We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pippin

€€ - €€€, British,
78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
+44 1622 750747
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible22%
11 Aug 2017
“Hunter home hungry”
4 May 2017
“nice place, cocktails regular”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

was waiting bat the bar whilst three bar staff and the manager was talking asked three times to be served was then rudely spoken to by the manager, a bar maid then threw a empty bottle into a large open bin behind the bar which...More

5  Thank kevincresseey
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Poor service, not all of our group had a good meal (chicken roast in particular). There was only 3 other tables for lunch but staff were slack or nowhere to be seen! Didn't leave a tip and put off returning to be honest. Limited, expensive...More

2  Thank Gemma M
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Went to the Pippin at the weekend but not very impressed. Tables were dirty and sticky with empty glasses and plates left lying around even when the place wasn't busy. This is a great looking building with lots of parking in a descent area of...More

6  Thank smudge3564
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I live locally to this pub and have had nice meals here before but on the last two occasions I have been very disappointed with the attitude of the staff and the quality of the food has gone down hill...and the prices have gone up!!....More

2  Thank Kimmy1608
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for this feedback we have now dealt with your issue and this will not happen again. We would like to see you soon. many thanks

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Workmates lunch. I had Hunters Chicken and chunky chips with apple crumble. Chicken portion gone to ground under the bacon slice. Chunky chips nice but too few. It all could have hidden under the garnish/salad Apple crumble portion a little small and way too much...More

1  Thank Mark J
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback about your lunch. We always serve a whole chicken breast for out hunters chicken we not control the size of the specific chicken breast though. Our chips and crumble were portioned correctly for our price point. I am sorry to...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

There is quite a variety to choose from and different dishes that you don't find in other pubs! Highly recommend!

1  Thank fatscarv
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time for your great feedback we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 5 August 2017

Sadly went to the pippin expecting the same as a few years ago only to be disappointed it was tired, dirty, staff standing around when tables needed clearing. We were going to eat there but had one and left as if that's the standard you...More

1  Thank tezzietimpkins
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

We always pride ourselves in a clean venue every day. On exceptionally busy times sometimes not every table is cleared immediately however we do our upmost to clear every table immediately.

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Went here for a meal as always go past in the car and thought it looked a classy place. On arrival there is a big car park round the back and when entering the place, it looks a lot bigger then from the road. Waited...More

1  Thank David J
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review I am sorry for the experience of children running around spoiled it slightly. We do our best to tell parents to control their children when they are affecting other customers. Thank you again for your time to give us...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Good burgers, traditional Fish & Chips. Nice forts lunchbreak. Nice interior, large beergarden. Nice people.

1  Thank Frank E
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us some great feedback, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 9 July 2017

Interesting and varied buffet for a party. Good veggie choices. There are choices of menu, and this one was really good.

1  Thank Jay1048
ThePippinManagement, Manager at The Pippin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Our buffets are really popular, Thank you for your kind comments we are so glad you enjoyed it.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Reca Community Biker Cafe
133 reviews
.86 km away
Aunt Sally's Kitchen
43 reviews
.95 km away
Patisserie Valerie - Maidstone
240 reviews
1.11 km away
The Society Rooms
151 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery
198 reviews
1.08 km away
Hazlitt Theatre
80 reviews
1.15 km away
Whatman Park
42 reviews
1.05 km away
Gallagher Stadium
35 reviews
.70 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pippin staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 London Road, Maidstone ME16 0DR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 750747
  • E-mail
Description
Purveyors of fine wines and good times, we're no strangers to the art of quality thirst quenching. With our extensive wine list, new and improved cocktail menu and Cask Marque certified ales, you can be sure to find just the tonic, whatever your tipple, in Allington's best local boozer. But we're not just about eating and drinking... We firmly believe that any pub should be the hub of its local community, and try to provide a selection of events to cater for all the eclectic and wonderful people who live in Allington. Our door is always open (during designated opening hours) and there's always something going on to get involved with or laugh at in equal measures. It's not a pub, it's a way.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing