We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
+44 1293 880911
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (26 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“calamari” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to the hillside 5pm on Saturday night, all booked online with no issues, our waitress Carly was friendly and attentive without being over powering, the food was nice and hot and came out very promptly, the roaring fires made a lovely ambiance, added...More

Thank Jody M
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Jody, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food and received great service from Carly!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hi We had a very nice meal last night but somethings were missing. Your steak menu clearly state chips, onion rings and thyme roasted tomato. We ended up with just chips , no onion rings and 3 baby vine tomatoes which were not oven roasted....More

Thank Kevin R
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Kevin, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We will do our best to make sur eguests receivs the meals as described on a menu with no missing items. Thank you for taking time to leave the feedback, it helps us to improve the quality...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been to the Hillside many many times mainly as pre theatre meal but have to say it wasn’t quite at its best on this occasion. Had booked a table for tues at 5.30pm and when we arrived we were just left waiting and person...More

1  Thank Valerie C
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Valerie, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. On Tuesday afternoon we have just one waiter serving our guests because usually its quieter time of the day, But on the particular day it...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went in for lunch and man behind bar really could be bothered to serve me he cleaned the the coffee machine without acknowledging me then grunted ‘what you want’ I ordered my drinks and food when I said sorry to disturb you he said ‘you...More

Thank Roger J
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Roger, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Every guest who comes in to our pub is a very valued customer to us and I am...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went to the Hillside Inn with my Fiancé for my birthday. We booked on the day at about 17:30 for a table at 19:00. There were no issues with booking and when we arrived they were aware of our reservation. The system works! We...More

Thank Jackie M
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jackie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Hillside Inn. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Big Thank You from Hillside Inn!

Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

I took my team in Crawley out for a late Christmas lunch and the service and food exceeded expectations! There was a very extensive menu and reasonable prices. Being a vegetarian I was spoilt for choice! Staff are friendly. The inn is cosy. They great...More

Thank Hemen B
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hemen, Thank you for your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us.

Reviewed 8 January 2018

This has to be the worst pub lunch we ever tried to have(tried to have being the operative word) we drove all the way from london to crawley after finding what looked like a really nice place to go and eat. we reserved our table...More

1  Thank KevinSteward
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. I would like to appologise that the note which you left under your booking was missed. Reagrds having breaded mushrooms and diabetic jely, we are...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018

If you are looking to have your Christmas dinner out, give the Hillside a go. Book in advance and get as early seating time as you can, the roast potatoes will most definitely be properly roasted (mine weren't) Well staffed and good size portions. Although...More

Thank danslodo
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Have visited this pub at least ten times. This may be the last. We were offered one of two tables near the door. Would have been ok if the inner door had been kept shut as we discovered no heating on. It was warm in...More

Thank David L
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

David L, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. Also it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We will try our best to...More

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Always have a great time at this pub. The staff are so friendly & hard working. Food is excellent. We had the festive menu which was yummy. Our waitress Tracy was so attentive & made sure everything was perfect even though it was extremely busy....More

Thank DQBY
PreviousNext
12345662
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Crawley
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1,253 reviews
.86 km away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
185 reviews
1.46 km away
Europa Gatwick Hotel
2,934 reviews
1.48 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1,895 reviews
1.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Coaching Halt
673 reviews
1.25 km away
Real Barbecue and Bar
223 reviews
1.07 km away
Kims Kitchen
29 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tilgate Park
1,017 reviews
3.39 km away
The Hawth
179 reviews
2.04 km away
Crawley Memorial Gardens
106 reviews
2.32 km away
Worth Park
32 reviews
.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
susieh109
13 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gill R | Reviewed this property |
You can definatley walk probably 15 to 20 minutes. Will ve well worth it. Portions are large so always good to wslk it off, enjoy
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley
  • Phone Number: +44 1293 880911
Description
The Hillside Inn in Crawley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing