We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

wheatsheaf hotel

€€ - €€€, British,
A30, Basingstoke RG25 2BB, England
+44 1256 398282
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (20 reviews)
“sandwiches” (5 reviews)
“pudding” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
A30, Basingstoke RG25 2BB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 435 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Excellent service and food excellent .will almost certantly book again .Manager very efficient and staff courteous.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank jackiegoodman560
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in last Thursday for a late lunch on the spur of the moment. Pub was quite empty, but it was mid afternoon. Seated quickly, & drinks order taken & food order. Couple of bits missing off menu but we're told in advance & not...More

Thank sara b
Wheatsheaf M, Team leader at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi sara b, We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Wheatsheaf even with the little issue of the sauce. I have passed the comments on to the kitchen regarding the brewers chicken. We hope that we will see you again soon....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We eat here regularly and always have a good experience. Food is good for a fair price. Disabled easy access to venue and toilets

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Russ B
Wheatsheaf M, Team Leader at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Russell B, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to the Wheatsheaf, also that our good food and fair prices make you a regular guest of our pub. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Tasha

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room good. Bathroom Awful. Pub great decor. Nighttime food Appaling. 1st Breakfast ok 2nd morning breakfast was super.

Review collected in partnership with Chef & Brewer
Thank Purdygun
Wheatsheaf M, Team Leader at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Purdygun, I am sorry to hear that some elements of your stay were disappointing. If you could email me at 6259@greeneking.co.uk with more details of your stay, I would like to investigate the points you have raised. Many thanks Tasha

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dined here early evening..We were seated quickly and then ignored whilst the staff rearranged the tables and chairs nearby. Not a great start but I suppose it was a chore they had to do. Eventually we put in our order and sat back to enjoy...More

Thank BOZZ52
Wheatsheaf M, Team Leader at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi BOZZ52, I am very disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your recent visit to the Wheatsheaf. Could you please contact me at 6259@greeneking.co.uk with all the details of your visit including the date and time of your visit, so I can...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the wheat sheaf hotel today for lunch today and was served by Donna, who was probably the best waitress I have ever been served by in any restaurant I have been to. Food was also amazing and I definitely will be returning over and...More

Thank ashley3003
Wheatsheaf M, other at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi ashley303, We are happy to hear you had an amazing time on your recent trip to the Wheatsheaf. I have passed your fantastic comments to Donna regarding your service, also the kitchen for your food. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere, good food and you were not hurried but if you were wanting a quick dinner then you would be disappointed

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Go4367
Wheatsheaf M, other at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Go4367, I am pleased you enjoyed your recent trip to the Wheatsheaf and you did not feel hurried. Most items are cooked from fresh and are worth the wait. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Tasha, Team Leader

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good and plenty of it. The weather was dreary, but the room was cosy with a lovely log fire. Will definitely visit...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Diana088
Wheatsheaf M, other at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Diana088, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Wheatsheaf and that you were made to feel welcome. I have passed on your comments regarding the food being good and plentiful. Our lovely log fires are always inviting on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family meal to celebrate a birthday, thought the food was awful, Sunday roast was a sight to behold, this is not the first time that we have been to The Wheatsheaf but it will def be the last, we should have learnt the lesson from...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank susan576
Wheatsheaf M, other at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi susan576, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your family Birthday meal at the Wheatsheaf, could you please email at 6259@greenking.co.uk with details of your visit, so I can investigate further into this. Many thanks Tasha, Team Leader

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family had an excellent meal here .All the team were helpful, good choice of menu, fast service for drinks and food . great selection of sweets/desserts . Thank you !More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Shirley V
Wheatsheaf M, other at wheatsheaf hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Shirley V, I am pleased to hear that you had an excellent meal here at the Wheatsheaf. I have passed on your fantastic comments to the team regarding your fast service and good food, we have a great selection of desserts. We look forward...More

PreviousNext
12345644
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Basingstoke
Good Night Inns Wheatsheaf Hotel
272 reviews
.02 km away
Oakley Hall Hotel
1,238 reviews
4.62 km away
Travelodge Basingstoke
243 reviews
7.00 km away
Premier Inn Basingstoke West (Churchill Way) Hotel
670 reviews
8.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Fox
388 reviews
.66 km away
The Sun Inn
648 reviews
1.39 km away
More of the Good Stuff
10 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dummer Golf Club
19 reviews
2.35 km away
The Red Lion
31 reviews
6.97 km away
Test Valley Golf Club
8 reviews
5.06 km away
Manydown Family Fun
195 reviews
7.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from wheatsheaf hotel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A30, Basingstoke RG25 2BB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 398282
Description
Chef & Brewer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing