liking. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very good selection of beers and a nice atmosphere. Good location just outside town. I visited with my wife for the lunchtime special. We tried ordering about 11.45am but were told we had to wait until 12pm as "the computer says no". They did let us have our drinks however whilst we waited to order. Lunch menu was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leemumbles
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The sandwich side and drink deal was only available 12-5pm. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Hadn't been to the Pippin for quite a while as we thought the food had gone down hill a bit, however we thought we'd give t another go and we were pleasantly surprised! The food was absolutely delicious!! Apparently there is a new chef and we approve!! We tried loads of the food on the new menu, including chilli chips,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eftwig_2
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am so happy you enjoyed your visit her. You are welcome back any time. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

Popped in on the off chance for a Sunday roast and were glad we did! The meals were nicely presented and tasty, staff were friendly and attentive. Would definately recommend.

Helpful?
Thank gwenyth444
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Our Sunday lunch is really nice. We are glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to you popping in soon. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I've got to say this place is hit and miss however on this visit it was a hit. Great value for money with the happy hour and the food was a good standard.

Helpful?
Thank DMT1982
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a nice review. We appreciate your feedback. Your welcome back anytime! More 

Travellers who viewed The Pippin also viewed

 

Been to The Pippin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 750747
Description
Purveyors of fine wines and good times, we're no strangers to the art of quality thirst quenching.

With our extensive wine list, new and improved cocktail menu and Cask Marque certified ales, you can be sure to find just the tonic, whatever your tipple, in Allington's best local boozer.
But we're not just about eating and drinking... We firmly believe that any pub should be the hub of its local community, and try to provide a selection of events to cater for all the eclectic and wonderful people who live in Allington. Our door is always open (during designated opening hours) and there's always something going on to get involved with or laugh at in equal measures. It's not a pub, it's a way.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pippin staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?