We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bridge Tavern

Is this your business?
€€ - €€€Irish, , European
Bridge Street | Wicklow Town, Wicklow A67 C792, Ireland
+353 404 64760
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“chicken wings” (15 reviews)
“prawns” (9 reviews)
“steak” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bridge Street | Wicklow Town, Wicklow A67 C792, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 349 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We stopped here for the most fantastic lunch on monday afternoon. The menu was small but just wow. I had the lamb with sweet green beans and the most beautifull gravy I ever had. My girlfriend had lasagne and loved it. Some of the reviews...More

Thank keith M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had dinner here on a Saturday night. Service was fast and the staff were friendly. The portions were large and the cost reasonable. Our dishes of fish and chips and Irish Stew were well cooked and delicious. All over the pub had great atmosphere and...More

Thank SydneyBambam
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sydney Bamban and thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your vist with us and your meal. I do hope to see you back again with us soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having had a not so good experience here in the past, I wasn't particularly keen to return, but my friend suggested trying it, so I went along. The staff were friendly and we had a nice table overlooking the river as there were very few...More

Thank Cat T
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Cat T Many thanks for your review and for coming back - I am delighted you enjoyed this visit and hopefully we will see you again soon Kind Regards Declan

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We often eat here but never again waited half an hour before we got a menu we actually had to get it ourselves waitress just kept passing us waited an other hour before she came near us for our order she was so rude food...More

Thank ASHLEYOO9
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ashley009, I am very sorry to hear about the bad service you reserved on your last visit to The Bridge Tavern. This is not what we want to hear. I would like if you could send your phone number to my email address so...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here twice (both times in the bar) while in Wicklow. It was always busy - the food was great and we enjoyed watching the people and soccer matches.More

Thank Marilyn M
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Marilyn, Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to The bridge tavern here in Wicklow town. I will let the kitchen staff know you enjoyed you meals here both time you dined with us and we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here for a meal with family and due to the very limited menu options, I’ve ordered the classic burger and I couldn’t believe the look of the thing! The burger was very small and the colour inside was... GREY!!! It looked like some cheap...More

Thank RUIP71
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RUIP71, I’m sorry to hear you were unhappy with the burger and also the menu on your last visit to The Bridge Tavern. I can assure you that our burgers are not frozen and are 100% Hereford beef with 100% traceability. If you would...More

A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the atmosphere here. We sat in the back beside the window, had an amazing view of the river. There wasn't many options on the menu, especially for vegetarians. We got the vegetable soup expecting the normal country veg of potatoes and carrot unfortunately it...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had booked a one night stay for a family event nearby. We arrived at the B&B and were checked in no problem. We went to the room only to find that there was a water leak from the bathroom ceiling from one of the...More

1  Thank dougal59
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

I paid €7 for once slice of toast and 2 spoons of mushrooms. Completely over priced. The quality of the bread was poor and wafer thin and the mushrooms were extremely salty. Staff are very friendly and the establishment has nice views but the food...More

Thank nicolef15
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi Nicolef15 Many thanks for your review - I would like to look into this further can you please email me your number and I will get back to you. My email address is declan@bridgetavern.ie Kind Regards Declan

Reviewed 22 February 2018

We stayed for one night in the accommodation above the tavern. The rooms had been recently refurnished and were lovely and clean. It was my partners 60th birthday and there was 14 of us staying. The staff were great, always looking out for you. A...More

Thank Gerry D
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Wicklow
Grand Hotel Wicklow
306 reviews
.38 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
788 reviews
2.38 km away
Hunter's Hotel
273 reviews
3.98 km away
Countrywide Inns - Beehive Inn
2 reviews
4.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lighthouse Restaurant
247 reviews
.22 km away
Philip Healy
204 reviews
.08 km away
Bia Blasta
14 reviews
.12 km away
Adriano's
8 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Olde Shillelagh Stick Maker
19 reviews
.12 km away
Bray Head Cliff Walk
932 reviews
1.05 km away
Black Castle
61 reviews
.76 km away
Wicklow Golf Club
44 reviews
1.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
47alan
29 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Declan M | Property representative |
Sorry we don't have a car park but there is on street parking. Hope this is of some help.
0
Votes
Regan M
9 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Christy_Luv2 | Reviewed this property |
Yes- we had a group of 35 and they were brilliant! Phone them beforehand and they'll sort you out. Food was really good and staff very, very pleasant. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$34
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:30
Thursday
08:00 - 23:30
Friday
00:00 - 00:30
08:00 - 00:30
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street | Wicklow Town, Wicklow A67 C792, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Wicklow  >  Wicklow
  • Phone Number: +353 404 64760
  • E-mail
Description
Winner of Best Eating Establishment in Wicklow. Delicious Gastro Pub food. Friendly staff, and first class service located in Wicklow Town. Warm, inviting atmosphere. Our menus are dedicated to taste and presentation. Traditional dishes take on a modern twist & only the best quality ingredients, which we source locally, are used. Setting a high standard for Gastro Pub food in the Garden County. Our menus are dedicated to serving delicious top quality food at reasonable prices. We are also proud to serve Sunday Lunch with The Best Roast on the East Coast, finished off with a slice of homemade cheesecake. Homemade breakfast is served from 8am to 12pm daily, choose from
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing