We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merlin

drove Road, Swindon, England
+44 1793 431496
Call
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“peas” (2 reviews)
“steak” (3 reviews)
“swindon town” (5 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
drove Road, Swindon, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

U get a friendly welcome when u enter the pub The food is vry gd And they have plenty of choices on their food menu It’s situated near the town centre Prices of food and drink are reasonable The bar staff r also friendly and...More

Thank Karen C
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Karen Id like to thank you for leaving this amazing 5* review! We’re suoer delighted to hear that you have a wonderful experience here with us! Also we are all so glad to know that you find our food and service to be excellent,...More

Reviewed 2 January 2018

Me and my husband regularly use the merlin for food we had another meal yesterday it was excellent as always well done to Carrie and Nigel

Thank lynette w
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hi Lynette Thank you for taking the time to leave this review! And we’re so glad to hear that you have and been enjoying our wide range of our menu selections and service! We hope to see you soon😊 Kind regards Keiran

Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Came in for lunch in the Friday before Xmas. Had our table booked for 12pm and although the pub was a little busy we were seated on time, served all courses promptly and the food was excellent. Staff were great and the big bald chap...More

Thank Darren G
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hi Darren We like to thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we’re super glad to hear you’ve had a wonderful experience😊 and enjoyed your food and the service to go along with it! We have plenty of spaces for next year!...More

Reviewed 26 December 2017

A big shout out to Nigel , Carrie and staff . We had a family and friends Christmas Day lunch yesterday for 38 people . The whole day went well all dinners served hot in time and good quality . Would recommend the Merlin for...More

1  Thank Dianevswindon
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hi Diane Thank you for taking time to leave a review, and we’re so glad you’ve had a wonderful experience with our amazing Christmas selection of succulent food and our service😊... Don’t forget it’s never to early to book for next year! Look forward to...More

Reviewed 26 December 2017

Third year running we have had Xmas dinner here, as usual service, food and atmosphere was first class. Great value for money and would recommend to everyone.

1  Thank leeirving7
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hi lee Thank your for taking the time to leave this review, we’re delighted to hear that you’ve enjoyed it here with us for three years why not make it a fourth? it’s never to early to book for another year running! Kind regards Keiran

Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Had the Xmas meal had all but the dessert was taking to long. When I book at 12 I wanna finish by 12.45 which never happen. Never had a slow service on this its terrible. The food was delicious. Not the last service on the...More

1  Thank Richard P
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Hi Richard Thank you for taking time to write this review, We’re sorry to hear you’ve had a disappointing experience I can assure this was a slight wobble with our service, please don’t be disheartened by this experience we will aim higher to assure you...More

Reviewed 19 December 2017

When my daughter and i go shopping in town we always have lunch out, we have been to many places over the years, but the best place we have found is the Merlin in Drove Road, the landlord and landlady who have worked very hard...More

1  Thank jenny050545
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Hi Jenny, We thank you for taking to the time to leave a review, we are super delighted to hear that you’ve had a wonderful experience and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Keiran

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Visiting The Merlin for the first time for a quick evening meal , Kieran is absolutely amazing . He made my stay very welcoming and pleasant. He also offered me the baileys hot chocolate which I had two of as it's brilliant! Definitely will be...More

Thank sherainivea2
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Hi Sherainivea Thank you for taking time to leave us a review, we’re all so delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and made to feel so welcomed and the baileys hot choclate are amazing glad you got to try it, We definitely look forward...More

Reviewed 26 November 2017

Visited yesterday for the first time as we were in Swindon for the football. What a great pub! Staff were really friendly and service was great. We went in before the game and liked it so much we went back after the match had finished....More

Thank debrajones14
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Hi Debra jones Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Also We are delighted to hear that you had the amazing first time visit and we look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards Keiran

Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Normally come in here to have a few drinks with some friends, the food is hot and tasty the beers cold the staff is friendly and the atmosphere is great! Deffintly worth a visit!

Thank nikkis1234
Keiran M, Manager at The Merlin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Hi Nikki Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, The whole team are delighted to hear that you enjoy your experiences here, look forward to seeing you soon! Kind regards Keiran

PreviousNext
1234567
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
1,679 reviews
.62 km away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
263 reviews
.63 km away
Thistle Express - Swindon
64 reviews
.76 km away
20 at The Kings
160 reviews
1.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Leonardo Ristorantino
173 reviews
.78 km away
The Jewel In The Crown
393 reviews
.75 km away
Fratello's
493 reviews
.75 km away
The Trident Fish Bar
108 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lydiard Park
892 reviews
1.36 km away
Museum of Computing
123 reviews
.77 km away
The Magic Roundabout
66 reviews
.07 km away
Swindon museum and art gallery
37 reviews
1.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Merlin staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: drove Road, Swindon, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Swindon
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 431496
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing