We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Running Horse Harvester

Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
+44 1622 752975
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good22%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible27%
Travellers talk about
Closes in 9 min
09:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

With both our parents being typical meat and two veg or fish and chippers the choice of restaurants can be limited especially as spaghetti Bolognese is classed as posh foreign food The harvester has always been a good choice along with the beefeater Both these...More

Thank Mr Victor S
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Mr Victor S thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Newly refurbished by the look of it. No obvious place to wait for seating no host. Soda fountain had run out of all but Pepsi max and only half the flavor syrups available and ice machine not working. Salad bar half empty. Knew we should...More

Thank a4be
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Abe, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

16 people. No seat when it was booked over 1 hour wait for food. 2 out of 16 forgotten about. Meals arrived different times so some people finished before. Steak should of been medium. Was so rare could not be eaten. Gammon was fatty. They...More

Thank Garry C
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Garry C, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a late lunch to celebrate a Birthday, not expecting too much for a chain restaurant that in the past has been disappointing. We came away stuffed,having had a very good meal. The food tasted really fresh and the staff really looked after...More

Thank Eatindrinkinsleepin
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hey, thank you for the high star rating!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Met the son & daughter and the grandchildren. Menu change means some things no longer on it and fish on current menu ( cod) was not available so 3 of us had to choose again. This was lunchtime on a Thursday. Our booking was not...More

Thank Lynda S
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Lynda S, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this lunchtime for my brother's birthday; this was our first visit following the recent refurbishment although it is a restaurant we have been to many times as a family over the years. We had a three course meal and were served by Team...More

Thank JoandMaple83
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Joandmaple83, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Running Horse, Sandling! Also we hope to see you and your family for many more celebrations

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on our way to holidays in Italy. It was a last minute stop as we had been caught up in traffic on the M25 so it was getting late. It was busy but we were seated in less than 5 minutes. Our waitress...More

Thank Nathan B
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Nathan B, thank you so much for the positive review! See you next time you are over this way

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Katie and Jodie made our visit very pleasant. The place was very busy but they got us an unreserved table in less than 20mins. Great food, perfect service and a fantastic quick hearty meal. Really good value for money.

Thank Hannah W
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hannah W, thank you for the high star rating! I cant wait to show Jodie and Katie this positive review

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you to our waitress, Cindy, and others, for coping with our large party! 14 of us, including several young children. We were well looked after, they put up with our noise (the children mostly!) and were so accommodating in bringing out the cake for...More

Thank Tanya T
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tanya, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! I also look forward to showing Cindy your lovely comment.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our waitress was fab and very friendly. The bourbon sauce was so amazing we bought a bottle to take home. The portions were a but 'flimsy'. But all tasted great. Good took a while to arrive as did our drinks but we were there at...More

Thank Louise L
General Manager A, Manager at The Running Horse Harvester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Louise L, thank you so much for the positive review! We will see you again!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Yew Tree Inn
357 reviews
.51 km away
Aunt Sally's Kitchen
42 reviews
1.16 km away
The Little Old Toll House
29 reviews
1.09 km away
Mango Tree Food of India
31 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kent Life
593 reviews
.68 km away
Cobtree Manor Park
292 reviews
1.26 km away
Kent Owl Academy
41 reviews
.61 km away
Tyland Barn
29 reviews
1.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mammamia47
29 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Lavania1407 | Reviewed this property |
Try checking vouchercloud for offers which occasionally come up - usually can display a code on your phone for a discount or offer. Also if you register to use wifi on your phone in a branch with your details you will get... More
0
Votes
riverofstardust
19 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
Hello yes we do have a bar as well as a restaurant
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chatham Road | Sandling, Maidstone ME14 3AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 752975
Description
At The Running Horse Harvester in Maidstone food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Maidstone, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Sandling, Allington and Penenden Heath, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing