We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pine Marten

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Otley Road, Harrogate HG3 1UE, England
+44 1423 709999
Website
Today
07:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Mon - Fri 07:00 - 22:00
Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 402: English reviews
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this place; its somewhere I’ve frequently used with family, friends and business acquaintances. I’ve even taken my dog! It’s a very comfortable modern space with well thought out décor and seating plan.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Maria B, We are so pleased you enjoy your visits to The Pine Marten and hope you continue to join us. Thank you for taking time out to write a review on us, we really do appreciate it. We hope we see you again super soon! Have a great week. Kimmy More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We drove up to Harrogate to take my Uncle out for lunch. He's recuperating after an operation. Following a hilarious game of boules in the town centre five of us plus dog arrived for our a table at lunch time . We were all treated very well and made to feel most welcome. Water was brought for the dog and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SueandJune
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Sue and June, First off please let me send my love to your uncle and I am happy he is on the mend. Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on us, it's a wonderful review and we are so happy you all enjoyed your time spent with us. Including your dog! We hope... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great choice and good mix of table d'hote and a la carte. Plenty of round tables which I prefer. Great ambience enhanced by engaging, attentive staff

Helpful?
1 Thank KerryandPaula
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Kerry and Paula, Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on us and what a fabulous review it is! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and really hope we can welcome you back again super soon! Have a great week Many thanks Kimmy More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose here for its Melting Chocolate Bombe and wasn't disappointed. It looks and tastes A-Maze-ing and I will be repeating my visit. NB It is not n their Xmas menu. The pub is also dog-friendly,it was very busy and noisy on my visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie b
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Stephanie, Thank you for taking time out to write a review on us, we really appreciate it. We are so ya ooh you enjoyed the choc bomb! It's a personal favourite of mine! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again super soon. Many thanks Kimmy More 

Newcastle
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although not advertised at one of Mitchell and Butlers 'Vintage Inn' brand the Pine Martin clearly is similar a la 'Kestral' 'Badger' 'Cow and Calf' etc. As such meals are served over a large number of hours per week and our experience is that the quality can vary from day to day and week to week. Sometimes you get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Northumberlandscout
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals at the Pine Marten. Just for clarity we are not a Vintage Inn and I am not sure if your 3 rating is for the Pine Marten or the Vintage Inn Brand. Please email me at enquiry@thepinemarten.com to let us know what we can do... More 

Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Good pub food. Service friendly and efficient. The main dining room has a comfortable elegance. Fires burn in most rooms which adds to the ambience. There is no pressure for the table as in some restaurants. Plenty of time to sit and enjoy the food and wine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Chris, We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and really appreciate you taking time out to write a review on us. Thank you so much! We really hope we can welcome you back again super soon. Kimmy More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

A great evening with friends - made even better by the diverse menu, great food and a wonderful pub / restaurant setting. The waitress could have smiled more and the atmosphere was missing some light background music or general background noise. We visited on a Friday and I was surprised to see it so quiet. That said, the setting and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherThackray
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Christopher, Thank you very much for taking time out to write a review on us. It is very much appreciated! We are happy you and your friends enjoyed your evening and the menu but not so happy about the atmosphere lacking. We usually do have background music playing, I will pass that on to the management team and see... More 

York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

My wife and I have been there probably ten times. It is top flight. The building is stunning, staff engaging and food wonderful. My wife had a Beef Wellington - fantastic. Fillet cooked as asked which is increasingly a rarity ! Are you bored of asking for medium rare and you get rare too very rare ? Not here. Just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Paul, Wow!! Thank you so much for taking time out to write an excellent review!! We are so happy you enjoy yourselves when you join us.....from the elderly to the young! We are here for everyone to have a great time. I can't wait to pass on your review to the whole team, the chefs will be told your... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Impressive pub. Lots of parking and plush interior with several dining areas. We opted for the fixed price menu - 2 courses £11.95. Honey roasted gammon with two eggs and cooked pineapple with chips was a vey generous portion. The gammon is from a roasted joint not a grilled lump. Very tasty and moist it was too. Fish cakes looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan R
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello Allan, Thank you so very much for taking time out to write a review on us. It means a lot to the whole team! We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and your food but like you disappointed you had to settle for one course. I am sorry the dessert you wanted was not available and also that... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

We were somewhat disappointed with the meals we had in the Pine Marten this time. We ate there on two nights while staying in the attached Innkeepers Lodge. The food struck me as being pricey for what it was... On the first night, the chicken and burger were both OK, but nothing to write home about, especially for the prices... More 

Helpful?
Thank dadioGlasgow
KimmyThePineMarten, Guest Relations Manager at Pine Marten, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on us. I am sorry your meals were not how they should of been and that you were not entirely happy with them. I do hope you mentioned this to a member of our team and they offered you something to make you a little happier. I... More 

Travellers who viewed Pine Marten also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pine Marten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:00
Thursday
07:00 - 22:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Otley Road, Harrogate HG3 1UE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 709999
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Pine Marten serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pine Marten and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pine Marten staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?