We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$29
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
186
159
70
43
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
186
159
70
43
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai curry burger scampi the pub pint fab premises
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago

Eat here on a busy Friday evening. Staff were wonderful, helpful and attentive. Food was average and price reasonable but the staff made the visit memorable.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had afternoon tea and dinner, the food was fantastic, and great service by lovely staff, definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Our little boy was at a party in Kidzone, so we took ourselves off for dinner!! Spotted The Bridge Tavern, I quickly looked up the menu and in we went, we didn't have a booking but the staff were happy to offer us a bar...table, which was just grand! A comfy booth, just the right amount of chatter and atmosphere. Menu was great for me (vegan) and partner (meat-arian!). Service was spot on, food was DELICIOUS!!!! Thai curry, fabulous, burger GREAT, tasty sides, nice dessert and I tried the vegan raspberry ripple! Really good (be even better in like a ginger snap basket). Lovely meal, super value and will Defo be back and recommend without hesitation!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 February 2022

I never normally leave reviews but felt this one was deserved. I stayed here for one night with my partner. We were greeted by a lovely girl who showed us to our room.the room was spotless and carpet and furniture looked to be new, overall...really comfy room, great nights sleep! The bar and lounge had a great atmosphere. The staff were amazing, the service was excellent and they couldn't have done enough for us. What was even nicer was they all looked happy to be there. Food was fab also and not long wait times even tho was a busy night. Id definately go backMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 September 2021

We stopped here recently for some drinks, the pints were absolutely lovely and could not be faulted. However, the service was slow and none of the staff were friendly or welcoming. Everything seemed to be a hinderance to them. We decided to give it a...second chance and called back the next evening for food as this place has been recommended to us. However, when we arrived and asked for a table for 2 for food we were greeted by a very gruff grumpy barman who told us we couldn't have food as the kitchen was busy and there would be a wait. We stated we didn't mind waiting and he flat out said no and turned us away. It was approx 6.30pm on a Tuesday. The place was not that busy and no one appeared to be eating. Honestly, it was very disappointing as this place had been highly recommended but I can say for sure I would not be telling people to go here. A good pint can not make up for poor staff and service. Its no wonder other bars are so busy with this place turning away customers.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

We ate here on a quiet Wednesday evening, inside it was very quiet. We sat in the courtyard area because we had our dog with us - the courtyard area is beside the smoking area and there seems to be a bit of a wind...tunnel which blows the smoke smell in - it was kind of gross. We ordered Guinness and a mango cocktail (no drinks menus) and the Guinness was meh, not good for a place wearing Guinness shirts as a uniform, the mango cocktail was disgusting - more like shaved ice with a dollop of mango syrup and zero alcohol. It was put in a martini glass and piled up like a pile of snow - it dripped all over the table and was next to impossible to drink, I sent it back - €9 for that is horrible. We sat down at the same time as another couple and their German shepherd and ordered at the same time, the staff came back to reconfirm our order and the other table got their food long before us, they had finished their food and plates were cleared before our cutlery was even brought out. Eventually after an hour, our fish and chips/vegetarian pasta arrived. Lots of staff walking about, but didn’t seem to be doing a lot. I had to ask a few times about where drinks were, where the food was etc We had ordered chicken wings and Brie as the starter which were really wonderful! The fish and chips were really nice and crispy and the pasta was super flavourful and tasty, it came with garlic ciabatta too which was lovely… It’s just a shame about the wait for it. We opted to not stay for dessert since we didn’t want to wait longer near the smoke.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?3  
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit.We do in fact have drinks menus which you have been offered so for that we apologise. Im not sure what the delay with your food was but I have relayed the...More

Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Proper covid checks at the door, which I like. It was quiet when we visited but I found it clean and the food was delicious. Had fish and chips, 2 lovely pieces of fresh battered fish with homemade chips. The wife had scampi which was...lovely too but bizarrely with different (frozen type) chips but no complaints really. All the girls who came to the table to serve were friendly and attentive. Decent spot.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

My local, and I call it Disappointment at the entrance as we had to wait at least 5 min or more to get seated . Understaffed.. Then we got a table which wasn't cleaned. Asked to clean it, we're e re-seated . Fine Got another...table, which was dirty again! Orders,. Quickly. Food perfect. Cant complain on that... Its the staff.. we tried to get a girl to order more drinks, but none of 3 or 4 of them paid any attention to us when we lifted our hands up. Staff just walk around looking to ceiling, with no clue what they are doing at the place!! Lost money on extra pints for the pub. I still count the bridge as MY LOCAL, but management have to step up with the staff and training.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Declan M, General Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Thank you for your review. You are correct in stating that we are understaffed but unfortunately this has been an issue since returning back after Covid and one that we are continuously working on. We apologise that the table you were given was not clean...More

Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

The staff were all lovely and friendly. The food and pints were absolutely delicious. The whole premises including the toilets were all clean.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 July 2021

Great location between town centre and the harbour. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Bedroom was a bit warm even with window open, but weather was hotter than usual at the time. Dinner food was good, breakfast was excellent. Recommend the full Irish, the half Halpin...and the pancakes. All food was beautifully presented as well as being tasty. Bar prices very reasonable.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tinakilly Country House
931 reviews
2.38 km away
Hunter's Hotel
328 reviews
3.98 km away
Countrywide Inns - Beehive Inn
3 reviews
4.79 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
3,344 reviews
12.58 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Philip Healy
305 reviews
.07 km away
Bia Blasta
25 reviews
.12 km away
Halpin's Bridge Cafe Deli & Dainties
219 reviews
.04 km away
Adriano's
10 reviews
.12 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Olde Shillelagh Stick Maker
35 reviews
.12 km away
Bray Head Cliff Walk
1,187 reviews
1.05 km away
Black Castle
89 reviews
.65 km away
Wicklow Christmas Market
19 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
47alan
29 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 451aislingd | Property representative |
Sorry we don't have a car park but there is on street parking. Hope this is of some help.
0
Votes
Regan M
9 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Christy_Luv2 | Reviewed this property |
Yes- we had a group of 35 and they were brilliant! Phone them beforehand and they'll sort you out. Food was really good and staff very, very pleasant. Enjoy!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bridge Tavern

The Bridge Tavern is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4